We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mendenhall
Certificate of Excellence
Gmabrills
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice change!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We usually stay on the Wilmington DE. side of the attractions we love to visit but this time decided to change it up some as rates were higher(most likely due to schools beginning in that area)at a hotel we truly like in WIlmington. Inn at Mendenhall was a great find! Mid week quiet, very very clean, since it was not full staff assigned rooms every other down the halls which was considerate.Towels were of good quality. Had not been in a hotel that gave you excess real drink glasses or mugs in sometime!Even the morning coffee selection was better than average! Free breakfast was more that the usual fare with not only small pancakes but also waffles that were 4 to a serving(small nice!).The staff were really swell, helpful. THere is a very good restaurant on sight which was quite busy with local people but we choice to go elsewhere. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    89
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
45
112
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Follansbee, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Read the reviews and stayed here after a visit to Longwood Gardens. The property itself was lovely, very clean and nicely decorated. The included breakfast buffet was the most complete we've seen in a while: Belgian waffles, eggs, bagels, pancakes and the usual cold offerings. Nice outside tables squeezed in too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

First and foremost it's in the Brandywine valley area near Chaddsford and Kenneth Square which means all the great attractions including gardens, estates and museums. The Inn is a beautiful property fitting of the location and adjacent to the restaurant "Inn at Mendenhall" so be careful that they are separate facilities sharing a parking lot. The Inn is very clean and well appointed. The continental breakfast is excellent with pancakes, waffles and hot cereal on top of scrambled eggs, hash browns and sausage. The service was great, we asked many questions about the area and made many requests from housekeeping that were all cheerfully taken care. The price was more reasonable than the other hotels in the area so it was a great value.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor are away from the conference rooms and breakfast service areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wonderful experience. Our room was perfect and the bed was really comfortable with soft pillows. Quality standards. Great variety of choices for our breakfast which was included. Staff was very friendly. Our stay included dinner at adjoining restaurant and the food was fantasic. Our table was very romantic and the staff was friendly and helpful. The snapper soup was amazing!! We had a great weekend. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Inn is very convenient for visiting Winterthur Museum and Longwood Gardens. The reasonable price includes breakfast and wi-fi. Did not try the restaurant--there are many in the area. Easy check-in and out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We recently spent 5 nights at the Inn at Mendenhall and had a wonderful stay. One of the desk clerks, a gentleman named Sandy, was very helpful with restaurant advice, directions around the area, and so forth. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Our room was quite nice and had a refrigerator and microwave. The shower was fantastic.

Breakfast is complimentary and included the typical "make your own" waffles and pancakes as well as biscuits, sausage gravy, eggs (powdered scrambled eggs and the one breakfast offering which was definitely not very good), sausage, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, bagels, bread for toasting, English muffins, juice, coffee, and tea (with nice teas like Bigelow teabags and not just cheap, no-name bags).

There is a restaurant on-site (which serves dinner and Sunday brunch), but we did not eat there. I did look at the menu -- entrees were fairly expensive.

There is a lovely garden area off to the side of the front entrance -- several tables and chairs and hanging baskets of flowers around. It was a really nice space to sit and read. We had wine there one evening.

The hotel is on Route 52 and very convenient to Chadd's Ford, PA as well as Wilmington, DE. Winterthur, the historic home and gardens of the Dupont family, is less than 10 miles straight down the road from the hotel and Wilmington is only a few miles past that.

We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again and definitely would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeLoveToTravel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have stayed here several times over the years. Although the interior hallways are showing
some wear...everything is very clean.
Bonus points for one of the best beds...soft sheets and lots of soft, squishy pillows. Not the foam "rocks" you tend to get in some hotels.
Terrific shower, also.
Decent breakfast...plenty of the staples. I would have liked some sort of fresh pastry but there
were lots of healthier options provided. Darn...
We have always been pleased with how quiet the rooms are, but have usually been here
when the hotel is is only about a third full.
The dinner at the Inn was delicious, as usual.
All the staff we encounter were very friendly.

Love the convenient location to Longwood Gardens. We always spend the night after a concert rather make the one hour drive home.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 81Kay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendenhall
2.9 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
367 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
594 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 323 Route 52 (Kennett Pike), Mendenhall, PA 19357
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mendenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mendenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing