We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not handle mold in the air conditioner well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Did not handle mold in the air conditioner well”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times. It is generally fine but this trip by sinuses were really bothering me, which usually happens when there is an air quality issue. I turned off my AC wall unit and say huge pieces of mold growing on the piece that turns to push the air out. I took pictures and showed the people at the front desk. The woman said she was sorry and would have it cleaned right away. She asked if there was anything she could do for me. I said "I don't know - can you do anything for me?" She responded that she could give me some Marriott points. I agreed, but she did not follow through. Disappointing.

Room Tip: There is a quiet side - ask for it they know because of the interstate. Make sure the air vent is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristine G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for your response, and I just want to take the time to apologize for the troubles you experienced. We value you as a guest, and as always, we want you to feel like this is your home away from home. Please rest assured that mold, or any other AC issues are not a common occurrence here. We did offer and award you Marriott Rewards points for this instance, and these points were awarded on 7/27/2012 – these points will appear under “other” in your Marriott Rewards account. Furthermore, we did have our maintenance team immediately look at the room and clean everything accordingly. We have since checked every room in the hotel to ensure that no other guests would encounter such a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    95
    36
    15
    6
See reviews for
138
50
16
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean, staff was friendly and room was comfortable. When I had an issue, not related to the hotel, managment went above and beyond in helping me solve the problem very quickly. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandlapper1852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristine G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you so much for you kind words. We want all of our guests to feel comfortable and welcomed while staying with us! We were so happy to accommodate you and your family during your reunion; we hope that you will visit us again next year. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is the third year in a row that our softball team has stayed here and Christy (the sales manager) and the rest of the staff always go above and beyond to ensure we are comfortable and have everything we need. The rooms are very spacious and clean, the breakfast is hot and delicious, and the outdoor grill and lobby area are perfect for team gatherings. When you travel all over the country for softball as we do, you can really appreciate a high quality, service-oriented hotel experience like this. This hotel is simply outstanding in every way. We wouldn't stay anywhere else for PA softball!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VASoftballMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
We know sometimes we are your home-away-from-home, so we do our best to make each person's stay as comfortable as possible. We really enjoy hosting your team each year and are so happy everyone leaves happy after the tournament concludes. It's always a pleasure working with you and meeting the team. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southington, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our 14U softball team stayed here for the 4th of July tournament and had a great experience. The staff was very accomodating, organized and helpful. The Sales Manager (Christy) was very helpful up front in scheduling the hotels rooms and ensuring that we had everything that we needed. The hotel rooms were clean, breakfast was included in the price of the hotel stay. The staff organized areas for all of the softball teams in attendence for meetings and dinners which helped with planning and keeping control of the crowds (there were 4 other softball teams in attendence during our stay). The location was close to the softball fields, shopping and many restaurants. Our team will definately be back here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleB772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. PA Softball is one of our largest area partnerships so I am thrilled to hear your team had a positive experience at our hotel. I am also happyyou enjoyed our amenities such as breakfast, team gathering space, and more. We look forward to seeing your team in Mechancisburg again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

BOOK THIS HOTEL!! Attending a soccer tournament, a block of rooms was placed. The staff (all levels) interacted with our girl and were very helpful and polite. The hotel was very clean and appropriately staffed. The sales manager (Christy) and front desk staff were accommodating and true professionals. The amneities and grounds well kept. Variety of food was good. The rooms were quiet and clean. Our girls appreciated the staff asking how their tournament day went also. That personal touch goes a long way. The experience was wonderful and we highly recommend this hotel and plan to return again and again!

Room Tip: Block out time for a conference room and/or grill space ahead of time for meals or gatherings. Mana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
We pride ourselves on staff services, so it is excellent to hear you and your team had a positive experience here. Thank you for your kind words and I hope to host your team next year. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Team has stayed here for each of the last 3 Summers... Great location, friendly staff, great breakfast buffet. Large, quiet rooms, Doubles have firm queen size beds. You can't go wrong here... If there is availabilty -- book it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WealthFinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
We have been hosting PA Softball teams for 6 years now and we truly value the partnership, so it is wonderful to hear you had such a positive experience at our property. I appreciate you sharing your feedback and look forward to hosting your team for a 4th time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick Township, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Booked a large block of rooms for a soccer tournament. Hotel was farther away then we would have liked but others were booked. We were nervous because we had not stayed at this location before. SO GLAD WE DID!
VERY CLEAN rooms, great breakfast buffet offered and EXTREMELY polite and helpful staff from top to bottom. NEVER ONCE did any of us feel like we were out-of-place or bothering staff. NEVER ONCE did a request of ours get met with anything but a smile and some help.
VERY QUIET rooms too! No outside noise from highways was heard....nice!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your experience and points of view to other travelers. Your team was a pleasure to host and we look forward to seeing you again next year. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
0.2 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg

Property: Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Address: 4921 Gettysburg Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-4816
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#4 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West is located just off Route 15 less than a mile from I-76 (PA Turnpike) and minutes from I-81 and I-83 and is the newest Marriott on the West Shore of Harrisburg. We are a short drive to Central PA's best recreation and shopping venues such as HersheyPark, Roundtop Mountain Resort, Twin Ponds West / Cheer Tyme and the Hershey, Gettysburg and Lancaster Outlets. Our hotel is only miles from the PA State Capital and centrally located to Hershey, Gettysburg, Lancaster, and York. The Courtyard by Marriott is just minutes from the Rossmoyne Business Park, Select Medical, Highmark, Versatile and Rite Aid. Check out our seasonal packages for excellent leisure getaways! For our Canadian travelers, we are a perfect stopping point to break-up the trip to Florida and points South. Our hotel is designed for the business traveler, but certainly welcoming for a leisure getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Courtyard
Mechanicsburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing