We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place - Clean, Generous Rooms, fresh decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I found this particular Holiday Inn especially nice. It was a very reasonably priced room. What I really liked was the generous size of the room. It was clean, spacious and very fresh. It was very quiet and the room we had was equipped with a microwave and coffee pots. The staff was wonderful, very service oriented. They had a free breakfast downstairs with standard fare but what set this place apart was the attention to details in terms of its decor. It just added that extra touch that was very easy to enjoy. The whole package - service, room, decor, etc. - made it all a great stay. We have family there and we'll be back to stay there, to be sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneeAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and high rating for our hotel. We greatly appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you on your next visit to the greater Mechanicsbur and Harrisburg areas.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We spent one night here when we took our kids (11, 7, 4 yrs old) to hershey park first weekend in august.
The old guy at check in was kind of a bad start. He ignored us at first then gave us a blank stare for a few seconds without saying a word like we were in the wrong place, I had to say " I would like to check in please" The rest of our stay and experience was really nice.
The two double-bed room we booked was really very large and decently decorated.
Their pool is quite small but we had it to ourselves most of the time. So, it was okay.
The offer free breakfast buffet which was okay - the regular holiday inn standard breakfast.
This hotel was a good value because it costs much less than the hotels close to hershey's and the distance was okay for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I apologize that our front desk staff was not as responsive as they should have been when you first arrived. We are continuing to work with all front desk staff to take our services to the next level. We hope you will join us again when you are in the area, and we look forward to serving you on your next visit.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed 3 nights while attending Corvette Show in Carlisle. Room and facility were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was typical fare for the chain. Didn't use pool or exercise room however pool seemed small, exercise room appeared to be well equipped. Location is easily accessible from I81. Hotel staff recommended two local restaurants, neither was fancy but both served excellent food and appeared to be quite popular with locals - always a good sign.
Hotel seemed somewhat isolated, only one of the recommended restaurants was within walking distance and that won't be the case once the restaurant/brew pub moves to a new location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We strive for a perfect stay every time and were sorry to see we fell short in your rating. The hotel is working on an updated restaurant activities guide that will provide a better variety of restuarants to choose from. The area here is under development and I believe you will see continued growth of activities. We are an easy drive to the Susquehanna River, Harrisburg, Hershey and your destination, the Carlisle Fairgrunds. We hope you will choose us for your next visit to the area and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel last night with friends. We were passing through and called to see about vacancy. They were very nice on the phone so we went over to check it out. Kathy at the front desk gave us a very reasonable room rate for the night. The room was spotless, the bed was very comfy, and we were extremely pleased. Kathy gave us perfect directions to Wal Mart and sent us to the best possible destination for food! In the morning, we left before the breakfast was supposed to be open. However, the staff was kind enough to make sure we got what we needed in the way of food/drink before leaving. An absolute A+! Will definitely stay here the next time I swing by.

Room Tip: Make sure to tell them why you are there, it may qualify you for a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wrg113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Our hotel is like new and we work hard to keep it that way. We appreciate the five start review you gave us and look forward to serving you on your next visit to the greater Mechanicsburg and Harrisburg area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We had a quick business trip & found the hotel to be quite nice.....my only complaint was that the hotel could have been a bit cleaner. Maybe it's old....I'm not sure.....but the carpet in our room was a little seedy & the floors were not real clean. On the other hand, locally we visited a Giant Supermarket which I am quite sure was not new; however, it was spotless! The floors looked brand new and it was a pleasure to shop there. My point is, if you get the right cleaning people, I believe you can keep any place immaculate! There were a couple of beer bottles on the grounds and they weren't picked up until later the following day. You get the idea. Overall, though, it was a nice hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms were a nice size....the bed was comfortable -- they could have had more "amenities.&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Linnie D,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am pleased you mentioned you found our hotel nice. We are very proud of our level of service, cleanliness and quality of our product. However, it is a disappointment that we were not able to deliver on the cleanliness of the room as well as some aspects of the surrounding areas. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I was a bit surprised to read the other reviews for this hotel, as our weekend experience was a bit disappointing. We enjoyed our large suite room, but expected to have a sleeper sofa. Fortunately at the last minute one of our teens couldn't join us, so it worked out, but we did expect to have 2 double beds and a sleeper sofa.

The hotel is located is located at the entrance to an office park, so at least on weekends, there are quiet roads and some places where you can walk/run on grassy path. The front desk staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. The indoor pool is small, so on a busy weekend with families, you may not find the pool relaxing.

We stayed on an upper floor and found the wireless signal to be weak and inconsistent. I tried using the business center to do some email checking for volunteer work and had issues with access.

The morning breakfast was disappointing, and again, perhaps it was a busy weekend, but the kitchen was struggling to supply the guests. Silverware was not kept stocked and while weekend breakfast was to be served until 10am, anyone arriving after 9am would have found limited selection. We arrived around 9 am but was not able to enjoy the typical Holiday Inn Express faire for breakfast. I do look forward to the cinnamon buns at Holiday Inns and when I asked if more would be coming out at 9:15 am, the answer was "no." The pancake maker was either broken or just covered up and not available for use.

So perhaps this was just a weekend where the staff was overwhelmed, but we did not have the same pleasant experience as the other reviewers. My spirits picked up from my cinnamon bun disappointment as we headed off to King's Gap Environmental Center, about 20 minutes away, which I recommend if in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FernePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear FernePa,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express and Suites around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our friendly staff, and our clean and comfortable rooms.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on breakfast and the business center. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Very helpful staff to get me in after a long day on the road. Rooms well done, beds comfortable. Breakfast staff did a great job. Heavy rain when we arrived so they let us park underground. Kids loved the pool. No real complaints, a good value compared to the other rooms that we looked at on line.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and our staff. We are working even now to take our guest services to the next level. We appreciate that you took time to rate our hotel and look forward to serving you on your next visit to the greater Mechanicsburg Harrisburg area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechanicsburg
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg
6.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Harrisburg Mechanicsburg
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
5.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West

Address: 2055 Technology Pkwy, Mechanicsburg, PA 17050-9403 (Formerly Comfort Suites Mechanicsburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range: £74 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Harrisburg West
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing