We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meyersdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hotel at Morguen Toole
Ranked #3 of 6 Meyersdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Erie, PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were biking the GAP with a group and they crew went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The place is really unique and we had a great visit. The topper was, even though they weren't open, they opened up for our small group, provided a great buffet and fabulous bar service. I rarely do reviews, but this place deserved it! Thanks, Joel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandy721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    16
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Lots of youthful enthusiasm backed by some big investments in creating a really neat hotel. The name is highly appropriate in that it meshes perfectly with the decorating/furnishing style: The original use for this building in the 19th century was for two businesses--a mortuary and a hardware store. The rooms are spartan yet cute. No air conditioning as of yet because the owners were duped into buying portable "swamp coolers" which don't work in the eastern half of the country. They'll probably buy window air conditioners for 2013. There were a few other bugs in the setup as well, such as our shower wouldn't get quite as hot as I'd prefer and the outlet on one wall wasn't wired up right. The food in the restuarant was very good and the service was delightful. WiFi worked fine. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynethayer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We enjoyed this place and Meyersdale so much, that we have booked rooms for another stay in a few weeks. The rooms are a modern mix of function and style. The owners have remodeled the "once-an-office-building" location and have found unique uses for things that others might have discarded. We enjoyed looking at all the stuff that's been given new life as repurposed functional items. We were biking on the GAP and our room (the shatter box) provided ample space for drying our gear. A secure garage was provided for bike storage. The fans in the room circulated the air and the heat to keep us comfortable. This is not a traditional hostel or B&B. There are no doilies...but we loved that about this place. Enjoyed meeting the owner very much and appreciated the staff's willingness to open the dining room for us and a few other guests to have dinner, even though we were there on a night when the restaurant is officially closed. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blbrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria, VA.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This place’s Lodging facilities are a work in progress that needs help. Our hotel rooms was clean, the beds comfortable, the bathroom modern and neat. The space heater did a fine job. But - this is a no-frills operation. The furniture is old and used, so are the rugs. There is no TV, no clock, no radio, no drinking glasses, no tissues. The curtains cover only the lower window and dawn’s light comes shining through! There is no maid service; the room was not tidied or beds made the second day. The queen bed had a bottom sheet and a quilt, no top sheet. The single bed had a bottom sheet and I had to put on the top sheet and blanket myself. With no elevator, we carried our luggage up the 2 flights to the third floor. The cost for the room was $90 a night. We were expecting a “modest” hotel, but not this.
The manager is cheerful, courteous, and willing, and so are the other staff – but they are not trained in hotel management and it really shows. The owners need to spend a little money for a maid to do the rooms and and to train the personnel. Or stop trying to be a hotel and make it clear to customers that these are “hostel” rooms.

Room Tip: Ask a lot of questions before deciding to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kulahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We arrived from Pittsburgh on our bikes (103 miles) through the woods of GAP, and were astonished to see such a stylish hotel in a tiny town of Meyersdale. We received a warm welcome with a short tour of the house, which is a newly reconstructed 19th century brick building with very high ceilings. Our room was spacious with one queen bed and one twin, and a large bathroom. The shower was a plastic cabin, which clashed somewhat with the overall modern, clean design (we hope that the tiles with arrive with time…). We had dinner in the first floor restaurant, quite empty on a Thurs night. Wine was terrific (although no wine list yet) as was beer and dinner. Excellent service! Overall, a super nice experience. Thank you Morguen Toole Company.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Morguen Toole has revived a 19th century commercial building to create a unique hotel. We stayed on a Monday as part of a bike trip to Washington, so the restaurant was closed and the whole place was quiet. We had the Hoover Suite, which was a wonderful space like a huge loft apartment with 20 foot ceilings. Morguen Toole is a Great Place to make yourself at home in Meyersdale.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diblio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

Is it possible that a pair of gap bikers could stumble upon an oasis of llive regional bluegrass and rock music, local beers and a sophisticated menu with an option of deluxe family or hostel style room options? Pinch us we did. morguen toole co is a must if you are open to great food hospitality and entertainment. The partners who founded this place understand how to invest i'n the future of this town and their customers. And they even have a sense of humor ( which led us both to buy their signature toe tag tshirts)
We live near dc but we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firekrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meyersdale
10.6 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
71 reviews
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
111 reviews
18.1 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
18.9 mi away
Paddler's Lane Retreat
Paddler's Lane Retreat
#2 of 10 in Confluence
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Morguen Toole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Morguen Toole

Property: The Hotel at Morguen Toole
Address: 130 Center St, Meyersdale, PA 15552-1321
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Meyersdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meyersdale
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at Morguen Toole provides guests with a unique experience that isn't found anywhere else. The huge brick building was built in the late 1800's as a morgue and tool shop. The current owners bought the sadly neglected building in 2011 and have restored the beauty and history. The lodging is primarily on the 3rd floor and include everything from hostel style bunks to elegant 4 room suites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing