We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel for a three-night weekend six years in a row. We have enjoyed it each time. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are so nice - each suite has a small kitchen with microwave, dishwasher, stove-top, sink, coffeemaker,and a full size refrigerator. The living room is spacious with plenty of seating. There is a couch, large chair with ottoman, and a desk nearby. A flat screen TV is also included. The bedroom has a second TV along with ample closet and dresser storage. I especially like the separate vanity area that leads to the bathroom. There is a very large counter with the sink. Plenty of room to accomodate all your toiletries.

The hotel has a beautiful outdoor pool area with lots of seating available. It is a great place to sit and enjoy the sunshine. On the weeknights, a dinner is included with your stay. It's wonderful to be able to eat outside. There is a complimentary breakfast every day. What more can you ask for!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for your continued patronage. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a complimentary review. Our goal is to exceed your expections and hopefully we continue to do so, as your comments were in such detail. We welcome you back for all your future trips to Mechanicsburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

We are relocating to the Harrisburg area, and we came across this hotel for our house hunting trip. The rooms are very spacious and everything was in working order. The room had all that we could ask for. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We often asked them suggestions of where to eat and things to do, and they were more than happy to oblige. They were also very understanding when our flight to Harrisburg got cancelled, which was appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Welcome to Mechanicsburg! Full kitchen, living room and separate bedroom do make our suites perfect for an extended stay in our area. Thank you for choosing our property and for taking the time to write a review. Your comments will be posted for all employees to see. We hope if you need a hotel, while living in the area, your first choice will be Homewood Suites - Harrisburg West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I have stayed at this particular Homewood Suites almost every week for a year. That alone speaks volumes. All of the staff bend over backwards to welcome you and make you feel at home. After a hectic work day it is nice to come back to a hotel where you are welcomed with a smile and relax. The full complimentary breakfast and dinner are an added bonus. I do not hesitate to recommend this to my colleagues.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

We appreciate your continued patronage! We try to make our guests feel like they are at home and based upon your comments, we are doing just that! Thank you for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We love the Homewood Suites properties. This was the exception. The room was in poor shape when we arrived. One cupboard door in the kitchenette was barely hanging on - one hinge was missing entirely. We only had one towel - three travelers. Once we notified the front desk in the morning as we left for a day trip, they took care of both issues.
Food was horrid. We enjoy the breakfast in the lobby because it is more convenient and our per diems are pretty sparse. The morning crew seemed shocked at the number of people present for breakfast. Do they not know the # of guests? Eggs were served in a pan that smelled of tuna casserole served the night earlier. It was really bad. They kept running out of plates too. The silverware was replenished finally but when we pulled forks out, the first 5 had food chunks on them - Spoons were the same.
Management needs to change practices for planning.
Again, corner room was spacious and beautiful. Few issues but quickly resolved. Food was horrid.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocHOneAndTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Our goal is to exceed your expectations and please accept our apologies for obviously falling extremely short. It is our busy season with many sports teams staying with us, but that is in no way an excuse for what you experienced. If you would kindly contact me directly at 717-697-4900 extension 2604, I would gladly welcome the chance to speak to you and try to rectify the situation. We would like to be your hotel of choice in the Mechanicsburg area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here 6/29-7/1 hotel did not look like much from the outside but room was much better than i expected! Had a king bed that was very comfortable.Fitness room was small but worked for me! My only complaint is the free Breakfast..if you are not there at 6am forget about going it was very busy at 7:30am and the food quality was so-so. The last morning i was there the manager had to run to the store to get bread and cereal! All in all i would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites and taking the time to write a review. We use all of our guest's comments as learning tools, so we appreciate all feedback. Over the summer months, breakfast is absolutely crazy and we are working on different ways to display our breakfast items to help with crowd control. It is an area where we are striving for improvement. We are thrilled to read that you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed here while PCSing into Mechanicsburg NSA. Our room was very spacious. They accepted dogs and we had a full kitchen. The hotel also serves breakfast and a light dinner. It's conveniently located to Highway 15. We were lucky to get a room close to an exit so we could take our dog out when needed. Only downside was the full size beds versus queen's. But, we managed o.k. with them. I'd definitely stay there again if needed.

Room Tip: Even though it's close to 15, we didn't hear traffic. Corner suites are convenient for anim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlacoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Good Morning,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Many of our guests stay with us for extended periods of time and we found that traveling with their pets makes them feel "at home"! We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I frequent Homewood Suites and the staff here was great. Good restaurants close by.

My only gripe is that the concrete area as you leave the lobby and head toward the pool is stained,looks dirty and terrible, and is not something they should be proud of or up to their standards. I was very surprised as the rest of the facility is top-notch. Somebody get out a pressure washer!

Pool area is small.

Other than that, you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Thank you so much for choosing the Homewood Suites - Harrisburg West! We could not agree with you more about the concrete by the pool. We do have an appointment scheduled to have an "overlay" applied to that area. Believe it or not, we do power wash every evening. We do appreciate you taking the time to write a review, as these posts are critical to our success.
We hope to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechanicsburg
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Harrisburg West, PA
8.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area

Address: 5001 Ritter Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-4884
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#1 Green Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range: £90 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite, extended stay hotel is only seven miles from downtown Harrisburg, PA with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike I-76. Enjoy being only 15 minutes from Harrisburg Amtrak and 25 minutes from Harrisburg International (MDT) Airport. Choose a one-bedroom, or two-bedroom, suite with sofa bed for extra sleeping space. Or, upgrade to a suite with a cozy fireplace or relaxing whirlpool tub for an extra calming stay. Our suites also include full kitchens (with a twin-burner stove, microwave oven, coffeemaker, dishwasher and dining table). Each suite also comes with two LCD TVs. Guests who stay at our hotel enjoy our complimentary WiFi, free, full breakfast, business center, 24-Hr Pavilion Pantry Market, complimentary beverage area, basketball court, Precore Certified Fitness Center, outdoor swimming pool and billiards table.Traveling for business? Join us Monday- Thursday evening for our evening socials, beer and wine are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Homewood Suites Mechanicsburg
Homewood Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing