We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not your typical Homewood Suites” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not your typical Homewood Suites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you have ever stayed in a suite at a Residence Inn Hotel, then you will find this place very familiar. This is a fine Hotel to be sure, but the suites are not laid out or furnished like any Homewood Suites that I have ever stayed at. They are identical to every Residence Inn that I have ever stayed at however. This is not a bad thing, but in terms of quality & comfort, I generally consider Homewood Suites to be one level higher than a Residence Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 67Mopar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting the Carlisle area. We do appreciate your comments and thoughts. The layout of our suites provides french doors which separate the living room/kitchen area from the bedroom and bath. This is typically what sets Homewood Suites apart from our competitors. Later this year, we will be embarking on a 3.4 million dollar renovation; hopefully, if you return next year, our suites will be completely updated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    119
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
292
91
13
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Overall, this is a very good hotel. Nice accommodations, good staff, excellent room. Free wifi. Interesting too, I was there at the same time a very large girl dance group was there. The age group of girls that carry that very loud high vocal pitch if you know what I mean. Anyhow, to attest to the quality of the room and how quiet, I never once heard anyone/anything from within my room. Nice and quiet. lol.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review as many potential guests depend upon this site when making reservations. We do accommodate many groups, sports teams, etc, but also, we are diligent in providing a great experience for ALL our guests. We appreciate your thoughts and comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights for a dance competition in Hershey,Pa(20 min away). The staff was fantastic and the facility worked out beautifully for a long stay..big rooms with separate bedroom, kitchen and especially the complimentary breakfast, dinner and reception!They even had washer/dryers available which was important to us as we headed on to NYC(2Hrs 45 min away) from there. Would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank luvtoski2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We appreciate your comments and it was our pleasure to provide accommodations to your dance company. Obviously, the dancers were talented, but they were also so polite. We hope that if you come back to our area, you will choose our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheverly, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This property made you feel like you were home. Breakfast was great. The set-up of the property and recreational activities for the kids was perfect. Staff went above and beyond. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your great experience at our hotel. Our suites are perfect for family travel. We hope to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odon, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Clean, staff really wanted to please us, and they did. If we had a request the staff was right there and very helpful. Breakfast was very good. I really was aware until near the end of our stay that the evening reception was complementary.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Susie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review. We appreciate your comments about our Suite Start Hot Breakfast. Our Welcome Home Reception is offered every Monday through Thursday evenings from 5:30 pm - 7:30 pm. Don't forget to stop by the lodge for our warm cookies served every night at 8:30 pm. We hope to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

30+ families in our group recently traveled to Hershey for a dance competition. We stayed for 7 nights at the Homewood. The staff were more than accomadating. They provided a room for our groups annual pizza party. The breakfasts and dinners were wonderful. They even baked extra cookies the night our dances were stuck at the venue due to a tornado warning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We were thrilled to host all the "dance" families! You should all plan a return trip for a relaxing Ski Weekend. The dancers were so well behaved and obviously very talented. We should have collected autographs before you left.

Should your travels bring you back, we would be honored to be your first choice in accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Staff was knowledgeable, kind, helpful and sincere. Accommodations were comfortable, clean and stocked with everything you needed. I even enjoyed the complimentary pool noodles. Breakfast and dinners were yummy. The fresh warm cookies served with your choice of lemonade, ice tea, coffee and tea every night was a wonderful way to close your day!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank 56r0bertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! It certainly has been extremely hot, so I am sure the dip in the pool was refreshing! We hope that if your travels bring you back to our area, we will be your first choice for accommodations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechanicsburg
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
0.3 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
Address: 5001 Ritter Road, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#1 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite, extended stay hotel is only seven miles from downtown Harrisburg, PA with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike I-76. Enjoy being only 15 minutes from Harrisburg Amtrak and 25 minutes from Harrisburg International (MDT) Airport. Choose a one-bedroom, or two-bedroom, suite with sofa bed for extra sleeping space. Or, upgrade to a suite with a cozy fireplace or relaxing whirlpool tub for an extra calming stay. Our suites also include full kitchens (with a twin-burner stove, microwave oven, coffeemaker, dishwasher and dining table). Each suite also comes with two LCD TVs. Guests who stay at our hotel enjoy our complimentary WiFi, free, full breakfast, business center, 24-Hr Pavilion Pantry Market, complimentary beverage area, basketball court, Pro-Core Certified Fitness Center, outdoor swimming pool and billiards table.Traveling for business? Join us Monday- Thursday evening for our evening socials, beer and wine are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Homewood Suites Mechanicsburg
Homewood Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing