We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but nice”
Review of Tyler Arboretum

Tyler Arboretum
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Media
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Not the easiest place to get to as it is definitely not on any major route, but worth the trip. Probably better for families as the focus is certainly on kids and making things fun for them. We went in August when little was blooming except some wildflowers because we wanted to go to the butterfly house which is only open in July and August. This would probably be more interesting in the spring or fall for blooms or autumn color.

Be prepared to walk as there is no transportation within the park. Some pathways are hilly, but even my old knees made it. We did not attempt any of the longer hiking trails as it was too hot the day we went. Bring a lunch if you plan to stay all day. They only sell snacks at the visitor center -- crackers, granola bars, etc.

The butterfly house was nice, but not as nice as others we have been to in other parts of the country, The space is small and the variety of butterflies was not great. Mostly monarchs and swallowtails with two or three other species, as well. We've been to other butterfly houses that have literally hundreds or thousands of butterflies, but this place had maybe a few dozen at most.

Overall good visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank serenitywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    30
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Make the effort to go here”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Want here for a hike and to enjoy the trees that we read were here. What a surprise to find so much more! Lots of things for all ages and for young children. Tree houses, hammocks, trees, flowering bushes and lots of paved and unpaved trails all around to explore.
Was worth the drive from NJ which was a breeze.
Staff very informative and the offerings many!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank outdoorgirlnj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
2,018 reviews
1,159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,287 helpful votes
“Guaranteed enjoyment, good family hiking.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a great place for family with children but persons of all ages are likely to have a good time here. One can easily enjoy several hours of strolling, visiting various lovely nooks, tree-houses, exploring the mansion, library and the butterfly house. The tree collection is impressive and there are many truly beautiful plants. Large portion of the arboretum is handicap accessible. For us it is the hiking trails that are the biggest attraction here, over 20 miles of them! you can combine them or walk one at a time hiking through beautiful forest, meadows, hopping over the streams.
Visiting the Painter Mansion and the 19c fireproof library provides your Tyler Arboretum experience with a history lover fix.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallingford pa
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great low key family spot”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Tyler arboretum is a lovely place to spend an afternoon with the family. Picnic tables are available and the tree houses are a blast Great place for little kids. the butterfly house is lovely and the trails are a great place to walk. nature trails are very pretty. summer camps are available that provide an educational experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Treehouse exhibits enjoyed by all”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Kids 13, 10, and 3 all enjoyed it. Nice way to spend the afternoon with the family. There is a fee to enter but I recently saw a living social deal for 2 adults and 3 children that looked very good. Hoping to send my youngest to camp there next summer!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Selgrade-Palomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tyler Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Tyler Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing