We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to camp!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Erie KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McKean
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Erie KOA
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to camp!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a nice campgrounds. We had a back in site which the campgrounds employees helped to back my husband in (40 ft motorhome), room to park tow vehicle and to pull out the slide out with room to spare, all services worked great and wifi was great at our site. Employees were around all the time. Office very nice and helpful. It is close to the road but on the east coast you will find most campgrounds close to roads especially in populated or popular places such as Lake Erie. We found that the traffic noise was not bad at all. We stayed here over Memorial Weekend. Campgrounds was full and had lots of kids and dogs. Even with this it was still quite quiet. No wild parties or drunk people here. Our site was about normal width and grassy. Price was reasonable considering the area. Campgrounds was clean and kept up at all times. We did not use restrooms or do any activities so I can't comment on that. Some of the pull thru sites looked like they were gravel sites. As far as the complaints about extra charges - I didn't find it any different from other campgrounds that we have visited and like the extra charges for activities rather than the "resort fee" that some campgrounds have for every unit regardless if you use the acitivites/pool etc. We found the employees and manager very helpful in not only at time of reservation but through our stay and extremely helpful during " our time of need" when on the day we left of full length slide out wouldn't go in and was grinding gears. We found a tech to come out to the campsite and the slide had to be hand cranked back in and some employees kept checking in on us through the process offering suggestions also. They also helped to push the slide in as the Tech cranked. We will return here. It's a great campgrounds. A big thank you to all employees with there help.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RVonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    11
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We recently spent a weekend at the Erie KOA. This was our fifth stay at the campground. The staff is friendly, the grounds and bathrooms are immaculate. However, we had the misfortune of being placed next to a family with four screaming , fighting kids. We spent most of our time at Presque Isle, but the time spent at the KOA was irritating to say the least. If we go back, it will be in the fall, and during the week.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
456 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were greeted with a friendly welcome, they are working on the landscaping around the office. It looks very nice now and will be even better soon. We rented a bunkhouse cabin. We wanted one close to the bathroom but it is like being on a median on a busy highway. We recommend that you rent one further from the bathroom rather than have constant traffic during your stay. This is a nice campground otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oneyearride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We chose this campground for a quick weekend away. We stayed there for the first time last fall and were pleasantly surprised so we decided to give it another try and we enjoyed this visit as well. The campground has a lot of trees and nice landscaping with a large pond in the center of the grounds. We stayed in a site near the back of the campground which was away from the road and was very quiet with enough space between us and nearby sites. It was an easy walk to the camp store, pool and pavilion. In our previous stay we were closer to the road which had some traffic at times but it didn't bother us. The store is well-stocked and the bathrooms were very clean. We took advantage of the ice cream sundaes (small charge) that they have Saturday nights and the free pancakes on Sundays (a small charge if you want bacon, etc.). It is only a 15 minute drive to Erie for shopping, visiting Lake Erie or other activities. We plan on returning to this campground in the future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravelers4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
457 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Love the pool, no signs of perm-campers like other campgrounds. The campsite gave us a good 30 feet buffer between other campers. They allow pets. The price is right in line with other campgrounds. The showers were clean alone with the bathrooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeWiseMen1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We've been staying at a number of KOAs recently and were disappointed by this one. The grounds are very attractive and the staff friendly and helpful...but. You knew there would be a but. Our site was beside the road which looked like a country road on the map but was in fact very busy with trucks, cars, motorcycles roaring by. Noisy!!
The pull through site was the smallest (narrowest) we have ever seen. There was about 6 feet between us and the next rig and that included a picnic table and their cords and drainage hose. The gravel we stepped out on was wet from his water connections (I hoped it wasn't his drainage hose.) When we got there he was polishing his rig and had to sit at our picnic table to do it because it was so crowded. The dog run was behind the washrooms and maintenance shed at the far back of the property and was very small. Our dog stepped in and asked to leave. I hate to give bad reviews but this is pricey for what you get. Hopefully you can find a better alternative if you are camping. I suspect the cabins would be better here because they are away from the traffic noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlknkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Always clean very quaint and homie Bathrooms are always spotless Staff is always patrolling picking up garbage or trash Flowers hanging on the cabin Just a nice overall homey feeling I would recommendthis koa to anybody

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nponziani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McKean
6.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
22.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
6.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
6.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
9.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erie KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erie KOA

Property: Erie KOA
Address: 6645 West Rd, McKean, PA 16426-1128
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in McKean
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to our beautiful "kid friendly" campground offering fun for the whole family. Go fishing or paddle boating in our catch and release pond, swim in our heated pool, ride our pedal carts and banana bikes, or walk our pygmy goats. Throughout the summer we have movies and weekend ice cream socials. Jam to our DJ entertainment on holiday weekends. Enjoy our recreation room for air hockey, pool, ping-pong and arcade games. Special events, kids games and social activities abound. Check out our summer activities listed below. Enjoy our FREE pancake breakfasts on Sundays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Erie Koa Hotel Mckean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing