We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly brutal, yet we had a good time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pocono Palace Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marshalls Creek
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I knew the Pocono Palace is cheesy and campy, and that was what attracted me to check it out. However, hearing that it was dated did not prepare me for the fact that we would be staying in a poorly glorified motel room. We stayed in a Fairway room, which is one of the lower-priced options, but I could not see paying a super-high price for a night at a place like that. Anyway, we got there and immediately noticed that they had put us in a smoking room after we'd requested nonsmoking. Mixed with that thick, stale cigarette smell was a musty, dank odor, apparently from the hot tub. We didn't feel like moving, so we didn't, but the woman from the front desk came and brought us incense, and removed the filter from the air conditioner to rub essential oil on it. That was a nice touch, but the room was nonetheless seedy. The old square TV was on this flimsy plastic stand, and one of the cloth chairs had quite the strategically placed stain on it. Not the type of place we are used to staying at. We tried to just roll with it and have a good time, so we did. We went paddle boating, then were contestants in the xxx newlywed game. I am not at all easily embarrassed, but some of the comments from the host (the questions, though raunchy, weren't too much for me) were over the top, I thought. At any rate, it was fun. We also played bingo and horse racing at the bar. It was nice that they let you check in early and have breakfast there the day of your arrival, because we were able to spend the day doing activities there. The breakfast was very good, but dinner, not so much. My salmon was awful, and I ended up not eating it. My boyfriend's steak was ok. We assumed that it would be somewhat low-quality food, but it was pretty crappy. The comedy night was very good. Really funny comedians. So, that was great. But again, the room. We tried to make the best of it, but I was literally in disbelief that any place that dubs itself a resort would have such shabby rooms and furnishings. The bed was super-uncomfortable, so we really didn't get much sleep. In the morning, I was sitting on the bed and my boyfriend points out to me that there are a handful of flies landing in the area of the pillows. It was the nastiest thing. I don't know where they came from, but it made me sick. At that point, we were leaving soon, so we didn't bother to say anything. Overall, we had a nice time spending time with each other, but the room was appalling. We would not go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

rubyrenga, we're so sorry to hear that you won't be returning to the Land of Love. Although the Fariway Suite wasn't for you, we have many styles to choose from. I was glad to hear that you had a nice time spending time with each other! If you decide to visit us again, please don't hesitate to email me at PoconoResorts@starwoodhotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,794 - 1,800 of 2,082 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

My husband and I just returned from a much needed weekend at Pocono Palace. We vacationed with 2 other couples and, as ususal, had a WONDERFUL time! This time we stayed in the Fantasy Apple Suite which has it's own heated pool, heart shaped tub, fireplace and furnished balcony overlooking the lake. I can't say WONDERFUL stay enough times! The staff is friendly and accomodating and will always take the extra step to make sure your stay is everything you want it to be. Have I said we have been there 42 times? And it has been 42 times of wonderful memories! The entertainment is exceptional and there are plenty of activities if you chose to participate or you can do nothing at all. If you are looking for a nice little romantic get-away where you can relax, have fun (and have I told you how much food there is?) go to Pocono Palace - you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeandkathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Thanks mikeandkathi!!! We love having you stay with us! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I am writing this review because we are forever lovers who absolutely LOVE Pocono Palace. We have been returning every year, sometimes twice a year, since our honeymoon thirty years ago. Most recently, we were at the Palace in June where the weather was gorgeous, the golf super, and the vacation once again too short. Our favorite rooms are the Fantasy Apples with that great balcony overlooking their own lake. We enjoy our coffee there in the morning, cocktails and munchies after golf, and just plain sit and enjoy the great mountain air and beautiful view. Yes, we are an older couple, but by no means are we couch potatoes. We play golf, tennis, ski, and horseback ride. There are plenty of activities for all ages from the games in the lounge to the tennis, golf, archery, and water sports at this resort. Most of them are included in your price except for the golf cart which is a small fee compared to other courses we have played.

The staff are some of the best we've ever encountered. They are courteous, helpful, and always eager to see to our needs especially Phil Tumminello, the resort manager. No matter how busy he is, he takes the time and extra effort to personally say hello, ask how we are doing, if we are enjoying our stay, and if we need anything? The food is better than ever and we never go away hungry. Lunch is not included but frankly we don't need it, breakfast is always hot and plentiful. Most recently our daughter and her husband are on their way to becoming forever lovers. They were given a gift certificate as a wedding present from one of their friends and had a blast. What a great idea! They are returning soon to celebrate their second anniversary. We can't wait for our next vacation to relax, play golf, enjoy our own indoor pool, and just have fun. Yes, the rooms may be a little over the top in the romance factor, but who doesn't need a little romance in their lives.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the lake have a great view, summer or fall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie and Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Thanks so much! I’ll be sure to share your review with Phil. And you’re right, everyone needs a little romance in their lives!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed at the Pocono Palace Resort for our 9year Anniversary. They allowed us to check in 6 hours early at no extra cost. Then upgraded our room from the Cleopatra Room to the Roman Towers Room at no extra cost. Service was outstanding! Room had a heated pool which was very clean. We really enjoyed the Champagne Glass Jacuzzi!!!! Had lots to do! Free golf ($15 for cart), free peddle boats, free buffet style breakfast (or in bed as we preferred), dinner was delicious. Just lots to do!!! I can tell by some of the bad reviews on here that people spent more time nit-picking the room rather that enjoying each other with the jacuzzi, pool, steam bath, and sauna. If you are going to crawl around on the floor, and all over the furniture with a blacklight looking for stains, I dont suggest you stay here. If you are that snobby, then you will probably ruin the fun atmosphere going on in the place anyways. Or if you are more worried about having internet and not spending every moment with your significant other, then go stay somewhere else. If you are looking to let back ad have some fun enoying your significant other. Than this is the place to go!!!!

Room Tip: Bring your own liquor or Beer as it may be cheaper than the bar or local liquor stores...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bubskristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Many thanks to you for the excellent review! We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This place was a blast. We only stayed two days, but those two days were exactly what we needed. Food was great!, Service was awesome. Bed in breakfast was the best. The Dinners were amazing, great, and FILLING. We didn't drink in the bar as we brought our own Alcohol, which i highly recommend. If you plan on Drinking allot, take your own. But Again i had an amazing time. The carpet could have been cleaned a bit, there were a few rips here and there. But past that, yes it was fun. I was very VERY Nervous about this place. Glad i took the chance. I had a friend who spent her Honeymoon here and had a blast too. I would highly recommend this place for a quick get away. Me and My Fiance ( I proposed there in the room - Fantasy Apple 310 :) Just this last weekend Sept 11th 2011 ) Wish we could have stayed longer, but we hope to go back some day. We made allot of good memories there, yes we were one of few younger couples there, but hey, it was quite, we had our own table for dinners, and everyone stuck to themselves. We weren't forced to sit with anyone else. Take some snacks with you, 4.50 for 4 cheese sticks at Spooners was a little crazy, but again all over it was a great time We stayed in the room the whole time, walked around a bit, but we didn't want to waist the room for as much as we paid for it. Maybe next time we can par take in the other activities. If your worried about this place, all i can can is Fantasy Apple Rooms, you can't go bad. I can't explain for other rooms, but F antsy Apple's well worth it.

Room Tip: Go with Fantasy Apple! You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Congratulations on your engagement!! Thank you for the awesome review. Hopefully we’ll see you soon – don’t forget to check out our Honeymoon packages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed for a long weekend, food was good but limited in choice. Rooms were laid out well, but ours had a pool and the carpet had a musty smell.
Housekeeping could have been better, left balcony messy and did not vacuum or wipe tables. Management staff was friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t love your visit to Pocono Palace. I’d like to hear more about your it. Please consider emailing me at PoconoResorts@starwoodhotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I was very very nervous about going to this hotel because I read such awful reviews on this site. I am very happy to say however that these horrible reviews are completely inaccurate. My husband and I had the most wonderful vacation and our only complaint is that it was too short.

We originally booked the fantasy apple suite but got upgraded to the roman towers. It was such an amazing room! we had an adorable heart shaped pool, a sauna, massage table, fireplace, whirlpool that overlooked the room, a super comfortable round bed, a romantic ceiling that twinkled, a great sound system, and large flat screen TV.

The activities were so much fun. We did archery, boating, banana boating, water skiing (much harder than it looks- you may get very sore if your not used to it), swimming, rollerskating, and biking. We are not into golf but it looked like a very nice range. Also if you are a shopper there is a huge outlet mall not far away. The gift shop was very cute and we bought a fire log and made a really nice fire in our room.

food- my husband and I keep kosher so we did not eat the hotel meals. The hotel offers prepacked kosher meals which we can order however the quality and taste of that has nothing to do with Pocono Palace as it is not their food. The dining room however is NOT group seating and every couple was eating alone contrary to other reviews here. The breakfast in bed was very cute and fun. They come on time and call beforehand. Our coffees were still hot which was a nice surprise. The only issue I have with the dining room was that they seemed a bit disorganized but if you are eating their regular menu and not pre ordering the packaged food you should really have no problem.

entertainment- we really did not get involved in that as the games seemed a bit too personal for our taste (again everyone has their own comfort zone) and we did not find the comedian to be very funny. (its possible he was funny but he was using so many curse words I sort of lost track of what he was actually saying......) Every night they had either a band or a DJ so if you like music your in luck.

They let you do a tour of the other rooms and we went to see the other pool rooms. All were really nice. The champagne room was very similar to the roman towers just lower ceilings and smaller. the fantasy apple room was beautiful and had a porch overlooking the lake. the reason I didn't love it was because the color scheme was very blue and I like a softer warmer look. But everyone likes a different look which is why there are a variety of styles. the Eden apple room was also really nice. it had a really nice red heart shaped hot tub which looked so romantic. the room also has no windows so you prob get an awesome nights sleep. Its true that the outside of some buildings look like log cabins and I am not sure why it was designed that way but the insides are really really nice. The outside is nice also- its just a style some peoples don't like.

Basically if you are looking for a grand plaza in Manhattan then this is not the place for you. This is a couples getaway with a cozy, romantic (slightly cheesy) atmosphere. They people who are saying "for the price I paid I expected something more elaborate" are not being realistic. How many hotels can you find that have in suite pools, hot tubs, and saunas and include 2 meals a day all you can eat. and the option of breakfast in bed? and all sorts of water and outdoor activities?

if you were to go to a standard hotel and then have to get your own food and arrange your own activities you would end up paying the same price and not get all the fun romantic activities this place has to offer.

My guess is that many people like to complain so the ones that don't have a good time or it was not what they expected will come here and tell about it but most of the people who had a great time don't end up coming here to write a review.

My husband and I had a wonderful time and cant wait to go back.

a few tips

ask for an upgrade before going there. if they cant give you one before then ask again when you get there when there are no other guests around. They may very likely give you one.

bring champagne, wine, wineglasses, candles, matches, good snacks, a few DVD's, bottled water, toiletries (theirs are not so good), and bubble bath. don't bring your own fire logs as it may be too big for their fireplace and it may smoke up the room. they have a log you can buy in the gift shop for like $5 which will burn for a couple hours.

order breakfast in bed and then if you are still hungry you can go eat another breakfast later. they serve till 11 I think.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YSDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

So glad you had a cozy, romantic time Devoy. Thank you for the review. We hope you’re planning a return getaway to the Land of Love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshalls Creek
15.6 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,495 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
253 reviews
8 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
668 reviews
13.6 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pocono Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocono Palace Resort

Address: 206 Marquis Road, Marshalls Creek, PA 18335
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Marshalls Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marshalls Creek
Price Range: £133 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pocono Palace Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The couples-only Pocono Palace Resort is ideal for a romantic getaway. Our resort has an indoor/outdoor pool and a 32,000 sq ft sports facility. We're near shopping, horseback riding, and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pocono Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocono Palace Hotel Marshalls Creek
Caesars Pocono Palace Poconos
Poconos Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing