We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Skiing Near DC, Lots of Families”

Whitetail Mountain Resort
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
All Day Virginia Wine Tour from DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winter resort features one of the region's longest half pipes in addition to 19 trails, snowboard park and night skiing every evening.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Decent Skiing Near DC, Lots of Families”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Whitetail is an easy, nearly all interstate highway (1.5 hour) drive from D.C. The mountain is located in a dry county, however, so don't expect a slope-side beer or cocktail. This trait also draws a lot of kids and families. The line for the green slope can be a bit long, but if you stick to the express lift to the more difficult runs on the back of the mountain there are never any long lines. If you are looking for libations, turn left out of the resort and follow the road to historic Mercersburg, PA. On the square there are several fun pubs with great atmospheres and food. It's a 10 minute drive from the slope.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aussiesig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    44
    32
    3
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place to ski; close to DC/Annapolis”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The lift operators and ski shop personnel are super friendly and helpful. Wait time during the week is excellent --- there is no wait time. However, the day we went there the main lift broke down…was okay if you got up and stayed on the far side for the day, but once you came back, the skiing was limited to beginner trails…not so good.
I enjoy Whitetail for the most part as there are enough challenging runs to make the drive worthwhile. Conditions vary, of course, but we recently had great packed, groomed slopes…grooming is excellent.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renee Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient to DC area”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This place is busy during the weekends as it is so close and convenient to DC, Baltimore and Northern VA skiers. The lines were a little slow, but in all honesty it was the first 'warm' day since December. I think the skiing and rentals are a little on the pricey side considering there really are only 3 slopes to go down if you're a novice. Other than that, it's a great place to start your skiing experience. The lift operators were friendly and helpful. The ski equipment workers were not the most efficient as there were lines and they were just standing there talking (not taking the next person in line). There definitely wasn't enough locker rentals either as people were taking their chances and putting their gear on top of the lockers.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place ever”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I've had a great experience in Whitetail, They have really friendly Lift Operators and Instructors. They will help you with whatever you need. The slopes are also great for beginners and advanced skiers and Snowboarders. I recommend Whitetail to every family and Winter sports fan. I'm planing to come back really soon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Renato S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good for a Day Trip”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I just had my first outing to Whitetail and was pleasantly surprised. Considering that its only a 2 hour drive from the DC area, and a 8 hour lift ticket is 70 bucks, it's a pretty good deal. On the weekend I went, we just had 8 inches of snow, so my guess is that I had abnormally good skiing conditions. The wait time for the lift at the base of the mountain was a bit long- maybe 10 minutes, but the lift fat mid-mountain was moving pretty quickly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitetail Mountain Resort also viewed

 
Mercersburg, PA

Been to Whitetail Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing