We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Surprise!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unexpected Surprise!!!”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel in early August because we were planning to visit Hershey Park and Gettysburg and it was awesome! The location was right in between the two and the accomodations were great. This was by far the best Hampton Inn we have ever stayed in. Because we are a family of 5 we stayed in a suite, which was very spacious. It was much better than having to pay for 2 rooms. The decor of the hotel was modern and very inviting. The staff was great and there was always a little snack in the lobby when we returned from our day out and about. Some days they even had a small dinner buffet out for the guests.....it was great!

The only complaint I have about the hotel is that they have an ash tray on every table in the pool area. It's hard to enjoy your swim with your family when people are smoking cigarette after cigarette. Other than that I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellegirl119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    155
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
215
122
36
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This Hampton is large & also has been newly updated in the lobby, breakfast & guest rooms. Beautifully decorated, easy checkin. It also has a lovely outdoor (vs indoor) pool area, with trees, tables, grills, etc. Additonally, there is a great sandwich place right next door, so you can walk to it from the lobby, order a sandwich, supper salad and/or soup, dessert. You don't have to hassle gettng back in the car to find supper, in case you're just not up for that or have checked in late. If you do want to drive, food places abound in the area. The hotel staff were very helpful, professional. Definately would stay here again, especially as it was the cheaper Hampton in the Harrisbury area. If you're on Rt 81, it takes about 10 min off Rt 81 to get here, b ut well worth the drive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loomis1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We spent Friday and Saturday night here for the WOO Sprint Cup Races at Williams Grove Speedway. As usual, the Hampton did not disappoint. The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful, as were the rest of the staff that we happened to cross paths with over the weekend.

The room was very clean, roomy and the bed was super comfortable. I tend to have some phobias about sleeping in hotel beds, but I never seem to have a problem with Hampton Inn beds. They always look, smell and feel super clean and comfy.The pool and gardens surrounding this hotel are very nice which provided a nice place for gathering, relaxing and chatting with family. The breakfast was your standard Hampton Inn fare with both hot and cold food, coffee all day and cookies in the afternoon.

We will definitely stay at this Hampton Inn on our next trip to Mechanicsburg.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisabenefiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is the only place we stay when we go back to the Harrisburg Area. The staff is super friendly, the rooms are great and well priced. It is just off the turnpike and a quick drive to most restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliftonduo925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Service-oriented, friendly staff. Great food selection for breakfast with beverages and snacks throughout the day. Fitness room small but good equipment. Clean comfortable room

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommaparcelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I am usually a big fan of Hampton Inn...and this hotel was another reason why I enjoy staying at Hampton.
CLEAN ROOMS! That is always the most important to me....and they passed with flying colors!
Great breakfast (though I wouldn't call it a full buffet like their description or assume it looks as full as their picture) However, it's better than those 'continental' breakfast from their competitors.
Excellent Friendly Staff!
The King suite we had was spacious and the pull out bed was already made. Not enough pillows or blankets to use, but these were brought up quickly to us. Just wish we didn't have to ask for them at each and every Hampton Inn.
My complaints: the bathroom was the tiniest I've ever been in for a suite. Not enough room for a toiletry bag yet alone a hair dryer. Bathroom was more of a powder room...very tiny for 5 people to be sharing, but would prob be ok for a single traveler.
There were no restaurants close by....which isn't a problem with the hotel, just an FYI so you eat before you check in which we did not do and had to drive around to find food.
It's very easy to get to and from Hershey without the huge HERSHEY HOTEL PRICE TAG!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahappimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We recently stayed here and it was very nice. We had our dog - only $15 for the entire stay. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was good - we are vegetarians and there were options for us. And the breakfast area worked very well - even though it was heavily used.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaK764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechanicsburg
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
8.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
Address: 4950 Ritter Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-4891
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to Harrisburg, PA, you’ll get a warm welcome, comfortable accommodation and a whole range of amenities for a great rate at the Hampton Inn® Harrisburg – West/ Mechanicsburg hotel. . Located right off the PA Turnpike, I-76, just 16 minutes from the state capital, Harrisburg, PA, this hotel puts you in easy reach of local shopping, businesses and dining. Only a 25 minute drive from the rollercoasters at Hersheypark and Hershey's Chocolate World, and 15 minutes from the slopes of Ski Roundtop, there’s plenty to keep everyone happy at this Mechanicsburg hotel. Settle in to your comfy guest room and relax with the kids in front of your HDTV while enjoying some snack from the Sweet Shop. We have complementary DVD players at the front desk, so bring along one of your favorite movies. Surf the web with free high-speed WiFi and catch up on some work at the desk. Set up your laptop on the handy lap desk and work while stretched out on the clean and fresh Hampton bed®. The in-room microwave and refrigerator means it is no trouble to fix a snack whenever you’re feeling hungry. If you’re here with the family, or just looking for a little bit of extra space, then step-up to one of our Suites which feature a plush sofa bed. Start every morning in style at this hotel near Ski Roundtop when you sit down to Hampton’s free hot breakfast buffet and waffle bar. Don’t worry if you are in a rush to get going, just grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, and a drink from our 24-hour coffee and tea bar. After a busy day, tie up any loose ends in the business center or head to the cardio fitness center for a head clearing workout. In the summer, make the most of the warm weather and swim some laps in the seasonal outdoor pool. If you are looking for a venue for your Harrisburg meeting or celebration then this hotel offers a range of flexible event space for up to 80 people. Let our friendly, professional team help make sure that your event runs without a hitch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Hampton Inn Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing