We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Accommodation in Idyllic Surroundings”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Kirby Hill, Richmond, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Graylyn18...
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb Accommodation in Idyllic Surroundings”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We’ve just returned from a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend visit. The property is extremely well equipped, tastefully decorated and incredibly spacious. We received a very warm and friendly welcome from both Angela and Jack. The gracious hosts kindly provided us daily with some fresh and deliciously scrummy eggs.

Situated on a working farm with spectacular views, Larklands provides a great location to explore the surrounding areas, Richmond being one of our favourites.

Although dog friendly, it’s advisable to keep your dogs on a lead when walking around the farm as you are surrounded by numerous chickens and sheep, which were a great source of entertainment for our pesky Westie, who thoroughly enjoyed herself.

For a reasonable additional cost, Angela will provide you with meals and there’s a substantial selection to choose from. We will definitely take advantage of this service on our return.

A great property, superb location and a fantastic welcome awaits you. We are already planning our return visit.

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being located in a stunning property on a working farm with fantastic views
Liked least: My own stupidity, realising on the morning of my departure, there is a gate I could have used instead of picking up my muddy pup and walking tentatively across the cattle grid.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
f1girlrac...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful cottage on a working farm in stunning surroundings”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Had a wonderful time. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and couldn't be more helpful. Loved spending time on the farm and watching the chickens running around. The setting was idyllic and ideal for visiting the surrounding area.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuriaGeor...
Shrewsbury
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful break...”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have had a fabulous stay at Larklands. The accommodation is first class and has everything you need and more. The farm offered endless adventures for our 3 and 5 year old girls and feeding lambs, ducks and baby chicks was a delight! The surroundings offered peace, relaxation and tranquility for mum, dad, granny and grandad. And the dog loved the countryside walks! The lovely town of Richmond was close enough and had everything you need and the area is stunning! Definitely eat at The Shoulder of Mutton pub. Fabulous food! All in all, a wonderful place to escape to and definitely will return...

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbert...
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxation heaven”
Reviewed 13 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Have just enjoyed a wonderful relaxing week with my sister @ Larklands, the cottage is a joy to stay in, on the outskirts of a quiet little village, surrounded by beautiful views. The cottage is on a working farm and the animals, especially the chickens, are a joy to watch. The cottage has everything anyone could wish for and within walking distance of the local pub. I would recommend a holiday at this cottage, any time of the year, a little gem, therefore please ignore the one negative review from JennieHo5, they must have been wearing blinkers or just 'miffed' that they couldn't let the dogs chase the sheep!

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chickens
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine
Reviewed 6 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Essex
Reviewed 25 May 2012 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.