We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in good location”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here 3 nights in June. Found this place very comfortable as they were completing renovations but didn’t effect us at all. Rooms were of good size, good WiFi and quiet with good beds. Very comfortable stay with a good selection of eating places both within walking distance and a short drive for others. Was clean, professionally run and very helpful staff. Breakfast was OK. Would love to have seen more fresh in season fruit.
I wouldn’t hesitate at staying here again for the price paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    48
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
36
23
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were part of a group - The Bandit Run 2014
I was surprised at how nice this hotel actually was. The room was clean. They were able to handle the large group that sold old the hotel for the two nights we were there.
Breakfast was decent and was replenished quickly so everyone was able to enjoy it. They set up extra tables in the breakfast area to accommodate our large group.
The staff was VERY friendly. We arrived late and the lady at the desk made sure to give us our "gift bag" for the run.
Close enough to the fairgrounds...and a nice drive if taking the local streets instead of the highway.
Overall, it was a very nice stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
194 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Of the Comfort Inns where I have stayed, this one was better than the average. The room, with one king bed, was spacious. If it had two beds, it may have felt a bit tight. As is true with most Comfort Inns, the room was plain but functional. Everything was clean and the maid did a good job each night on the fourth floor cleaning up and putting things in order. The shower head was a little low for very tall people, but it provided hot water almost immediately.

The elevator was the one place that needed to be cleaned. There was no evidence of it having been cleaned in some time.

Breakfast was typical Comfort Inn level and it was included with the price of the room. They offered cereal, pastries, fruit, breads, a couple of hot items, make-your-own waffles, beverages and similar items.

If you are a jogger, there is a large development behind the nearby Volvo dealer where it is easy to run. It is much safer than running on Carlisle Pike which lacks sidewalks.

P.S. Try the nearby Black and Bleu restaurant.

Room Tip: My room faced the street, but noise was not a problem. If you are a very light sleeper, you might as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newengland50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear newengland50,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review of out hotel from your stay with us this past May. I was very pleased to hear that your overall stay was positive and that you would consider us to be above average within the Comfort Inn family of hotels. Again, I certainly appreciate your feedback as we are looking for more ways to improve our overall business operations.

Sincerely,

James Gordon
General Manager
Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West

P.S. Yes, I agree with you...Black and Bleu is a hidden gem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

driving home from fla...we stopped at 7pm...had driven 600 miles that day and I was pooped....Jeff checked us in and he was AWESOME!!! he was so helpful...we checked into one room and really wasn't a good fit...my husband is disabled and it just wouldn't work...he was totally fine with that and changed to the 2nd floor - right by the elevator!!! was great!!! The bed was sooooo great and we both had a great nights sleep!!!! had a problem with the fridge and microwave and jeff came and took care of it....well we thought he did...didn't know till the next am the fridge didn't work....and had to throw out our leftovers...oj from fla...and husbands meds...wasn't happy with that...but could happen anywhere..they gave us a $25.00 reduction in our rate....decided to have our family reunion there over the summer!!!!

Room Tip: check out the room first...and make sure the fridge and microwave work ..and make sure the distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear caudia f,

I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review during your recent visit to our hotel this past month. I was also very pleased to hear that Jeff took such great care of you, and that he was so attentive and responsive during your stay. He takes great pride in his work effort and will be very proud after reading this wonderful review. I would also like to apologize for the inconvenience of having the refrigerator stop working, but also want to thank you for your understanding and patience! We are honored that, because of your positive experience with us, that you have selected our hotel to host your upcoming family reunion. We all look forward to seeing your family here later this summer.

Sincerely,

James Gordon
General Manager
Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamokin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I got a great rate on this room. It recently went renovations. This hotel offers a lot for the price. The free breakfast was awesome. Waffles, eggs, sausage, bagels, and anything else you could want. There is an outdoor pool for summer time. There is a walk way attaching it to buffalo wild wings so you can just walk right over. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. If you get a good deal on it I wouldn't hesitate to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mibar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear mibar4,

I want to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be such an affordable option during your visit to the Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg area. Our team members take great pride in their work and they will be very happy to hear that you found our hotel to be very clean and comfortable. Once our conversion to Holiday Inn Express is complete (estimated August 2014), we will be proud to offer our guest even more upgraded services and amenities. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

James Gordon
General Manager
717.790.0924
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osprey, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Still a mixed bag, but at least some of the rooms and the lobby/breakfast area are fixed up. Parking is a fair walk from the front desk even when only partly occupied because of the odd layout of parking in the rear, front desk up front. If the place was full, it would be a long walk across the scrubby parking lot to check in! There are still stacks of building supplies in the parking lot over a year since they started remodeling. 1st floor/lobby looks lots better, as does the breakfast area.. Still, the property seems worn down even after the facelift. Only very partly occupied this month; still apparently not that popular. The pool area is at least finished, though it looks pretty stark. Maybe they'll add chairs and tables when it's opened? Hardly any staff visible, but that's not a surprise if it's not getting much traffic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnAceBuyer_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear AnAceBuyer_007,

Thank you for returning to our hotel and posting another review of our hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you have a more favorable image of our hotel since your previous visit. I hope that you will be pleased to hear that the recent delivery of building supplies you noticed in our parking lot is the beginning of "phase 2" of our renovations. These renovations will include complete bathroom upgrades, new fitness room equipment and other finishing touches throughout the building. We compete, we will be converting the hotel to a Holiday Inn Express this summer. I hope that you will be returning once more to see the "finished" product! Thank you again for being such a loyal customer!

Sincerely,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

On my way home to NY from NC I arrived at this property @ 7pm, exhausted & hungry -- I also wanted a Pinot Noir.
Justin was working the desk and after he swiftly & courteously checked me in, he clued me in on how to turn into the Olive Garden restaurant -- I would have passed the entrance and had to turn around w/o his help. The last thing I wanted was to have to drive anymore than I needed to.
Upon my return, I was delighted in my room, the shower was a joy and this will now be my stopover hotel on my bi-monthly trips from NC to NY.
Thanks, Justin, you're the best ... and so is this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginniem756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Ginniem756,

Thank you for taking the time out of you busy schedule to write such a nice review of our hotel, especially in regards to the serviced you received from Justin. I was very proud to hear that he checked you into the hotel very promptly and that he was able to easily navigate you to the Olive Garden.......(yes, it can very confusing to enter if you are not familiar with the entrance!) I was also pleased to hear that you were quite pleased with you room. I look forward to meeting you during your next visit with us!

Sincerely,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West
3.5 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mechanicsburg-Harrisburg
3.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg
Address: 6325 Carlisle Pike, Mechanicsburg, PA 17050-2309 (Formerly Comfort Inn West)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg, a Mechanicsburg hotel near Harrisburg and popular Hershey attractions.The Comfort Inn(R) Mechanicsburg/Carlisle is conveniently located on Route 11, just six miles west of Harrisburg, the state capital, and seven miles east of Carlisle. This Mechanicsburg, PA hotel is minutes from the U.S. Army War College, Naval Support Activity Mechanicsburg, Dickinson College, Dickinson School of Law, Messiah College, the New Cumberland Army Depot, part of the Defense Distribution Depot Susquehanna, and the famous Carlisle Car Show. The Harrisburg International Airport is 12 miles away. More than 20 restaurants are located within one mile of the hotel. Additional area attractions include the Pennsylvania Dutch Country in Lancaster County, Hershey's Chocolate World and Gettysburg National Military Park. Hotel amenities and features include: •Free high-speed Internet access •Free local calls •Free morning newspaper •Free 24-hour coffee •Exercise room Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Carlisle the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including pancakes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing