We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mendenhall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2008

The hotel is situated close (5-7 min drive) to Longwood gardens and Kenneth Square and it was the main reason why I stayed there. It has plenty of free parking and is in a very quiet area.

The breakfast was pretty good, everything fresh and nice variety.
There is a free internet connection in the rooms (not wireless) which is handy.

In overall the lobby and the rooms are nicely decorated (though a bit outdated).

The thing that ruined the experience for me was a used soap with the previous guest hair left in the shower.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ab2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2007

Upon first arrival it looked like a nice place. After traveling several hours by plane and getting checked in at 9:00 p.m., I was a bit disappointed to find the restaurant and lounge had closed. There are no vending machines at the Mendenhall, only the mini-bar in the room. Therefore, I settled for the complimentary bottle of water and crackers I saved from the plane.

My room was in the detached section across the lot from the front desk. The step up into the room took some getting used to, but in this part of the country, I suppose it was purposely put there to add "character". The room was a bit outdated and in need of maintenance. When I pulled back the covers, I could see the fibers from the box spring because the cover had pulled apart, the door rattled at the slightest change in air pressure, the toilet would run about once every hour and in the morning, I discovered the plumbing for showerhead was loose and easily comes out of the wall. Mind you, these are all things that housekeeping should be able to easily identify and report.

On to breakfast. The variety of food was very good and so was the quality, but the highlight of my stay was dinner. The restaurant was very nice. I had a peppercorn fillet, lobster soup and a very tasty desert, all very high quality.

For me, the Mendenhall could be a much more pleasant place to stay if it were maintained properly and had more options for food and drink.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We stayed here for three nights on business in early August. The location is fantastic; Longwood Gardens, the Brandywine River Museum, and Brandywine Battlefield are only minutes away. The staff was helpful and professional. Our room, in the building attached to the restaurant ,was perfectly adequate. The step up into the room was a little funky, but we got used to it without tripping. The access to the elevator for that building was also kind of cramped, but we had no problem after we got our luggage in on the bell cart. Refrigerators are not included, but can be rented for $5 per day.

You get hot snacks and a round of wine or beer in the tavern at the "managers reception" every afternoon, but after that, the drink prices are pretty high. The tavern itself is great, with rustic decor and comfortable chairs.

The high point is the breakfast, included in the rate. A chef is on hand to make omelets, and there are scrambled eggs, delicious potatoes, and a couple of meats (including great sausages).

The only real drawback is that they do not have a pool.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Zaphod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2007

I stayed 2 nights at the Mendenhall for a wedding and was content but not impressed. The decor and furnishings were dated and could have used some sprucing up. The linens were not too comfortable and the carpet was musty. Also, I noticed cracks in the wall/celing in the bathroom and main area of the room. The tv was older and some channels did not come in very well. Overall, it was average.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachy2883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2007

The Mendenhall Inn deserves its No. 1 rating. I doubt that there is a better hotel within 20 miles.

We stayed at the Mendenhall for three nights. The staff were perfectly attentive to any needs. The restaurant was very nice quality and the food was well prepared and presented.

There are often bus tour groups staying at the hotel, so beware of tourist class groups.

All in all, we found the Mendenhall to be a great place for a home base for touring and antique shopping in the Kennett Square-Mendenhall-Chadds Ford area. I would gladly stay there again and would recommend to friends without reservation.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank Peabody1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2004

We were in the Presidential Suite and I can not rave enough about it. Waking up at 6am, my husband had a headache and we did not have any tylenol. Called down to the desk and within minutes we had medication. The room was very spacious and had a jacuzzi in the bedroom. Highly recommend!

1  Thank CamisMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pedir cuartos en el edificio principal, parece que es mejor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angeline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendenhall
3.0 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
387 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
615 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 323 Route 52, Mendenhall, PA 19357
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mendenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mendenhall
Price Range: £112 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing