We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 STAR ALL THE WAY”

The Shoulder of Mutton Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kirby Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a traditional English country pub, surrounded by spectacular views four miles from the nearest town of Richmond. We pride our selves on good traditional bar meals made from locally sourced ingredients. we also have Six letting rooms comprising of four double rooms with on suite bathrooms, one family room which has one double and two single beds to accommodate a family of four with on suite bathroom, all of witch have showers only in the bathrooms and we also have an Annex which has its own separate living room, bedroom, kitchenette with fridge and microwave, and bathroom with shower over bath.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 STAR ALL THE WAY”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

What can i say this is a wonderful find, i feel i want to keep it all to myself, wonderful food served by wonderful staff that nothing is a problem, i would think anyone would be hard pushed to find anything bad to say!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    25
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just returned from a break in the dales and this pub was one of the highlights of our trip. The staff certainly lived up to Yorkshire's reputation for great hospitality, they were very warm and welcoming and ensured we were well fed! The food was fantastic and can't recommend this place highly enough. A must visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous Village Pub”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have been coming here for years, the staff are all so lovely and the food is always fabulous. An excellent choice on the menu for all. They bend over backwards to make sure everything is just right. Well placed in a pretty little village with amazing views the pub is in a perfect setting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellebaby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Egmont, Pei
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We chanced upon this Inn on a trip from Richmond to Ambleside - lucky us! As seasoned travellers we found it remarkable that this Inn so far removed from any major population center would serve such masterful cuisine. We heartily recommend this restaurant without reservation, even if we tarried in the area for a lengthy duration we would dine nowhere else. The food is great, the service is impeccable and the cost is most reasonable. We have been traveling throughout England for a month; The Shoulder of Mutton Inn sets the benchmark now.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ConstantTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Host”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had a family meal her to celebrate Parents Diamond Wedding Anniversary - best meal in a long, long time - so tasty, different and wonderful presentation - thank you chef!
Very attentive staff, nothing too much trouble and the host is a scream and lovely with it.
Catered excellent for my husband who is Coeliac (Gluten Free), no problem, thank you for that - makes such a change. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shoulder of Mutton Inn also viewed

East Layton, Richmond
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Shoulder of Mutton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing