We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we were hoping for in our vacation stay here” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tuscaloosa, AL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not what we were hoping for in our vacation stay here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had a fairly negative experience during our stay here due to a few reasons. Reason number one for our dissatisfaction was that at booking we were told that there would be plenty of space in the room for our pack-n-play but that far from correct and I felt misled. We ended up having to put our pack-n-play (with our baby) inside the room closet due to the size of the room. The room suffered from a lack of space in general compared with the assorted other rooms we had on this vacation trip. In addition the beds were not very comfortable for any of the other three of us. The free breakfast was not up to the usual standards, it was very mediocre, which was disappointing. Plus the waffle maker was out of order during the several days we were here; that did not make our 9 yr son or us happy to say the least.
I did look into another room while it was being cleaned and we seemed to be missing part of a partition / wall that might have helped our room comfort situation. All in all not a reason was found with this HIE to make us want to return here except for the location and our housekeeper.
The housekeeper was great - so helpful and kind - and she did a wonderful job! Each and every morning upon seeing me she would come by and greet me / us in a cheerful manner. She always asked what she could do to make our stay better. This was very much appreciated and she is a real asset to this business.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reedmore13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words about our housekeeping staff. Our staff's fine services have been commended many times here on TripAdvisor. I did note your concerns about the guest room's size. Our rooms would absolutely have space for a small crib, especially one small enough that it could fit it in the closet. I would recommend that a guest traveling with a large family may wish to utilize the area in front of the seating area for their baby's comfort rather than the closet area. We also offer very large, three room suites which do have uninterrupted space for larger families. Our breakfast offerings are designated by InterContinental Hotels and we offer all the many selections that the Holiday Inn brand requires throughout the Americas. One item we do not have is a waffle maker. We are not permitted to offer waffles in any of our hotels at this time. We hope you will consider one of our other room offerings for your future stays and Holiday Inn does have some other hotels in the area with more traditional standard room set ups. Happy Travels and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    76
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
70
48
12
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, NC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Crashed here to break up a long road trip around July 4th. This place had everything I needed with good service to boot.

What I liked:
- Room was comfortable and large. I liked that I could put my kids to bed and stay up for a while with some degree of separation.
- Breakfast was provided. It was really nothing outstanding, but it served the purpose well. Several healthy choices and ample coffee is all we needed.
- Enclosed parking. This was a pleasant surprise, particularly since it was raining cats and dogs when I arrived. They had a nice (small) garage under the building with elevator service right to my floor.
- Room wasn't very expensive. Plus, I used one of those BankAmeriDeals and got 10% of what I paid back in my account. Not bad at all.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SegundoLunadeMiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

What a fantastic review !!!!! Thank you so very much. We strive for a great stay every time here at the Holiday Inn and Suites Harrisburg West. In addition to our oversized standard rooms, we also offer three increasingly larger suites. Even our smallest rooms offer two double beds, a sleeper sofa, coffee table and a desk area, plus a double closet and large, clean modern bathrooms. We appreciate hearing about your stay and hope you will say hello on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Pro: Good location to Harrisburg, Gettysburg, Hershey, etc.. Staff was courteous. The rooms were clean and spacious. The King size bed was quite comfortable. Fairly good sized fridge and a microwave was available.

Cons: Breakfast was mediocre at best. The pull out couch was horrible for an adult to sleep on, a 50 lb. child fared slightly better. To their credit, they did offer a roll away bed. The indoor pool was a tremendous disappointment, as the water was opaque and size very small. Despite it being 90 degrees out, even the children did not want to go in it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _A_Party_of_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and appreciate you noting both the pros and cons of your recent stay. Our standard rooms do offer two full sized beds and a sofa bed. The sofa bed is designed as auxiliary sleeping space as this type of bedding does not have a box spring and does work best for one child or a single adult. Our swimming pool is treated with bromine rather than chlorine. This more advanced system is better for keeping the strong chlorine odor out of the lobby, off expensive bathing suits and out of sensitive eyes. Bromine combined with the pools coloring makes the pool water appear opaque. Please be assured the pool is tested by the an independent third party each week in compliance with PA law and we check it each day for safety. If anything concerns you during your stay, please bring it to our attention so that we can provide information to you to correct the problem. Hope you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I've had consistent good experiences with HIE and this was no different. Very friendly staff, excellent atmosphere and decor, clean and comfortable rooms. It was about a 10 minute drive to downtown Harrisburg, perfect for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jstrickland987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

What a great review !!!!! Your review is a great description of the many fine features we have here at this Holiday Inn Express and around the world. Thank you for being our guest. We hope you will enjoy the many benefits of InterContinental's Rewards program as you enjoy your travels to our hotel and around the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed here in June 2013 while on our way home from NYC via Philadelphia. It is a nice, clean, newer hotel. Upon check-in, I was greeted at the front desk by two very young guys who were very helpful. We went up to our room (we had booked a suite) and found that, while it was a spacious room, there were only two beds. I had read on their website that you get two beds and a pull-out couch, which is what we needed since we are a family of 5. I went down to ask whether we had been placed into the wrong room. They told me this was a larger room than the one with the pull-out but we could either switch rooms or they could bring a roll-away bed. I opted for the roll-away since it wouldn't cost any extra and we were happy with the room we had. The one young man was at our door with the bed & linens within about 5 minutes. Wow! Then I asked for some extra towels since we only got 3. I told him "no hurry", but he was back in about 15 minutes with them. The room was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was large. There didn't seem to be a working exhaust fan for the shower, though. The breakfast was good. There is a parking garage under the hotel which is accessible by the hotel elevator and you have to use your room card to enter the garage to park. We liked this feature and felt our vehicle was secure in the garage. There was another very young man at the desk when we checked out, and he was very nice. They have done a great job hiring for the front desk! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_H64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very kind review about our staff. There is nothing like a guest's compliments to make help our staff feel even more appreciated and to continue to provide first class service. We try very hard to create a positive work environment for our staff, as our staff takes care of our guests. We hope to see you on your next tour of the area and have you say hello to the same great team on every stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here for several days with my family. Perfect location for Gettysburg, Hershey and Amish country. Easy to get around and there is a grocery store and CVS up the road that are easy to access. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were great! Breakfast was pretty good except one day they ran out of cinnamon rolls. Also, why no gravy for the biscuits? All in all, you can't go wrong staying here. Would do it again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cubfan2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice review. Our central location is great for touring many areas including Mechanicsburg, Harrisburg, Carlisle and Hershey. Even Gettysburg and Lancaster are only a short drive away. We are also very close to Route 81, yet far enough away that you will never hear road noise from the highway. We hope to see you on your next visit to the Mechanicsburg and the greater Harrisburg markets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We've stayed here three times now and it's always a comfortable and pleasant stay. The staff are welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Love that they have guest laundry - we've arrived on motorcycles after rainy travel and needed to dry out...more than once!, and it's very nice to have that available on-site. The public areas and breakfast area are always clean. Breakfast foods are always well-stocked. We visit the area once a year and this is our hotel every time. The only drawback to the location is the lack of restaurants within walking distance, but there are many really good options only a short drive away - check out Center Street Grille for a great family place, and Chalit's for excellent Thai.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. When a repeat guest experiences a fine stay each time, we know our efforts are succeeding and just in case you ever experience a problem we are here to correct it as early as possible. Best regards and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechanicsburg
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Harrisburg Mechanicsburg
5.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg
5.7 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West
Address: 2055 Technology Parkway, Mechanicsburg, PA 17050 (Formerly Comfort Suites Mechanicsburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Harrisburg West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing