We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice out of the way Holiday Inn Express in West Harrisburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel before. It is a Holiday Inn Express located not too far from Harrisburg in the west side of the river. I was going to stay at the Crowne Plaza, very close to my appointment, but the 18.00 fee to park was a deal breaker. This hotel was only 7 miles from the Crowne Plaza, so I stayed here. The hotel was very clean and updated. My room had a king size bed and the only minor complaints in the room were the lack of electrical outlets near the bed. I hate having to pull the night table out and decide, do I want the clock or a bed side light. Not a deal breaker for the future, but the lights don't have the outlets in them like some hotels do.
The TV worked well, but there was minimal light in the bathroom. I don't put makeup on, so again, that is not a deal breaker.
The typical Holiday Inn Express breakfast was good and can't find fault with it considering it's free. There was variety and that is all that counts.
I would go back to this hotel while traveling in the Harrisburg, PA area in the future.
I was not greeted as a Platinum member. No big deal.

Room Tip: There are not any restaurants nearby. You'll have to travel between 2 and 7 miles or more to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TBRD113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed two nights at this hotel while traveling to Mechanicsburg on business. The staff were extremely polite and attentive, and there are many amenities that seem to cater to business travelers. Rooms are clean and bed is adequate, breakfast was nice with some hot breakfast options. The hotel is located by a hospital / medical campus, and there is a lovely loop path which passes the hotel, medical buildings, and loops through the forest. Nice for an evening walk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisAndCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a very good stay here at the Holiday Inn Express in Mechanicsburg, PA.
Pros:
1. Wonderful Breakfast staff-"Daniela" even went so far as to ask what we liked! She made every effort to please. Customer service A++!
2. Indoor pool-good for me and my 4 year old, however, see below in Cons.
3. Rooms very clean! I am a little crazy about this one, so am very happy to report the rooms are very clean.
Cons:
1. While the rooms are very clean, I think the mattress was needing replacement. There was a big sag on my side of the bed, which would make sense as that was the side where most people would sit to watch TV.
2. Pool was great, however, was very cloudy, so I think the pool needs some TLC. Ph adjustment I think? I was worried I would have a hard time seeing if my son was in trouble.
3. Business center was not up to expectations. I needed to print directions and there was only one computer which was hooked up to the printer. All computers should have this ability. Front staff too busy to assist, which is understandable as it was around checkout time for other guests. There should be someone they can call for issues like this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherF9732014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed here for four nights in June during a business trip and was glad to find govt. rate and no pets on site. Room was large and comfortable with a sofa, desk, king sized bed, fridge, microwave and large flat screen TV. Breakfast was good, especially the cinnamon rolls and bacon. Hotel staff were very attentive, offering recommendations for dinner, and plates/utensils when we brought our dinner in one evening and ate in the breakfast area. Bathroom was a bit on the small side, but fine. I'll definitely stay here again if I return to the area.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

While visiting friends in the Carlisle area we were unimpressed with the hotel/motel choices near the town so broadened our search and found this Holiday Inn Express closer to Harrisburg. The grounds are neatly kept and the hotel room was clean and comfortable. Their breakfast was a bit better than average but their room price was a bit higher than average.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

During recent travels we had the chance to stay at this Holiday Inn Express just outside Harrisburg, PA. We were traveling back to upstate New York after a family reunion in Florida. I guess we had hoped for more from our stay. Things seemed adequate, but that's about it. The room was okay, but warn. The carpet wasn't clean, the bed mattress was on the hard side, etc. The breakfast in the morning was busy, which is okay, but the food choices were limited, or not available, as they were having some troubles with things like the pancake maker. The juice, especially the apple juice was watered down. Managed a bowl of Quaker oatmeal, an orange juice and coffee. In the end it was all okay, but I wouldn't go out of my way to stay there again. Their are better places in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ge0iii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear ge0iii,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

As isbreakfast nstant theme in my reviews I am very temperature sensitive. Strike 1, the common areas were hot. The lobby, the breakfast area, the hallways. All hot. I walk into my room, and the AC was not on so it was hot. Luckily I was just dropping off my bags, freshening up, and going to dinner so I turned on the AC and headed out.

Got back 4 hours later, and it was cooler, but still a bit sad considering I set it on 60. The room didn't get truly cool until about 3 in the morning.

Overall, though, the room were nicely decorated and comfortable. Basic toiletries. Basic furniture. One gripe, the electrical outlets in the lamp were useless for my phone charger because the lamp bulges out taking up too much space. Kind of annoying. Then the other plug in the outlet didn't work so I had to plug the alarm clock and my C-PAP into the lamp and leave my phone charging on the desk across the room.

The mattress was rather stiff and old. The pillows were great. They had soft and firm marked. One firm was good.

The AC unit's fan had a rather loud rattle, which was annoying. Luckily it was constant so it basically became white noise and didn't disrupt my sleep. If it had been random I would have been calling the front desk.

The breakfast was pretty good. Sausage, biscuits, eggs, breads, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee. Fresh, clean, and well kept.

Overall, a nice property, but they just need to make sure that their guests don't walk from hot outside to hot inside. That's annoying. Also, don't forget about the small stuff.

We only stayed here because the Courtyard was booked, and this stay didn't change my mind on that.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benny231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Benny231,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret the issues you had surrounding our cooling system. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will address these to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechanicsburg
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Harrisburg Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
6.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West

Address: 2055 Technology Pkwy, Mechanicsburg, PA 17050-9403 (Formerly Comfort Suites Mechanicsburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#3 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range: £83 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Harrisburg West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing