We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Terrible customer service!!”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Two of my friends and I recently visited this hotel and got nothing but dirty looks from all the staff except for one front desk woman. The day we checked in the front desk woman gave us a hard time, and even had to swipe our card to make sure we had enough on it for our stay. As soon as we got to our room, we thought it looked very nice for the price we were paying, even with a coupon, until we realized the 3 dirty wash clothes left on our shower curtain and the one left on our tv stand. Not only that but one of the days we had left, with the tv off, and came back to it on a golf channel. None of us even watch golf and nothing was cleaned (trash wan't emptied, towels weren't taken). Overall if you're looking for friendliness this is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehiner02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    82
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
78
52
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I attempted to stay at this hotel. The lobby appeared clean and was quiet. I went into our room and was imediately bothered by several dark, black handprints on the walls. There were also handprints all over the headboards of the bed. I noticed that it looked like there wasn't a mattress cover on the bed, so I looked under the sheet. No mattress cover. No pillow covers either. I called the front desk to request a room change. The second room was almost as bad. Dirty smears covered the walls and a large greenish black stain was on the curtains. The rugs were FILTHY. I was actually shocked to hear that this is a new hotel. After seeing the state of the second room, I checked out. We didn't even stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cleanismymiddlename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel for two nights while attending a conference at the Farm Show complex. The location was easy to find, though there weren't many restaurants nearby. The hotel seems fairly new. The rooms were very nice. Our room included a very comfy king size bed with a nice choice of firm or soft pillows that were labeled. We also had a pull-out sofa, microwave and mini-fridge. The breakfast each morning included hot items such as eggs and a meat as well as the traditional cold cereal, muffins and fruit. The rooms were very quiet. We found out later in our stay that there was a large group of high-schoolers staying in rooms around us, yet we never heard them. We will definitely look into staying here again for next year's conference.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crlacey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I had been slightly nervous based on the mixed reviews so I reached out to the hotel property via their Facebook page and received some reassurance from one of the employees that everything was in order. They are in the finishing stages of a renovation/expansion but there was no evidence of a construction project (noise, smells, debris) so I think it is mostly done.

Our room was basic but spacious enough and had everything you would expect in an Express brand property. The breakfast was sufficient and everything was stocked and fresh. I saw no evidence of bugs or any of the other things other people complained about, and the few people we interacted with were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShiftyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castalia, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2011

AKA holinday inn express
STAY AWAY_ POOR SERVICE_POOR MANAGEMENT BUGS
Rewards night Holiday Inn would not reimburse.Attempted to stay in 4 different rooms, DIRTY ROOMS-BUGS DEAD AND ALIVE. Wound up staying at nearby Spinghill Suites SPOTLESS ROOM.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notech1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaska, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Overall very nice place to stay. Very low price for rooms, staff attentive to guesta and nice continental breakfast in the morning. Great place to stay just off the turnpike.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seventhsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

This is a fairly new hotel. The hotel was very nice and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were large with a microwave and a mini fridge. The bathroom was rather small but fairly normal for a hotel. The room and bathroom appeared to be nice and clean. The room had a LCD TV, 26 inch I think. My only (minor) complaint here was no sleep mode on the remote. I liked the H/AC unit with a digital thermostat even though it was a tad noisy. The bed was comfy and the room was quiet. A little off the highway so no traffic noise and I didn't hear anybody in the other rooms or hallway. So far a 5 star rating. If I happen to see a bug in the room I figure things like that can happen. I killed the first stink bug I saw, then the next morning I saw two more. Since I was leaving that morning so I notified the front desk. She said they have been working with an exterminator to solve the problem but they keep coming back. I feel the hotel is trying to solve the problem an it isn't a cleanliness issue, but I can't do better than 3 stars with that being an issue. I put down that I would recommend to a friend, but I would explain the issue I had and hopefully they will solve the problem.

The indoor pool seemed nice, and the fitness room was a little larger than the normal hotel with maybe an extra treadmill or two. They have a parking garage but it appeared to be just for the handicapped. I parked outside. The breakfast a little above average for a free breakfast. Sausage, eggs, pastries, cereal, toast, fruit, and waffles. A second minor complaint was the orange juice seemed watered down. Maybe it was just an off-brand. But the breakfast room was a good size, plenty of tables, and clean.

I also used the high speed internet. It worked great.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WxProphet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
5.7 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West
Address: 2055 Technology Pkwy, Mechanicsburg, PA 17050-9403 (Formerly Comfort Suites Mechanicsburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#3 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Harrisburg West
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing