We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellant”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was my first time staying at this hotel. and although there's nothing scenic about the view, the hotel is located right off of the highway. 15S and nestled in the commercial district. this hotel is GEM! It's clean. spacious business center. Free breakfast and very friendly staff. If you need to be in the Mechanicsburg or Harrisburg area and you're looking for a great hotel for a decent price...look no further than the Courtyard Marriott West.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the kitchen. If not you will wake up to the smell of bacon cooking and you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csczypta, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Zeta R, Thank you for your review!!!! We think our hotel is a GEM as well and truly appreciate that you thought of it that way. The hotel staff go out of their way to make sure all guests are happy. It pleases me so much to hear that you found my staff very friendly. We look forward to seeing you again on a future trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    97
    36
    15
    6
See reviews for
140
53
16
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I recently stayed at another Courtyard in the area that had been updated with the modernized lobby. This is a traditional Courtyard without the new lobby amenities, and definitely a step down from the "refreshed" Courtyard version.

However, I stopped here mainly for the location near the Pa. Turnpike entrance, and the location was a key plus for my travel plans.

Pros and cons for the hotel based on my experience are these:

PROS
- good location for traveling on the Pa. Turnpike in the Harrisburg area;
- clean and well-maintained guest room;
- comfortable bed, but a bit on the soft side for my taste;
- good television and wi-fi;
- no significant noise issues.
CONS
- poly-cotton bedding found at most Courtyards; pillows not great either;
- no full length mirror in room;
- no complimentary breakfast.

At another Marriott Courtyard in the area, they offered free cookies in the lobby near the beverage area. At this Courtyard I asked about the free cookies and heard that management was cutting back on its complimentary cookie program. This seems penny-wise and pound-foolish, since this is an amenity that customers could have on their radar after a long journey.

Overall, this hotel suited my travel needs and price point. If you want to spend a bit more, there are other options nearby that offer complimentary hot breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csczypta, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you cj878 for your comments and feedback. I truly appreicated the pros and cons list. They can be very helpful for future travelers but I wanted to make sure you were aware of just a few things that might have been missed on this trip for you:

We do have a full length mirror which is located in the closet area of the room.
We also offer complimentary cookies on certain nights of the week. We made this change from 7 days a week because some of our guests commented they would have rather had something in the morning while they are on their way to work so we added cereal bars to those days of the week.

Again, your feeback is most appreciated and we hope that you will return to the hotel on a future trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patchogue, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stay at many hotels and found this one to be very good.

Clean, excellent service, nice room, up to date.
Bathroom was very clean.
Staff was very helpful and pleasant as usual.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csczypta, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you bbg57 oj your most recent review of the hotel. It appears that we were able to make your stay enjoyable. Which is always our primary goal. Please visit us again while in the Central, PA are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, VA
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel was nice, rooms were nice and spacious, staff was really friendly and the complementary breakfast was excellent. The only qualm I had was with the cooling system. The A/C is not great and seems to go off and on throughout the night with the sound of running water ever-present. If you are a heavy sleeper, this is the place for you. Overall though, it was good and we would probably go back if we had the need to be in that area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csczypta, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you Andy M for taking the time to review the hotel on your most recent visit. It's wonderful to hear that you thought most everything was great!!! I will tell you that we are about to start a renovation in October that will include upgrading some of the AC units. I am not sure if they will make less noise but that it our hope. Again, thank you for the review and look forward to having you stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I only stayed for 1 night on business so it's a bit hard to judge and comment. The rooms are standard Courtyard and slightly renovated. Bed was comfortable. TV reception was good quality and HD.

Hotel staff was very friendly and since the lobby hasn't been renovated yet (to the new Courtyard style), you can get free coffee all day and night. If I come back to the area, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Seth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csczypta, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Seth D, thank you for leaving a great review for the hotel. We recently upgraded our TV selection to HD and included many more channel options at the same time. We have not had alot of feedback on this so your remarks in your review were great to hear. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to having you at the hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to this hotel on business and will not be my last. The rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. There is also plenty of room amd tables available in the lobby for working with coworkers or just by yourself. And there is always ample parking. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Charlietuna76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csczypta, General Manager at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you Charlietuna76 we appreciate your wonderful feedback!!! I will share your kind words with the staff as they love hearing that we make our guests happy. Look forward to seeing you again on a future trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC Metro
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Best hotel stay ever with a young family. Beds & pillows are ultra comfortable, like I want to buy one for myself. Rooms are spacious. Refrigerator is quiet (didn't even know it was there). The staff went out of its way to make our kids and young baseball team feel truly welcome and appreciated at the property - they didn't just tolerate us and smile. I was very impressed how they dealt with groups of nine year old boys and all the things that come with that. Staff had helpful tips on the area and Hershey. Free reliable wireless. Breakfast is good. Highly recommend this property for either business (during week) or personal on weekend. It's only about 25 mins from Hershey Park.

Room Tip: Liked third floor nobody on top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingPonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Wow! Thank you very much for taking time to write such a glowing review of our property! Hosting your baseball team was such a pleasure, and we hope to see you if you find yourselves in Central PA again. Best wishes with the rest of your season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg

Property: Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Address: 4921 Gettysburg Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-4816
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#4 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West is located just off Route 15 less than a mile from I-76 (PA Turnpike) and minutes from I-81 and I-83 and is the newest Marriott on the West Shore of Harrisburg. We are a short drive to Central PA's best recreation and shopping venues such as HersheyPark, Roundtop Mountain Resort, Twin Ponds West / Cheer Tyme and the Hershey, Gettysburg and Lancaster Outlets. Our hotel is only miles from the PA State Capital and centrally located to Hershey, Gettysburg, Lancaster, and York. The Courtyard by Marriott is just minutes from the Rossmoyne Business Park, Select Medical, Highmark, Versatile and Rite Aid. Check out our seasonal packages for excellent leisure getaways! For our Canadian travelers, we are a perfect stopping point to break-up the trip to Florida and points South. Our hotel is designed for the business traveler, but certainly welcoming for a leisure getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Courtyard
Mechanicsburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing