We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel Night's Sleep!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Best Hotel Night's Sleep!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend swim meet at nearby Cumberland Valley High School. It was immaculate! We travel for many overnight and weekend meets during the year and truly, we had the most comfortable night's sleep ever! Beds and pillows were exceptionally comfortable and we could not get over how quiet it was. The ventilation system is incredibly quiet. One side of the hotel does face the highway but I requested the opposite side and experienced no road noise. There is not a lot near the hotel so I would not recommend it as a place to "sight see" but it is awesome if you have a destination purpose nearby. We will always stay here when our travels take us back to Cumberland Valley for a swim meet!

Room Tip: Back side of hotel away from the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
We truly appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel and your recent stay. It was our pleasure to provide you and your daughter an enjoyable stay as you visited nearby Cumberland Valley High School for your swim meet. Hopefully we will have an opportunity to accommodate you and your family again in the future. Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    88
    33
    15
    6
See reviews for
132
45
14
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were in Pennsylvania under unpleasant circumstances (the funeral for my Mom), and stayed at this Courtyard hotel for three days. Since we really like Courtyard/Marriott facilities, it was
very easy to pick this one since it was close to Camp Hill where the funeral was to be held. I was not in this area of Pennsylvania for about 15 years and people at this hotel were not only professional but also very kind and very helpful. Everyone, from the front desk to the ladies who cared for our room, were extremely nice.
The room itself was very clean, very comfortable and presented us with the opportunity to relax and feel at home while there. The beds were very comfortable and, believe me, we were in need of rest when we got back to our room each day during the preparations for the funeral.
The bottom line is that this facility was perfect in every way possible.
We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BILL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csczypta, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words Bill P! We pride ourselves on being friendly and helpful to all of our guests and It pleases me to hear that the staff made your stay so enjoyable during a stressful time. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Central Pennsylvania are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night for a business trip and the hotel was very clean, the staff was extremely friendly, good breakfast (but it wasn't complementary) and it was close to the customer. I'd definitely stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for the second year in a row for a hockey tournament.
The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating.
The all-day self service coffee bar is great and the afternoon cookies were a hit with the kids. I also liked the complementary breakfast buffet.
There is local entertainment and restaurants close by. All in all a great value!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perfectday19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your kind words about your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure welcoming your team back to our property for the second year and enjoyed having you with us for your hockey tournament. We look forward to hosting you again for your next event! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I stayed in a suite on Christmas Eve. The room was clean and quiet. There was plenty of space and a cozy bedroom. The staff was very polite and friendly. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the side of the hotel that does not face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myangel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csczypta, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
So glad to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay here at the Courtyard!! Being comfortable is one of our main goals here at the hotel as well as having a friendly staff. Glad that you were able to have a great experience with both the amentities of the hotel as well as the staff. See you on the next trip to the Central PA area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard Harrisburg West for one night in December 2013 for a business trip. First off, the hotel is in a bit of a strange area. While the Hampton down the street is in a business park, the Courtyard sits between a dairy processing facility and a residential neighborhood. Other than leading to a funny parking lot configuration, this didn't impact the quality of my stay.

The hotel and rooms are clean. The bathroom was a little bit on the small side, but is consistent with 1990s vintage Courtyard property designs. The room was nicely appointed with an LCD TV, which swiveled to be viewable from the bed. The bed was comfortable and soft, so I had no complaints there.

The quality that leads me to rank the Courtyard as average was the proximity to the highway. Upon checking in, I asked for a room facing away from the highway. The attendant at the desk informed me that the hotel was sold out for the night and that my room had been assigned on the highway side and there there was nothing she could do. It was a little bit of an odd answer for a traveler with a high loyalty status who was arriving shortly after check-in time, but I won't split hairs. (She also neglected to provide me with a breakfast voucher, which is one of the loyalty perks at my level, but again, not a big deal).

The reviews on TripAdvisor are fully accurate regarding the noise level facing the highway. Even with the drapes closed, the hum and roar of traffic was omnipresent. I slept with a white noise app on my phone running all night to drown out the sound, which was a fairly successful strategy. I'd recommend being very, very weary of getting stuck in a room on the highway side if you're a light sleeper or need a silent room to be comfortable.

If I'm in the area again, I'd have no issue staying at the property a second time-- but I will definitely bring the white noise app!

Room Tip: Highway side is very noisy, particularly on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csczypta, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you ohjb for your feedback. We know that the road noise can be an issue for some of our guests and try to assign rooms to those that request rooms facing our courtyard. Unfortunately, that does not always work out as we are limited on the number of rooms that we have on the backside of the hotel. We do have whitenoise machines built into the alarm clocks in every room on our highway side of the hotel for future reference so that you will not have to use the app on your phone. I am glad to hear everything else was great during your stay! Look forward to seeing you again on a future trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is an older Courtyard. They don't have the coffee shop, a bar, or the touchscreens. The staff makes up for the failings. The night staff took great care of me when I left for work at the navy yard at 0'dark thirty every morning. After the first few nights, they had acclimated to my schedule and had coffee ready at 3am for me. They were very helpful and I will return after my next tour.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csczypta, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Glad to hear JohnP that the night staff did such a wonderful job making sure everything you needed was taken care of. Most often at that hour, the staff go unnoticed with no one really complimenting them. It 's with great pleasure to hear that they knocked it out of the park for you! Hope to see you again on a future trip to the Central PA area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg

Property: Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Address: 4921 Gettysburg Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-4816
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#4 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West is located just off Route 15 less than a mile from I-76 (PA Turnpike) and minutes from I-81 and I-83 and is the newest Marriott on the West Shore of Harrisburg. We are a short drive to Central PA's best recreation and shopping venues such as HersheyPark, Roundtop Mountain Resort, Twin Ponds West / Cheer Tyme and the Hershey, Gettysburg and Lancaster Outlets. Our hotel is only miles from the PA State Capital and centrally located to Hershey, Gettysburg, Lancaster, and York. The Courtyard by Marriott is just minutes from the Rossmoyne Business Park, Select Medical, Highmark, Versatile and Rite Aid. Check out our seasonal packages for excellent leisure getaways! For our Canadian travelers, we are a perfect stopping point to break-up the trip to Florida and points South. Our hotel is designed for the business traveler, but certainly welcoming for a leisure getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Courtyard
Mechanicsburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing