We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attentive to our needs...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Trail Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Markleysburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
National Trail Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markleysburg
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attentive to our needs...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had a pleasant stay, the room was clean, quiet and homey. The room rate was very affordable, and the staff was very accommodating. They may lack in some amenities, but they more than make up for it with their friendly service and reasonable price. The location was just right and is handy to a couple of real good local restaurants. These folks run a very charming motel and I'm sure the next time we pass through the area we will be staying there again! Thanks for the pleasant stay National Trail...see you again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luella H, Owner at National Trail Motel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank You for choosing National Trail Motel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I organized a family gathering at The Yough lake and this was one of the closest motels in the area and they accomodated our needs. The rooms are basic, but has everything you need for a few nights stay. The rooms are clean and have nice bath towels. Each room had a small air conditioner, refrig, and microwave. Some things are outdated, but the price is right for a nice comfortable place to stay. There is plenty of outdoor space for gathering with family and friends. Staff was very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshaltaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luella H, Owner at National Trail Motel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for choosing National Trail Motel to spend the weekend with your family. We are happy to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and your time on the lake. Hope to see you all next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The owners were very accommodating, when we first arrived we got a room without a closet and one small dresser which was a problem because there were 3 of us and we were staying 5 days. My husband explained the situation and we were upgraded to 2 rooms with a connecting door at no additional charge. If you have a problem all you really need to do is let them know and they are very accommodating, the sheet on the bed kept coming off, we told them and they changed it. We asked about ice so they gave us a filled ice bucket.

There was a little porch we sat on in the evening and watched the Hummingbirds, they were great to watch. I've never seen so many Hummingbirds in one place, they have to have been feeding them for 20 years with generations of Hummingbirds coming back.

The reason I gave this place 3 stars instead of 4 is that it is very basic, no one should go here expecting luxury, it's a family owned motel by the side of the road, it's a bit dated, but thats part of the charm, it's not a resort with a spa. This is a rural area and it is a good value ( we paid $80 per night ) vs the expensive luxury resort in the area. Expect a clean room, a small refrig, microwave and a shower, they do give you some cups, shampoo and soap (no bathtub, no hairdryer).

The location is perfect.

Room Tip: If you need space to store your things the double room next to the office does not have a closet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Char_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luella H, Owner at National Trail Motel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us at National Trail Motel. There are a lot of hummingbirds in the Summer here and we just love to watch them "play". They come back every year and we get to watch their babies grow every year. We are glad to hear you enjoyed them as well and hope to see you all the next time you travel through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitesville, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I would highly recommend staying here we came across this place when traveling with my husband and two daughters, it's a family establishment .... The rooms were Clean...the beds comfortable....the motel was quiet and affordable. The staff was friendly I high enjoyed my stay there

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luella H, Owner at National Trail Motel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank You for choosing National Trail Motel during your travels. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with your family and hope to see you all again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Booking a motel without knowing much about it is always scary. I went on a trip with my son and really wanted him to enjoy. We arrived at the hotel very late in the evening. The hotel was perfect for what we needed clean comfortable and affordable. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank YoPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luella H, Owner at National Trail Motel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for choosing National Trail Motel when coming to the Laurel Mountains. We are glad to hear you and your son enjoyed your first stay and hope you have many more with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sellersburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I read today an unfavorable review by a "person" on the National Trail Motel, who evidently is more suited to the Hilton Hotels experiences than the motel in which she stayed. And frankly, I feel a need to respond to this "undeserving" review. First off, let me state that I have been staying at the National Trail Motel for many yearly trips to the Laurel Mountains on my fishing trips and yet have I ever had any encounters such as the "terrible" encounters this reviewer has experienced. First off, there are no bed bugs.....mites....critters....whatever she was supposedly experiencing. A mosquito or such...........perhaps. But not bed bugs. Hey lady........you're in the (f'kin mountains)! Not the Hilton or some other 5 star hotels you are acclimated to. Second of all, it's a fridge for your necessities you are referring to, not all your yogurt and tofu you normally keep at your home fridge. And the cleaning staff..........WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!. I know them and they are great. Not b'ches like you say. Look in a mirror. You wouldn't know...you're clueless. Enough of my time wasted on a person like you. Please do us all a favor and stay away from the mountains. We don't need you. Stay the course, National Trail Motel. Your loyal customers support you. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS MOTEL!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Busman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luella H, Owner at National Trail Motel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
WE LOVE OUR FISHERMEN (#18 and #19) Thank you for staying loyal and standing up for us. Was happy to see you this spring, see you again in fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We have stayed here more than once. The rooms are clean. This 1940s motel is well-kept yet updated. We love the hummingbirds that come to the feeders placed around the motel. The only downside for us is the 10:00am checkout.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jxw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luella H, Owner at National Trail Motel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank You for choosing us when you come to the Laurel Mountains. We love our loyal customers as well as our hummingbirds. We are happy you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Markleysburg
8.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
16.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
15.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
Fairfield Inn Uniontown
#6 of 9 in Uniontown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uniontown
19.4 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.3 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Trail Motel

Property: National Trail Motel
Address: 4617 National Pike, Markleysburg, PA 15459-1033
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Markleysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markleysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Trail Motel is family-owned and operated right here in Markleysburg, PA. Since purchased 30+ years ago, we’ve treated every customer like they were a part of our family. Our rooms are on the small side, but they have all of the basic essentials, and come with a personal touch. Most importantly our rooms are CLEAN! Luella and Terry have recenlty taken over the family business from their parents and are currently doing some renovations. We are located 5-15 minutes of all local attractions in the Laurel Mountains, including but not limited to, Laurel Caverns, Nemacolin Woodlands, Fort Necessity, Braddocks Grave, Ohiopyle, Yough River, Roaring Knob Speedway, Nemacolin Shooting Academy, Kentuck Knob, and many more. July 2013 Lady Luck Casino will be opening 2.5 miles from our location. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing