We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, clean, clean!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, clean, clean!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My husband and I stayed in several hotels during our recent getaway in early December. The lobby is lovely and was beautifully decorated for the holidays. Clearly, great attention is given to the cleanliness and the comfort of the guests. Unfortunately, we stayed here first and that experience spoiled us and caused us to be disappointed with the hotels we used afterward.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
We are proud to know that we set the bar so high for your entire vacation! With our close proximity to Gettysburg, Lanacaster and Hershey, perhaps you can plan an entire vacation all while staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    119
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
293
91
13
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The hotel was delightful. The housekeeping staff was superlative, Isabel was excellent. The complementary breakfast was delicious and dinner witha glass of wine was a very pleasant experience. Looking forward to our next positive visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Happy Monday,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your return visits to Pennsylvania! We appreciate you taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review.

2dalu,
David Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D.C.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

First impression was that it had very long halls with elevators at only one end, fairly spacious, available parking, decent enough breakfast for the price (not great), but pretty run down -- fraying rugs, outdated furnishings/fixtures. After two nights around Thanksgiving it was OK given location and were it not for construction on one side of hotel (book side to right of lobby/highway side is quieter!). After the third night had a worse impression. They filled empty rooms with New Jersey hockey tournament kids running up and down halls all day and night playing hockey, parents wondering halls with wine bottles and pretending problem kids weren't theirs, and Thanksgiving patrons visiting family were not happy/rested. Front desk responded but shouldn't have allowed booking in first place or should have sequestered problem guests.

Room Tip: There is construction in a.m. on left hall as look at lobby from entry circle. Elevators can be far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NextStopAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We take great pride in our hotel, staff and amenities and are disappointed when we do not exceed your expectations. We use all our surveys and comments as key learning tools. I would be happy to discuss this with you further. We are committed to EARNING your business!

David Jacobs
(717) 697-4900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I checked into the property and I was greeted by friendly staff. The inside courtyard rooms were quiet and I had a great stay. The evening reception was great and the staff at the reception was exceptional. I can safely say that the next time I am in the area I will be staying at this hotel. The hotel was close to a mall and other restaurants if you want something more substantial after the evening reception.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virtualGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for the glowing remarks. We will welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Your comments will be shared with our staff.

David Jacobs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo NY, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great friendly helpful staff, Great rooms and location. I stay here several days per year and have other choices but here they treat you like a VIP. The rates are grreat and the food is well planned and prepared. I have never had a cook ask me if there was anything else I would like or if there was anything we could prepare that you like other than whats available.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We take great pride in our hotel and our staff and are thrilled when our guests take the time to recognize it! We believe in true hospitality and our goal is to exceed your expectations. Sounds like we did just that?!

David Jacobs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Good hotel but located in business park kind of area. BUsinesses (stores, restaurants) accesible driving only and not much around. Great customer service and staff. Breakfast was very good. Not too many tables for guests, but we never had a problem (stayed 2 nights).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip. We are happy that you did not have any problems with breakfast seating. Our Mallard Room does serve as an "overflow" seating area when we anticipate any large crowds.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

homewood suites is hands down the best brand hotel stay for your everyday traveler. this location maintains the bar. rooms were comfortable, staff was personable, attentive and helpful. breakfast was restaurant quality.

Room Tip: stay by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nagib F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for being a "loyal" Homewood Suites customer. The layout of our suites, having our bedrooms separated from the living rooms, lends itself to a much more comfortable hotel experience.

We appreciate your business.

David Jacobs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechanicsburg
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
0.3 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
Address: 5001 Ritter Road, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#1 Green Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite, extended stay hotel is only seven miles from downtown Harrisburg, PA with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike I-76. Enjoy being only 15 minutes from Harrisburg Amtrak and 25 minutes from Harrisburg International (MDT) Airport. Choose a one-bedroom, or two-bedroom, suite with sofa bed for extra sleeping space. Or, upgrade to a suite with a cozy fireplace or relaxing whirlpool tub for an extra calming stay. Our suites also include full kitchens (with a twin-burner stove, microwave oven, coffeemaker, dishwasher and dining table). Each suite also comes with two LCD TVs. Guests who stay at our hotel enjoy our complimentary WiFi, free, full breakfast, business center, 24-Hr Pavilion Pantry Market, complimentary beverage area, basketball court, Pro-Core Certified Fitness Center, outdoor swimming pool and billiards table.Traveling for business? Join us Monday- Thursday evening for our evening socials, beer and wine are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Homewood Suites Mechanicsburg
Homewood Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing