We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B & B Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial Crossroads B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B & B Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently visited the Colonial Crossroads Bed and Breakfast and had a wonderful experience. The innkeepers were very welcoming and accommodating. They were very excited to share the history of their beautiful home. The rooms were spotless,cozy, and comfortable; the food was scrumptious. We have visited alot of B&Bs and this was one of the best. However our visit was too short, so we definitely will be returning to explore nearby areas like Carlise and Gettysburg. Thanks again for a memorable experience,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    17
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
77
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sawyer, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were visiting Gettysburg, and Barb was very helpful with her recommendations. We loved the hot tub and Learning about all the history of the area. I would say the only down side was that trucks were noisy in the morning

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York Haven, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Recently returned from our stay at Colonial Crossroads B&B. We cannot say enough good things about them. The inn is lovely and full of history. As soon as we arrived the owner shared with us some of the history and during our stay pointed out things about the inn that were of historical significance. They bent over backwards to make us feel at home! We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the York Room which had an electric fireplace and a large whirlpool tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for New Years Eve and it was just wonderful! Barb was so nice and accommodating! A great mix of modern amenities (loved the hot tub!) and rustic touches. Plus we wanted to ski and it was less than 10 minutes away from Roundtop mountain! Great location. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Ed and Barb are genteel and generous people and their home is lovely--indeed, magical at Christmas time when there are so many Christmas decorations around. They have beautifully restored the house which is well more than 200 years old yet it has lots of good lighting, heat, and amenities. Great location and terrific stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We spent the weekend there with friends. It was our second visit. The first time was pleasant.

This time, it was clear that we weren't welcome. It was frankly awkward to spend time in the common space. The proprietor was rude to my wife. As a result, I can't recommend it.

The location was nice if you plan on only sleeping there. We won't ever be back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank tangollama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCROSSROADS, Owner at Colonial Crossroads B&B, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
The group's visit was very different this year! When they arrived they refused a review of our facility and just took over the place. They used our personal bathroom. They rearranged everything in our common areas-we still are unable to find some items we had on display. But most importantly, they took it upon themselves to turn on our gas fire log after we had retired for the night, which we NEVER allow guests to do! When we came downstairs in the morning, it was sweltering since they never turned it off and it burned all night. Not only did they waste a great deal of gas, but they put our 220 year old home in jeopardy of burning down!!!!
Of course we spoke to the group after breakfast and the reviewer's wife, after a time, told us she had turned it on. Of course she felt uncomfortable. Guests are responsible for their behavior!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Had to be in the area for business but decided to make it a two night getaway for my fiance and I. My philosophy when business trips like this come up is to stay at a typically more appealing B&B instead of a "sterile" hotel chain and for this trip I wasn't sorry. This history of this historic home was interesting to read about and the architecture was pleasant if you appreciate Colonial America...the mind wanders and you wonder if perhaps Ben Franklin himself once stayed there ... perhaps he even had a pint there when it was a pub. Speaking of Pubs, about 2 or 3 miles away is an awesome Pub/Restaurant that had over 15 beers on tap and a large variety of microbrews and specialties. The only negative part of the stay was a situation with the bed and I hopefully was helpful in advising the owner how to remedy that issue.

Room Tip: Considering the house is 200+ yrs old and naturally "creaky," if you are into that type of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerT359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
2.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
2.8 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#12 of 13 in Mechanicsburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Crossroads B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Crossroads B&B

Property: Colonial Crossroads B&B
Address: 2600 S. Market St., Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Crossroads Bed and Breakfast is located in Mechanicsburg, PA in a building built circa 1790 as a tavern at the crossroads of two busy early roads. It offers three rooms with private bathrooms that have wide plank floors, fireplaces and many antiques, and yet, have all the modern amenities, including whirlpool baths/large shower with seat, flat screen cable televisions and central ac. Breakfasts are served in a dining room with a walkin fireplace and a guillotine corner hutch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Colonial Crossroads B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing