We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial Crossroads B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colonial Crossroads B&B
Certificate of Excellence
arlington, va
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

I spent just one night here during an overnight visit to friends in the area. This is a lovely bed and breakfast. It is decorated in the colonial style, in keeping with the building's history. The common rooms and my room were immaculate, warm, cozy, and inviting. My room was large, with a fireplace and an ensuite bathroom containing a large whirlpool tub. The owners are friendly, but also respectful of privacy. Barb graciously accommodated my dietary needs at breakfast (her homemade granola and baked oatmeal are great!). I highly recommend the Colonial Crossroads, and I will certainly stay there again when I return to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaofva_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    17
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
77
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jordan, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

this was our first stop on a belated honeymoon. The room was neat and comfortable, the fireplace gave the room a romantic feel. Breakfast was great and we set off on the rest of our trip well rested and pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

From the moment you pull up to the house you feel at home. We stayed for our wedding anniversary and were pleasantly surprised with a beautiful yellow rose in our room. Barb immediately made us feel welcomed with a tour of the house. Our room was beautifully decorated with period pieces. For breakfast we had the most awesome blueberry baked oatmeal. We are hoping to visit again in the future!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Ed and Barb (and their adorable dog, Flash) were extremely accommodating and hospitable for us. The place is beautiful, comfortable, and homey; the food is delicious; and the price is quite reasonable. I would highly recommend Colonial Crossroads to anyone who is looking for a relaxing getaway. They made us feel at home and pampered. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We selected Colonial Crossroads for an anniversary getaway weekend and had a lovely stay. When we got to our room, Barb had a rose and a congratulatory note waiting for us. Being that there are fewer rooms, our stay had a more personalized feeling to it. The house was beautifully furnished with period antiques but with all modern amenities. It's also very convenient and close to many attractions & other destinations. When we pulled in, I was a bit worried because it was right next to a busier intersection. But it was totally a non-issue....the house was quiet, we slept wonderfully and breakfast was delicious. Recommended!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Colonial Crossroads was such a pleasant stay. The innkeepers have created a welcoming inn that is cozy and classy as well. Barbara accommodated my husband's need for a gluten-free meal--certainly above and beyond our expectations!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I have been to many bed & breakfasts & I must say Colonial Crossroads was amazing on every level! It has such an old world true colonial charm. The room we had was very spacious and super clean!! Barbara was delightful & made us feel right at home. Her blueberry oatmeal breakfast was to die for!! The home is also conveniently located to Gettysburg. We had no trouble driving to and from. This trip was definitely worth it; we had such a blast and will for sure be returning!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbleeker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechanicsburg
2.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
2.8 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS New Cumberland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Crossroads B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Crossroads B&B

Property: Colonial Crossroads B&B
Address: 2600 S. Market St., Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Crossroads Bed and Breakfast is located in Mechanicsburg, PA in a building built circa 1790 as a tavern at the crossroads of two busy early roads. It offers three rooms with private bathrooms that have wide plank floors, fireplaces and many antiques, and yet, have all the modern amenities, including whirlpool baths/large shower with seat, flat screen cable televisions and central ac. Breakfasts are served in a dining room with a walkin fireplace and a guillotine corner hutch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Colonial Crossroads B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing