We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lifesavers on the GAP...great accomodations, great people!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel at Morguen Toole

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meyersdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hotel at Morguen Toole
Ranked #3 of 6 Meyersdale B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lifesavers on the GAP...great accomodations, great people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were staying at the Morguen Toole on a Friday night, after a day of riding from Ohiopyle on the GAP. We were bound for Cumberland the next day. But our accomodations in Cumberland did not pan out (skip Cumberland from our perspective) and we needed a place to park our car on Thursday in advance of our ride frkm Ohiopyle. Jeremy and his wife were incredibly helpful and let us park our car overnight in advance k! Our stay. On top of that, my husband then needed a ride back to the Ohiopyle area on Thursday night, and being a small town, there are no cabs...well, Jeremy said he had a friend who might be able to help and sure enough be arranges for Michael Reich (a good musician, check out his album Writing on the Wall) to be my husbands cab back to Ohiopyle for the night. A HUGE help for us, and when we arrived by bike the next day, they were just as helpful and accomodating. This is a very cool, very fun place to stay. Wth comdfortable.beds, clean rooms, great beer and the closest walk between your dinner and a good night's sleep that you will find! Definitely would sfay again, A perfecf stop on the GAP.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LPYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    13
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

First time at this facility. Quite unique. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We got there earlier than check-in time and they made every effort to accommodate us. Room was small and very basic. Facilities were clean and quiet. They have a secure garage to lock up bikes for the night. Overall I would say it was worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stickbuilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I was traveling with a group of 8 people riding Bicycles on the GAP, and this was my second stay at the Morguen Toole.
The Morguen Toole is a unique and quirky place to stay. Built into an old office building, the rooms are very Spartan and unpretentious. However, they are clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a Marriott or a "doily and lace" B7B, this is NOT the place for you. However, I found the place to be a very comfortable stop for bicyclists along the GAP.
The restaurant and bar are not open Mondays and Tuesdays, so plan your trip well. However, the Restaurant and Bar are WELL worth making sure you can enjoy them on your trip. The menu is very diverse and there should be something for everybody. The food was good and the bar was enjoyable. On weekends there are live bands, which is another bonus.
A locked garage is provided to store your bikes. However, I would recommend making sure with the staff AS YOU CHECK IN how to get INTO the locked room the next day (when there are no staff on site). We ended up 'breaking into' the garage to get our eight bikes out!!! There are also fans in most rooms to help dry out anything that was moist with sweat or rain.
As I mentioned, it is NOT your 'boring, run of the mill chain' kind of place. It is NOT for everybody, and is more "comfortable hostel" than hotel. However, the price is very good and the lodging is more than acceptable. If you want a quirky and memorable stay, give it a try.

Room Tip: Try and make sure you have a room with a private bath if you want one, since some of the rooms share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgopitt106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were biking the GAP with a group and they crew went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The place is really unique and we had a great visit. The topper was, even though they weren't open, they opened up for our small group, provided a great buffet and fabulous bar service. I rarely do reviews, but this place deserved it! Thanks, Joel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dandy721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Lots of youthful enthusiasm backed by some big investments in creating a really neat hotel. The name is highly appropriate in that it meshes perfectly with the decorating/furnishing style: The original use for this building in the 19th century was for two businesses--a mortuary and a hardware store. The rooms are spartan yet cute. No air conditioning as of yet because the owners were duped into buying portable "swamp coolers" which don't work in the eastern half of the country. They'll probably buy window air conditioners for 2013. There were a few other bugs in the setup as well, such as our shower wouldn't get quite as hot as I'd prefer and the outlet on one wall wasn't wired up right. The food in the restuarant was very good and the service was delightful. WiFi worked fine. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynethayer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We enjoyed this place and Meyersdale so much, that we have booked rooms for another stay in a few weeks. The rooms are a modern mix of function and style. The owners have remodeled the "once-an-office-building" location and have found unique uses for things that others might have discarded. We enjoyed looking at all the stuff that's been given new life as repurposed functional items. We were biking on the GAP and our room (the shatter box) provided ample space for drying our gear. A secure garage was provided for bike storage. The fans in the room circulated the air and the heat to keep us comfortable. This is not a traditional hostel or B&B. There are no doilies...but we loved that about this place. Enjoyed meeting the owner very much and appreciated the staff's willingness to open the dining room for us and a few other guests to have dinner, even though we were there on a night when the restaurant is officially closed. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blbrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria, VA.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

This place’s Lodging facilities are a work in progress that needs help. Our hotel rooms was clean, the beds comfortable, the bathroom modern and neat. The space heater did a fine job. But - this is a no-frills operation. The furniture is old and used, so are the rugs. There is no TV, no clock, no radio, no drinking glasses, no tissues. The curtains cover only the lower window and dawn’s light comes shining through! There is no maid service; the room was not tidied or beds made the second day. The queen bed had a bottom sheet and a quilt, no top sheet. The single bed had a bottom sheet and I had to put on the top sheet and blanket myself. With no elevator, we carried our luggage up the 2 flights to the third floor. The cost for the room was $90 a night. We were expecting a “modest” hotel, but not this.
The manager is cheerful, courteous, and willing, and so are the other staff – but they are not trained in hotel management and it really shows. The owners need to spend a little money for a maid to do the rooms and and to train the personnel. Or stop trying to be a hotel and make it clear to customers that these are “hostel” rooms.

Room Tip: Ask a lot of questions before deciding to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kulahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Hotel at Morguen Toole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Morguen Toole

Property: The Hotel at Morguen Toole
Address: 130 Center St, Meyersdale, PA 15552-1321
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Meyersdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meyersdale
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at Morguen Toole provides guests with a unique experience that isn't found anywhere else. The huge brick building was built in the late 1800's as a morgue and tool shop. The current owners bought the sadly neglected building in 2011 and have restored the beauty and history. The lodging is primarily on the 3rd floor and include everything from hostel style bunks to elegant 4 room suites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing