We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
east coast
Level Contributor
375 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on way home after visit to Grand Canyon of pa and Williamsport. Girl at front desk during check in on 4 12 about 10pm was awesome. Room seemed clean and comfortable. My only complain was a bit noisy. Fridge, pipes for water etc. whenever anyone ran water it clicked loudly and sounded like people in room next to us were showering in our room along with toilet flushes. Other than that everything good

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank foodfancierEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    64
    30
    25
    14
See reviews for
117
26
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Country Inn is about halfway between an Econolodge and and an Embassy Suites. This one seems typical--it's clean and comfortable enough, with a bare-bones free breakfast e.g., (inedible powdered eggs, decent oatmeal, great coffee). When we walked in, there was a less than enthusiastic person behind the desk who robotically checked us in. Efficient, but it felt like a motel experience. The room was decorated in a spartan manner, more like a prison cell than a suite, but it was clean enough and the bed was nice and firm. But we got a rude awakening the next morning (a Saturday) at 5:58 when the guest in the next room took a shower. The water sound was so loud in our room that it was like a fire alarm going off. Just brutal at that hour -- and for 20 minutes! We never made it back to sleep.

Then there was the price issue. I responded to an email special for an $82 suite but when I tried to book it, the system told me sorry, we've sold all the $82 suites. Would you reserve it for $89? Whatever. It's still cheaper than the mid-level alternatives, but why piss off your customers for seven bucks? Charge what you quote and people don't ding you on tripadvisor.

At least they have a pool and whirlpool, I thought. Except when we got there, a sign said that all that was closed for repairs. Funny the email ad never mentioned that.

This brand has potential, I think, but maybe little annoyances like these are the reason that the Country Inn in my hometown of Hershey was just sold to Hilton. The sign no longer says "Country" but "Hampton."

Eliminate all the stuff your guests hate and we'll come back. The next time in the Mechanicsburg area, we'll probably make another choice. It will be well worth the extra $20.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. Your comments were forwarded to the hotel management for review to ensure each issue is addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend to attend the Great Outdoors Sportsman Show. After we got home my husband realized he had left his two coats, one black leather and one ski coat in the closet. I called the hotel to ask if anyone had turned the coats into lost and found and they flat out told me that no other patron had rented that room and the only people that had been in this room since we checked out were the hotel staff (housekeeping). So, I asked them to double check the room and they still claimed they did not find them. I know for a fact that these coats were in the closet as they weren't worn the whole time and were not in any of our luggage. I am positive someone that works at this hotel is being very dishonest and I would hope that their manager would handle this accordingly. If you decide to stay, and forget a personal belonging don't expect to get it back. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, online customer support at Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best service even after they have left the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I've book a reservation through hotels.com a couple of days ago. I called to see if they received the reservation. When I called I was greeted by a rude guy that told me " you have the wrong hotel and I'm not hotels.com." I told him I just wanted to check to see if they received the reservation and he didn't have to give me sass. He hung up on me. I called back and asked to speak to the general manager and he told me didn't you just get the voice mail?
I'm just in disbelief wooooow. I just had a simply question. And everything just went left. FYI if you don't like your job sir get another one. I didn't want to believe the distasteful reviews on trip advisor but wow. Lesson learned.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TayHollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best service. To discuss your concern further, please contact Corporate Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Rooms are very clean, service comes with a smile and prices are very reasonable. I Good place to stay in the area. You'll need a car to get around. Many good restaurants close by and on Carlisle Pike. If you don't like the restaurant chains, there is fancier fare to be had in downtown Harrisburg. 15 minutes from the Airport make it perfect for business travel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_Ott0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I've been staying at this place many times over the last year for business. Rooms are very clean, service comes with a smile and prices are very reasonable. If you need it extra quiet, get a room facing the parking lot and hills. The suites are also very nice but face the highway. Thus suites are a good deal for most but if you are extra noise sensitive than this is not your option. Good place to stay in the area. You'll need a car to get around. Many good restaurants close by and on Carlisle Pike. If you don't like the restaurant chains, there is fancier fare to be had in downtown Harrisburg. 15 minutes from the Airport make it perfect for business travel. Overall I can recommend it to any budget conscious yet discerning traveller.

Room Tip: If you need it extra quiet, get a room facing the parking lot and hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tackholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRANGER
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We spent two nights here during a busy time when people are bringing their kids to college. The second night when there were only two of us, we were able to get a handicapped accessible room since I am in a wheelchair due to a leg injury. The management made sure this would work the second night and had the room cleaned asap from the previous night. Both nights the rooms were clean and comfortable, although the first night we had an adjoining connection and their TV was audible in our room - why we hate adjoining rooms. The bathroom the second night was spacious and wonderful to be able to use in a wheelchair, and the detachable shower head made my life incredibly easier. Until you are disabled, you don't understand how difficult it is to travel and how valuable handicapped accessible rooms are! The breakfast has plenty of good choices and the hot items were different both mornings. Perhaps the only downside is the small lobby sitting area because the breakfast area (which is also quite small) was kept closed. Overall, we had a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBee46530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West

Property: Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
Address: 4943 Gettysburg Road, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055 (Formerly Centerstone Inn & Suites Mechanicsburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located between Hershey, Gettysburg & Carlisle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Harrisburg-West
Country Inn & Suites Harrisburg-West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Country Inn Mechanicsburg
Country Inn Harrisburg West
Mechanicsburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing