We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mendenhall
Certificate of Excellence
State College
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed just recently for a visit to Longwood Gardens for the Christmas display. Hotel is very accomodating with clean rooms, a good breakfast and an excellent location. The attached restaurant is excellent. The "packages" offered for local attractions are a very good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    88
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
45
110
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Inn for one night and had a beautiful room. Clean can't describe the room or the hotel in general. Everything was spotless. Had, as part of the price of the room, an awesome breakfast in their small dining room. Omlet was prepared to order along with a greaat buffet selection. Went to the Longwood Gardens for the afternoon and early evening and returned and went to dinner in their restuarant next door. Amazing food, exceptional service.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone and in fact I have done so last week,

Room Tip: any room on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My wife and I spent an impromptu night at the Mendenhall. Dan at the front desk was exceptionally welcoming and helpful during our check-in. The room was clean, comfortable and well-appointed. We decided to go next door and dine at the restaurant for dinner. The food was spectacular and the service was wonderful. The next morning we had breakfast and enjoyed the omelet bar. So the problem came after check-out. My wife left an expensive pair of prescription glasses in the room. We were sure she left because she had them after breakfast. When we called, the staff reported nothing found. When we called a few days later the same answer was given. So although everything else was great we were disheartened by the loss of her glasses. So I have very mixed feelings on what would have been an exceptional evening out.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed here for one night on business. Nice hotel~historic feel. Nicely decorated. Didn't feel like your standard Comfort Suites/Quality Inn even though they are from the same company. Flat screen tv, refrigerator, microwave and easy access wireless in the room. First time I ever saw a chef in a breakfast room that made omlettes to order! A nice surprise! ........ Went to Longwood Gardens, which is about 2 miles away and if you are not familiar with LG, check it out and spend a few hours there. They are open year round and it is absolutely BEAUTIFUL. Longwood Gardens is a GEM and is absolutely lovely. There is a lot of walking involved, but there are wheelchairs and electric scooters that are available for rental. We had dinner at the Mendenall Restaurant on the Mendenhall Inn property. Nice tablecloth service and a nice menu. Everything we had was good. Our room key card had discounts for the restaurant so read the fine print on that. And, you can byob at the restaurant even though they have a bar~strange but true. The MH restaurant has a small tavern area with bar food plus you can order off the dinner menu. Keep your eyes open for their half price specials. Overall, this was a nice stay in a nice hotel. No pool but that wasn't important to me.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milsboro, de
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We attended a wedding reception at the Mendenhall Inn. We also stayed overnight. The wedding reception was excellent - delicious food and first class service. The hotel accomodations were perfect. I would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

getaway.
The Brandywine Valley Roma package (196.00 + tax) is a terrific way to try out the Inn at Mendenhall Restaurant and Hotel.
Check in was a breeze and the clerk was very friendly explaining our package and how to use our dinner coupon.
Our 2nd floor, non-smoking room was small, cozy and spotless. The king bed was beautifully made and so comfy. We had a wooded view and our windows opened to about 8 inches. A flat screen TV, refrigerator and small microwave are standard and nice additions.
We walked across the lot to the restaurant and were greeted warmly by the hosts and seated promptly. The restaurant is wonderfully romantic, with soft music and a low light ambience hard to find anymore. I loved seeing the women (and men) dressed for dinner with jewels and dresses or pant suits, leaving the flip flops and jeans (appropiately) for the TGI's and Applebees.
Our waiter, Andy, was informative and friendly with a fine humor and a good knowledge of what he was serving. We were started with a warm ciabatta roll and a sampler plate which incuded two each, clams casino (delicious), extra large peeled steamed shrimp (perfect), oysters rockefeller (perfect), two crabbed stuffed mushrooms (tepid but tasty) and various olives and pickles. My husband had the Grilled Salmon (cooked perfectly) and I had the Prime Rib (again, just perfect), fingerling potatoes and asparagus spears. The desserts choices were fabulous and we opted for the mousse cake.
We both had a glass or two of the house merlot and white wine (Cabot Canyon).
Our bill was 130.00. We had to pay the tax and tip as the dinner was included in the package.
Back at the hotel we were greeted by Sandy the evening desk clerk and he was interesting and friendly making sure we were comfortable and happy with our stay and answering our questions about the area and the Inn. He gave us some great ideas for our next visit and we thought him an exceptionally helpful (we could tell he liked his job).
Our full breakfast the next morning was also included in our package was tasty (the scrambled eggs were great!) and had everything needed for a full breakfast including waffles and an omelet station for your made to order omelets.
It was a romantic evening at a great price with good food and wonderful accomodations. We'll be back....................................

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familyjoool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The hotel itself was quite clean and well-decorated. When we arrived, the employee checked us in, took my credit card for incidentals and even directed us to the elevator, but failed to mention that there was no electricity throughout the property. When we got to our room, our keys didn't work so I went back down. Instead of giving me new keys, she needed to come up to verify I was using them right. After waiting to get new keys, we finally got into our room. When we went in, we realized there was no power. I expressed my frustration that the hotel could have notified us in advance of our arrival. She claimed she had no contact information for me. We asked for candles or flashlights and they said they couldn't provide anything. Unfortunately, we had prepaid for this hotel and they were not willing to refund our money or help us since we had booked the room through a third-party. Lesson learned! Book hotels directly irregardless of the $$$ saved!

The free breakfast was quite basic since they had no power, but they had gone out and brought back Duncan Donuts coffee and donuts. They also had a hot plate where they were making custom omelets which was a nice touch.

When we checked out, they could not print a receipt, but promised they would email it. I left my email address but never received the receipt from the property.

Room Tip: It is a step up from the typical Comfort Inns, but more so in the decor in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendenhall
2.9 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
362 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
585 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 323 Route 52 (Kennett Pike), Mendenhall, PA 19357
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mendenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mendenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing