We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Media B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2013

my husband and I were travelling to Philly and decided to stay here, based on the good reviews. i must say - believe the hype about this place, people!!! when we pulled up, the house is absolutely stunning. it looked like something out of a Better Home & Gardens magazine. then when we walked in, Judy greeted us right away by name. that alone is incredible and made our experience feel very personal - like we were family visiting from out of town. she is a lovely person and was attentive to every need! then she showed us to our room, which was the Grand Master Suite. my immediate reaction made her laugh - i couldn't stop squealing like a 5 year old girl in a candy store. this room and this B&B are worth EVERY PENNY. every single hard-earned shiny penny. the grand master suite is HUGE, beautiful, comfortable. the walk in shower and bathroom with a bidet is enormous (and i'm a huge fan of bathrooms). the room includes everything you could want or need. the king size bed was SO comfortable, and the furniture was gorgeous. the bathroom was fully stocked with care - including everything from q-tips, to soap, shampoo, body wash, lotion, loofahs, toothpaste, a Keurig (!!), cups, extra towels, plenty of shelves to put your things. I did not ever want to leave that room!! the next morning, we went to the dining room, which is where you are served your breakfast and drinks on a beautiful wood/tree table. Roland asked us what we wanted for breakfast, and he made it, right there, from scratch. the homemade cinnamon french toast was absolutely delicious! my husband had the homemade waffles. Roland is also wonderful, personable, and both him and Judy are obviously hard workers, love their jobs and their visitors, and deserve only the HIGHEST praise for their bed & breakfast. I simply cannot recommend this B&B enough. -oh and a side-note - they also have 2 dogs, a black lab named Clyde and a terrier mix named Abbey. What a sweet amount of charm to add to this already pristine and picture-perfect abode! my husband and I thank you from the bottom of our hearts, Judy & Roland. we will never ever forget your service, hospitality, food, and personalities. thank you for making this past weekend absolutely memorable!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: the Grand Master Suite is a bit higher in price but worth EVERY PENNY!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discordia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

we stay in b & b's several times a year. we were very pleased with alpenhof. the decor is eclectic. the stenciling in the heidi room where we stayed was beautiful. the water pressure in the shower was tremendous. at breakfast we were served a bowl of fresh cut up fruit and homemade cinnamon buns and then asked to place an order for eggs, omelet, pancakes, french toast, waffles. it was all delicious. there is a nice pool behind the house with beautiful landscaping. we visited longwood garden which was about 30 minutes away and was an impressive destination, don't miss the light and fountain show after dark. we would highly recommend this b & b.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelers06063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This is not just a B&B: it is far more! Roland and Judy made their own best to make me feel at home. Let's talk about breakfast (and what a breakfast... for me it was a discover of the american genuine taste) which was a la carte and cooked just in time. French toasts, blueberry pancake, waffles, eggs any style, sausages, bacon, muffins, cakes and much more, always with fresh fruit and everything you could ever desire at breakfast.
Rooms are simply amazing, each of them uniquely furnitured and with any comfort.
This is a place that is run with love and you can be sure that once there you won't consider any other place around Philly

Room Tip: Ask for Heidi room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkingAboutWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights in May 2012. Excellent accomodations, fantastic breakfasts, incredibly friendly hosts and staff. We were a long ways from home but would definitley stay here again, because Judy and Roland made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Enough cannot be said of the grace and warmth with which Roland and Judy treat their guests. Judy's baking and Roland's skills with the breakfast menu would be sufficient for an excellent rating but you add the lively breakfast conversations and it puts this B&B&G over the top.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 46doryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

While visiting grandson at Swarthmore we stayed at the Alpenhof which is 10 minutes from the college and in an idyllic setting just outside Media, Pa. Owners very attentive and full breakfast included. Room ( Master Suite) spacious and quiet for a B&B. Very popular so make reservations early.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tattiedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights while looking colleges in the area. Location was great for Bryn Mawr/Haverford/Swarthmore cluster. Drive to UPenn took a little longer (45 minutes) but was quite straightforward.

Judy and Roland were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were great. We made the reservations on short notice so there wasn't a room available for both days. Changing rooms was a piece of cake. We left our packed bags in Roland's Room and returned to find everything moved to Heidi's Room. Both rooms were lovely and very comfortable.

Breakfast both days was fantastic - starting with fresh fruit and muffins or scones, I was enjoying a delicious warm muffin when Judy asked me what else I'd liked and offered to make eggs or omelet or pancakes or ... I recommend the cinnamon raisin french toast (with real maple syrup). It was exactly the boost we needed to make it through a day of peppy college tour guides and enthusiastic admission officers.

I know exactly where I'll be staying should my daughter end up in the Philadelphia area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Media
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Springfield
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Newtown Square Radnor
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Media
Quality Inn Media
#2 of 2 in Media
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Inn at Swarthmore
The Inn at Swarthmore
#1 of 1 in Swarthmore
66 reviews
7 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
7.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2001 N Ridley Creek Rd, Media, PA 19063-1924
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Media
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Media
Price Range: £105 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing