We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They try really really hard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Meadville
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Meadville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2006

Went to Meadville on business. I'm a frequent business traveler who normally stays at Westins, Hiltons, Marriotts. And, this is the best that Meadville has to offer.

They know how to overcome their shortcomings through great service. Yes, the rooms are puny, and the hotel lobby looks like you stepped into a garage sale, but the staff try really hard to make your stay pleasant.

The rooms are clean, and there are all kinds of little amenties and signs to help you out, such as step by step instructions on how to operate the showerhead!

Each night the staff hosts a theme party. The night that I was there, it was Martini Night (it's all free by the way). I wasn't even going to go, thinking it would be cheap liquor that would give me a headache in the morning. But, they served premium liquor (Absolut or Grey Goose, and Beefeater?). Breakfast buffet is nothing spectacular but it's free, too. They have a computer/Internet in the lobby for everyone to use and a printer.

If I ever have to go to Meadville again, I'd stay here, only because there isn't anything else that's much better, and the people are really nice. I've stayed at 4-star hotels where the staff could have taken some lessons from the Holiday Inn Express Meadville.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2006

The only room available when I made a booking was a Handicapped room as I requested NON SMOKING. I am not to sure how someone in a Wheelchair would even manage
to get into the room as it was so tiny. (The only large part was the Shower)
Both my husband and I were very dissapointed and also thought it was really over-
priced.
The only good part about our one night stay was the Italian Restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank tish the dish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2006

I stayed here for a few days visiting my son in the local college. I was glad to get back to my own home! This hotel leaves a very mixed feeling. The rooms (and everything else) were especially clean, and the housekeepers do a fine job. Several restaurants are within easy walking distance, which I like when staying in a hotel. However, I couldn't get over how small my room was. I asked for a single, and now think I should have gotten a double. A single room here is surprisingly small (as the prior review says, nearly Microtel size). My son's comment was that I would have been further ahead to sleep on the couch in his apartment (no thanks, college apartments are not my preferred accommodation). There was no place to work in the room. There is a computer in the lobby, but there were kids on it all the time unless I went to it very late. The breakfast was good, but the lobby is like the rooms; much too small. It feels very crowded at breakfast. After the first day I made myself a tray and went back to my room.

Also, there is no fitness equipment in the hotel at all, which really surprised me. I can't think of the last place I stayed that had NO equipment. I don't see why they couldn't have dedicated a room to a couple treadmills. I declined their offer to drive several miles to a gym in town, especially since I didn't have my own towel The desk person didn't know if the gym had towels, and told me I couldn't take their towels out of the building.

Overall, the staff here are generally helpful and congenial, but the amenities are lacking. If you were a Munchkin or a Hobbit, this would be the place to stay.

Oh, be sure to try the Italian restaurant in front of the hotel, it's great.

Stayed: May 2006
Thank addam2addam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Pittsburgh, PA
15
Reviewed 5 May 2006

During my stay at this hotel, I was asked "Is everything okay" so many times I was tempted to wear a sign around my neck saying "stop asking me." The hotel staff takes this to the point of calling your room repeatedly until they connect with you to ask if your room is okay (so much for my late afternoon nap).

As a business hotel, this facility leaves a lot to be desired. First, the rooms, especially the singles, are unusually small; not much bigger than a Microtel room. There is no workspace in the room. Second, there is no fitness equipment; staff will give you a pass for the "Fitness Garage" several miles away. Third, despite having my credit card on file, and my being a Priority Club member, the hotel refused to cash a $50 traveler's check and suggested that I try a local grocery store.

Especially irritating was the home's pet policy. Posted prominently around the hotel and at the front desk are signs saying "IF YOU ARE FOUND TO HAVE A PET IN YOUR ROOM YOU WILL BE CHARGED $500." I don't travel with a pet, but gosh, this just seems nasty.

Finally, don't fill out a comment card unless you plan to give the hotel "excellent" across the board. I sent in a comment card with the above information, and the hotel's manager sent me a letter telling me not to come back !

All this for $90 a night.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 May 2006

Please accept the following response to "They Pretend to be Nice". First, the entire staff of this hotel is truly concerned that all guests have an "Excellent" stay. If this guest felt that we were bothering him, it was not meant to be so, possibly had he expressed the concerns he writes about with any associate the situations could have been resolved. As for his nap time all our telephones offer a Do Not Disturb feature for the guest use. The Fitness Garage is the best fitness facility in the area. We feel this offers our guests more than we could provide within the hotel. This is given complimentary and is given each day of the stay. Regarding our Pet Policy, would it be your preference to stay in a room that had been damaged by an unattended pet? 500.00 would not cover the cost of replacing carpet, linen, or bedspreads in a room. We are listed as a Pet Free Hotel.

Not mentioned by this guest is all the complimentary hotel amenities that were available to him, cocktail parties, soup, breakfast, high speed internet, snacks to mention a few. All these things are included complimentary in the rate. As for the letter asking him not to return, it is our hotel policy that if we can not please a guest, with our sincerely concerned staff and many extra amenities they should find other accomodations, and we will concentrate our efforts on guests that truly appreciate our facility and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2005

Our stay was generally nice. Breakfast was decent. My only big complaint is with the non smoking rooms. We specifically needed a non smoking room because my daughter has asthma. We were in our room the first night and smelled cigar smoke in the hallway. Turns out the hotel has smoking rooms interspersed with non smoking rooms on the same floor! It was if someone were smoking in our room! The manager at the front desk was extremely helpful with the problem. She came up to our floor and had the guy across the hall CLOSE his door and she sprayed Febreeze to get rid of the smell. Other than that it is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnac355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2004

Spent the weekend of November 19-21, 2004 here on a shopping trip. Usually we stay in Erie, but everthing was booked solid this time around. Since we usually venture 1 hour south to Grove City to visit the Prime Outlet Mall anyway, we decided to stay half-way there in Meadville. The hotel looked nice on their web site, and it didn't disappoint in person. The staff were very friendly, and the complimentary breakfast in the morning was pretty good. Our King size room was on the "smallish" side, but suited our needs. We were only there to sleep anyway! The only small complaint I had was that the plumbing seemed a bit noisy. I am not sure whether it was just our room (near the end of the hall) or not. Overall it wasn't a bad place to stay!

3  Thank Shmuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hh8961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meadville hotels
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Meadville
Hampton Inn Meadville
#1 of 5 in Meadville
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 5 in Meadville
117 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn Meadville
Quality Inn Meadville
#3 of 5 in Meadville
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Mayor Lord's House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Meadville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Meadville

Address: 18240 Conneaut Lake Rd, Meadville, PA 16335-3758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Meadville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Meadville
Price Range: £91 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Meadville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience our Newly Renovated Hotel. We have added an indoor heated pool, spa, and fitness facility. As well as upgrading all of the guest rooms. Come experience it. We offer complimentary breakfast, evening snacks, and a manager's cocktail party every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Meadville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Meadville Pa Hotel Meadville
Meadville Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Meadville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing