We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's absolutely nothing not to like about The Percy Arms.”
Review of The Percy Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Percy Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Chilworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cobham, United Kingdom
1 review
“There's absolutely nothing not to like about The Percy Arms.”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

South African run and, to an extent themed, The Percy Arms had been recommended by a friend and it exceeded all expectations. The location was fabulous - beautiful view to the rear and Guildford really close. The greeting from the staff was generous and warm. The room we had was stunning - beautifully and thoughtfully prepared - with an enormous bed and a huge stand alone bath in the corner of the room with a walk-in shower and separate toilet down a short corridor in the room.

The dinner was amazing - the steak was to die for - with the service and ambiance being extremely friendly, courteous and attentive all at the same. Some great wine from the excellent list went down a treat too!

A fabulous night's sleep in the most comfortable of beds was followed by a delicious, freshly cooked breakfast.

A special thank you to the South African owner who took the trouble to talk to us at the table about the meat he served, how it was cut and prepared - we learned a lot - and to Ally the young manageress who was, quite simply, a complete star.

Can't wait to go back - there's absolutely nothing not to like about The Percy Arms

Paul H

Room Tip: Had a peek around - all the rooms were individual wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    24
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
54
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a busy Saturday night in March. The food and service in the restaurant were excellent - nothing was too much trouble. The room we were given was enormous and beautifully appointed. Breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked. I would recommend this whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

A wonderful pub with superb accommodation and fabulous food. Tuesday is Steak Night and you can get a full 16oz Rump for £17. The chef is South African and he really knows how to cook his meat. Breakfasts too are great. Recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We loved this room with its huge bed, fabulous furnishings with more than a hint of the exotic, and roll top bath in the middle of the room. My husband is never one to like new things, but I noticed he spent quite a bit of time in said bath!
We met friends and family in the restaurant the night before for a meal, and it was lovely to clamber up the stairs afterwards to our cozy room, for a good night's sleep.
Breakfast the next day was very good too - lots of choice.
And the staff were excellent - friendly and efficient, just what you want.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boojumagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a lovely evening staying at the Percy Arms. Had a great meal in their restaurant and enjoyed the comfortable luxury of the rooms - king size bed and lovely bathroom. Bit pricey we thought but just about worth it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JaneZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed one night at the Percy Arms and no complaints whatsoever. Room was great - large, comfortable, clean, nice décor and with a huge rolltop bath in the middle of the room. Bed incredibly comfortable. We didn't eat dinner there as we were attending a function elsewhere but breakfast was excellent and all in all it was really good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry_French
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just go there! The food, staff and rooms are all exceptional...wow I can't wait to get back there! Ali the GM couldn't have been more helpful. Nothing was too much. The wine was excellent value and I probably had the best rib-eye Ive ever tasted. Lovely lovely place to stay and properly relax hassle free

Room Tip: it doesnt matter they're all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janedc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilworth
1.2 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
2.5 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
5.6 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Percy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Percy Arms

Property: The Percy Arms
Address: 75 Dorking Road, Chilworth GU4 8NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Chilworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Percy Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Percy Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing