We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stay at this hotel every time I go to Mechanicsburg which...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stay at this hotel every time I go to Mechanicsburg which is usually one to two times a year. We like the location because it is very close to where my sister-in-law lives. The problem I have is that I sometimes get there before 3pm and want to check in early after an 8 1/2 hour drive. Twice now I have been told to come back after 3pm. In the past the management always made sure I was taken care of. The new management isn't so accommodating in my opinion. The other issue was that the internet had a price of $101 and when I reserved directly with the hotel I was charged $164. Why such a disparity?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Maxwell G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieLAllison, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Maxwell G G,

Thank you for choosing Wingate while visiting your family! We are happy to check anyone in early, if we have rooms available. Please understand that on busy weekends, some guests wait until 11 or 12 to check out, giving housekeeping little time to have rooms ready by 12 or 1. For your future visits, call the hotel on the day of your arrival to let us know that you will be arriving early so we will be expecting you and join Wyndham Rewards!

Thank you,

Katie L. Allison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked this hotel through Travelocity for Easter weekend 2014 (Thursday-Sunday). We are a family of 2 adults and 3 children, and I booked (and paid for) a room for 5 people. Upon our arrival, we were given a room with two full-sized beds and no pull-out couch or other sleeping accommodations for our third child. When I returned to the front desk to ask if we'd been assigned the wrong room, I was first told that the hotel didn't have any accommodations other than what I'd assigned, then told I had booked the wrong room (luckily I had both printed the confirmation and had a copy on my phone to show that I had not). When I explained that I had nowhere for my 3rd child to sleep (we certainly didn't bring a sleeping bag or other means for her to sleep on the floor) she hesitantly told me that she'd "do me a favor" by giving me a rollaway to use. She initially told me that I would be charged for the rollaway, but after I had her physically check the reservation again and confirm that I had, indeed, paid for 5 occupants, she then said she'd "do me another favor" and not charge for it.

She did bring the rollaway, but it was huge and made it nearly impossible to walk around the room when it was set up. I have booked many, many hotel rooms for my family of 5 and have never before been given a room that can't accommodate 5 people; I'm not sure if this is a Wyndham policy or not, but we will not stay in a Wingate again. In addition to the bed situation, I was a bit put off by the fact that when I moved the bedside table to plug in my phone I found a significant amount of trash behind it.

Positives of the hotel included the breakfast (the woman who staffed it was quite nice) and the proximity (walking distance) to a Cracker Barrel, which my children enjoyed. It's also relatively close to a grocery store and has easy access to the Turnpike.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieLAllison, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

aprilchem,

Thank you for your review. Fire code prohibits the use of rollaways in rooms with two double beds and also limits the number of persons in a room to 5 (even infants are counted as a person). I apologize for the misleading information Travelocity provided you with, I was in contact with them directly to address this issue. I strongly recommend making reservations through the hotel for future stays.

Thank you,

Katie L. Allison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I had to book a second room even though when I made my reservation the website indicated the room was large enough for 3 adults and two children. The person I dealt with treated me like I was stupid and offered no assistance. I had to book a second room and she would not let me cancel first room or offer me a discount on second room. Accommodations were average. I would not recommend

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieLAllison, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Christine B,

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. After researching, it appears as though you reserved a King room through expedia.com. Those reservations must be cancelled through expedia and they have a strict 24 hour cancellation policy. Our maximum occupancy per room is 5, according fire code. I would be happy to speak with you further. Please call me directly at 717-766-2710.

Katie L. Allison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KatieLAllison, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KatieLAllison, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Olivia O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KatieLAllison, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
1  Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KatieLAllison, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West

Address: 385 Cumberland Pkwy, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-5673
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#6 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range: £55 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Hershey, Harrisburg and Gettysburg, Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg is the perfect hotel for your corporate and travel needs. Complimentary breakfast is served daily. Guests love our indoor heated pool, fitness center and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Mechanicsburg Hotel Mechanicsburg
Wingate Hotel Mechanicsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing