We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring a mask...”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mercer Raceway Park
Ranked #7 of 10 things to do in Mercer
Attraction details
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bring a mask...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I visited here one time. I will never go back. You might like it, but I did not. There was so much dust/dirt/noise...granted - where it's a raceway park. It was not for me. I would strongly recommend a mask for an inexperienced visitor. I wish someone would have recommended it to me before I went...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimSpringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    1
    1
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knox, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go for Broke”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My fiance loves the races. We go to tracks at Lernerville and Sharon. We also go to this track on occasion. I have been dissapointed everytime i have been here. This has got to be the worst track in NW PA. Lets first start with the outrageous price to get in to the place. I call it outrageous because, it is less expensive to get in to the better tracks in this area. We are always greated by obnoxiously loud music that actually hurts your ears. Not because its too loud, it just honestly sounds like crap. Oh well, lets go find our seat. So we pick a seat that later becomes surrounded by people with their 3 ft coolers of beer whom will later be screaming profanitys regardless of how many children are sitting next to you. Well, we might as well go get something to eat. After spending the amount of what it would cost for a nice family dinner at Applebee's on cafeteria burgers, cold fries and a drink, we get back to our seats to watch endless caution flags and the car on the pole almost consistently winning the race by a huge margin. As we are leaving we stop to look at some of the merchandise. 70 dollars for two hoodies. I am not a cheap skate but, when I look at the hoodies and the makers name has been crossed out (apparently factory rejects) and you can tell the cheapness of the material, I know I am somewhere that is more concerned with robbing you than providing you with an entertaining evening. I am not against paying for high priced fair or race food or merchandise for a fun night with the family or my lovely fiance but, atleast most places make an honest attempt of making it worth it. Do yourself a favor and think of something else to drop $100 bucks on with your family on a Saturday night. This place is the trash heap of racetracks in NW Pennsylvania.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mranthony71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Beware - Deceptive Business Practices”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I was a semi-regular visitor to this race track on Saturday nights. It certainly isn't the most exciting dirt track in PA but I found it entertaining enough. They have a loyalty program in which they say if you go to seven races the next is free. I amassed 6 punches last year and was told tonight I have to start over for this season! NO THANKS - IF THAT IS HOW YOU TREAT REPEAT CUSTOMERS YOU DON'T NEED ANOTHER PENNY FROM ME AND MY FRIENDS!!! There was no mention of year on the punch card. Quite frankly I think they are breaking the law with this practice. There are better tracks to spend your hard earned money at...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChettheJet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Saturday Night Boredom”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

If there is anything at all you can think of to do on a Saturday night that would be more exciting, like watching paint dry or de-fleaing your neighbor's dog, do it. The loud and dirty experience of dirt-track racing, clearly a dying sport due to high cost and limited spectator interest and inaffordability, make for an unpleasant, at best, night out at "the Park". The staff at Mercer Raceway Park do an ernest and credible job of making the experience as palatable as possible, but in the end, you're looking at five hours of left turns and mind-numbing repetitive racing laps that are very often interrupted by a miriad of fender benders, crashes and long delays. The concession stand is resonably-priced racetrack fare that will feed you and your family on the cheap, but if you're looking for filet mignon, you'll need to go elsewhere. There are a few interesting race rivalries and some colorful drivers that call MRP their home, but all in all, spending a much quieter Saturday night at home listenting to Uncle Max show pictures of his painful Korean War injuries might be the better choice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffWimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercer Raceway Park also viewed

 

Been to Mercer Raceway Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing