We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in a lovely setting”

Longswamp Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mertztown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Longswamp Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mertztown B&B and Inns
USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gem in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This B & B is a delightful spot to stay any time of year. We most recently visited in the winter, and it was lovely, but when the gardens are in bloom, the grounds are gorgeous. A glass of wine on the terrace is a must in nice weather. There are a couple of out buildings in addition to the lovely main building, all beautifully maintained. The rooms are comfortable, well-decorated and spotless. The Inkeepers are friendly and knowledgeable about all local attractions, but not intrusive. And the breakfasts are great!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BongaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Once upon a time an overworked and exhausted mom and dad booked a weekend at Longswamp, looking to rejuvenate. Joanne and John took care of every detail - breakfasts to die for (tasty fresh fruit in January!?! - yum!), massages, directions to church, and tasty dinner recommendations. This story has a happy ending. The mom and dad went hope restored, rested, and looking forward to a return trip! Treat yourself and book a weekend here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stopped at Longswamp on our way home to NYC from VA. We stayed in the Cottage, it was rustic but quiet, comfortable, well equipped (we enjoyed the fireplace!) and immaculately clean! We stay at B&B’s frequently, many pretend to be foofy or upscale, but are dirty and dusty under the bed. Not here!
JoAnn served us a great breakfast with fresh baked banana bread, a bowl of fresh fruit and a crunchy French Toast that was delicious. I have to add that we are a same-sex couple and we felt very welcomed here. Not always the case at some B&B’s. The Innkeepers could not have been more friendly or helpful. They made reservations for us at a fantastic local restaurant and had pre-printed directions to local wineries. They don’t advertise “gay friendly” but they are certainly our new friends. We will be back and we highly recommend this place!
Thom and James
NYC

Room Tip: Cottage and Barn Suite offer the most privacy....and have TV's!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom NYC a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We recently moved one of our parents to the Diakon Home in Topton, PA, during the Christmas holidays. During the week long process we stayed at the nearby Longswamp Bed and Breakfast because they were recommended. We stayed in the Lower Cottage. It was perfect for us- lots of room, kitchenette, amenities and a fireplace! Our accommodation was very clean and refreshed daily.
Breakfast was great with warm banana bread, fresh fruit, and a fantastic baked french toast! The owners were very friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. They were able to point us to nearby restaurants, wineries and shopping.
We will be visiting our parents frequently and we plan to stay at the Longswamp every time! Thanks JoAnn and John!
Ted and Judy
NY

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted and Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed only 2 nights, but it felt like we had a long weekend vacation, it was wonderful. We stayed during the October snowstorm and could not get out to dinner, but JoAnn provided us with a delicious meal, not normally included in the weekend. The rooms we had were very clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallastown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Longswamp! JoAnn and John were so very hospitable... and especially accomodating! We were there, during the snow storm of October, and while there was intermittent power outages, JoAnn made sure that we were comfortable and well-fed. We could not have had better hosts! Food was outstanding, and if you stay at Longswamp, ask JoAnn if she can share her awesome "brown sugar bacon" recipe! We had everything we could possibly need in our room, and it was also extremely clean. We would highly recommend staying at Longswamp... we felt like we were home, AND very pampered!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2010

My husband I and I traveled from Washington DC to Longswamp B&B for a little rest and relaxation before his mountain bike race at Bear Creek. Unfortunately, we were giving the "Hideaway" as our room. The first thing that hit us was the overwhelming smell of mildew when we walked through the door. This tiny room looked and felt like a basement bedroom and was very dark and depressing. Two tiny windows were all we had and one had the AC unit in it. We turned on the AC and left the premises for several hours to try to get rid of the mildew smell, but it didn't work all that well.
The shower stall drain cover was loose and I hurt my foot on it, so moved the cover off the drain so I could shower. The shower itself was awful with a water saver device on it that spit out the water rather than shower water. Also, there were only a few outlets in the walls and we had to unplug the only two lights in the room to accommodate our computers and rechargers. The internet access does not work in that room and we had to take our computers outside on the patio to get access. Needless to say, my husband was upset as he is a computer consultant and is pretty much on call day and night.
We were very disappointed in the Longswamp B&B accommodations, but were told they were booked for the evening, so we had no other options. We left before breakfast because the smell in that room was more than we could take.
We have spent many years visiting B&B's up and down the East Coast and this is by far the worst of them all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurieb223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongswampOwner, Owner at Longswamp Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 January 2011
We would like to respond to the review “Disappointed” as posted by laurieb223 of Olney, Maryland August 8, 2010. First and foremost, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at our B&B. We wish you had brought your dissatisfaction to our attention before you departed instead of complaining on the web, hurting our reputation and our income. We make every possible effort to meet our guests expectations but on the rare occasion when we can’t, we will make an appropriate adjustment to the bill or provide a gift certificate for a future stay. As a small business person yourself, I’m sure you can appreciate the harm you may have caused.

As to the narrative of your complaint, you did not provide the readers with all the facts. When you arrived at our door you did not have a reservation. You said you tried Bear Creek but didn’t want to stay there because they have a 2 or 3 night minimum. We have no minimum stay. We told you we had only one room left and we showed it to you before you decided to stay with us, as is our practice with all walk-ins. You were informed there was no WiFi in the Hideaway room but were welcome to sit in the Living Room of the Main House (we have since added our free WiFi reception to the Hideaway). After we checked you in, set a breakfast time, provided dinner suggestions & directions, we did not see you again. If you thought the room smelled of mildew or was “dark & depressing” and internet was necessary, why did you stay with us? We would have gladly directed you to other nearby hotels. You left in the morning without checking out (fortunately we had your CC#) and without breakfast. If you had mentioned anything about the shower head we would have made an adjustment on your bill. We have many repeat guests and literally hundreds of cards, letters and emails from satisfied guests. We have owned this B&B for 9 years.

We had no complaints about the shower head or drain cover prior to your stay. There was no “water saving device” as we do not pay for water, but we have replaced the shower head just the same. The Hideaway room is actually quite cozy with several amenities and many returning guests specifically request that room. As to size, it is our smallest room but it is by no means a small room. The bedroom is 15X12 and the bathroom is 10X4. Combined that is 220 square feet. There are two windows as well as a full glass door. The windows measure 32x21 and 28x34. The room has a queen size bed and includes a working fireplace, TV, minifridge, microwave and coffee/tea fixings. There are 5 duplex outlets in the room and an overhead light that is completely separate from the outlets. The ac unit is only 2 years old and we had no complaints about it before or since or since your stay.

For current rates and further information please visit our website or call us at 610-682-6197.

Thank you,
Owners,
Longswamp Bed and Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mertztown
1.5 mi away
Bear Creek Mountain Resort
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Conference Center Lehigh Valley
7.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Allentown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Allentown West
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Allentown-West/Fogelsville
6.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Allentown-Fogelsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longswamp Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longswamp Bed and Breakfast

Property: Longswamp Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1605 State St, Mertztown, PA 19539-8912
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mertztown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mertztown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing