We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayor Lord's House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayor Lord's House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Meadville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Very good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Sherry was a great host. The breakfast was very good, lots of variety. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. It's a great blast from the past to stay at this B&B. It's a great value for your money. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elzdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
31
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

My wife and I have been coming to the Mayor Lord B&B for about five years now, to visit our daughter while she attended Allegheny College. Sherry owns and runs a warm and welcoming home in this century and a bit-old house. I call the architecture Victorian eclectic. The baths preserve a lot of the old fixtures, the rooms are comfortable and have excellent beds and often comfy chairs and extras. The high point is the breakfast, which is ample, varied, and flexible. Sherry welcomes your college student and even their occasional friend to share breakfast with you. It's almost a shame that our daughter graduated yesterday. Now we will not have as many reasons to visit Meadville and stay here. We will still be back. If you do not have a college student, it's a good area for hiking, fishing, and dinner theater and Conneaught Lake are just up the road. And it is just off I-79, so if you can break your trip overnight here, it beats any of the places by the highway hands down.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geodynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

You have to be in the mood for a B and B. The personal touch always risks becoming invasive, whereas the hotel experience always risks becoming too bland.
We were lucky that we had the place to ourselves when we visited Allegheny College, but the owner seemed to have the right touch.
Our 2 rooms were quaint, had a big TV to keep the kids quiet, and we left refreshed even though we didn't get in until midnight (owner was very understanding and waited up for us).
Breakfast was not generic.

One caveat, the front rooms are on the road, and sometimes there is some traffic. Owner supplies earplugs, and this does not detract from the 5 stars, at least for me.
Only two blocks from the college.

Excellent stay and would clearly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishmanontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellwood City, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I cant say enough about Mayor Lord's House Bed & Breakfast!! The house is beautiful and has been kept true to the time period it was built. Sherry, the Innkeeper, also makes every effort to advertise and showcase local venues and business. For example, we ate on locally made pottery. Speaking of eating, our breakfast was very tasty, featuring home made quiche, heart healthy oatmeal, locally made whole grain bread and locally grown blueberries. The rooms were beautiful and extremely clean :) Sherry was so pleasant and very helpful. I also appreciate the modern features- flat screen tv's , cable, and wyfi. And, its only a half hour from all the Erie, PA attractions! Id recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Back rooms and upstairs rooms have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissab99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Comfortable beds, tasty and healthy breakfasts, kind and efficient owner, and reasonable price. About a 10 minute walk to Allegheny College, which was a lot better than driving around looking for visitor's parking spots. Warm and toasty indoors, even with inches of snow outside!

If you're visiting Allegheny, you will not regret choosing this over the nearby chain hotels. I happily stayed for four nights and I'll be coming back!

Room Tip: I was lucky enough to be upgraded to the Mims Suite, which has a huge bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Mayor Lord's House B&B while on a college visit to Allegheny with my daughter. If you are doing the same, this is an excellent location! It's just two blocks away. Sherry was very kind and a wonderful hostess. The home is lovely, the beds were very comfy, and the breakfast was delicious. We were given a room upgrade for our stay at no extra charge as well since there were a few open rooms that evening. We live a long way off in Texas, but if we find ourselves in Meadville again, we will definitely stay at Mayor Lord's House!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal IL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

My son and I stayed here for one night while visiting Allegheny College. The owner was very friendly without being "in your business". The home is gorgeous, clean and well furnished. We stayed in the Mims suite. It worked out very well for my son and I as he slept on the twin bed and I on the queen. This suite has separate rooms as well as a kitchenette and private bathroom. The breakfast was very good with scrambled eggs, oatmeal, cereal, local homemade bread and beverages. We were only 2 minutes away from the college and therefore very handy for those visiting there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meadville
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Meadville
Hampton Inn Meadville
#1 of 5 in Meadville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Riverside Inn
The Riverside Inn
#1 of 1 in Cambridge Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Meadville Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 2 in Edinboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
24.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Titusville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Seasons Inn at Nick's Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor Lord's House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor Lord's House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Mayor Lord's House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 654 Park Ave, Meadville, PA 16335-1743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Meadville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Meadville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mayor Lord's House Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayor Lord's House Bed and Breakfast - an historic home in the heart of Meadville. Free Breakfast Buffet with healthy choices, free secure wireless Internet, cable TV, A/C - walk 2 Blocks to Allegheny College or downtown. A quality "Home away from Home" for your friends, family & business visitors - accommodations available year round including holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Mayor Lord's House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing