We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going back again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meyersdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hotel at Morguen Toole
Ranked #3 of 6 Meyersdale B&B and Inns
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Going back again!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We love going to the Morguen Toole! We're going back for our third visit and I can't wait. The atmosphere is wonderful and the staff are so helpful. It's so interesting to stay in a older establishment - the decor and designs are one of a kind. The food is great, the beer cold and rooms spacious. I especially like the Hoover Suite. Close to local attractions. I highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: The Hoover Suite is large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    15
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Every time we have friends from out of town this place is a must see. The decor is so original. Food is great and staff is super friendly. I recommend anything with the crab dip on it!!! A great variety of beer on tap too. Best place to see local entertainment as well. I can't say enough about this place. It's our favorite place to hang out.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Butch9101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

A year before we had heard about Morguen Toole and decided to stay during a recent bike trip. A party of 4, we rented two rooms and anticipated the fun, quirkiness of the place. What a disappointment! Don't know if ownership changed in a year or what happened, but our room was horrid. The bed felt like we were on a brick. The other room had one semi-comfortable bed and the second was also like a brick. The vent in the bathroom, my first visit after a horrid dinner of crab, had black dust all over it. The shower curtain had mold (you can wash those things with the towels and they come clean). And to top it all off the baseboards which are about 5" high had at least an inch of dust. Heard of swiffer? If I was one of the bikers it probably wouldn't have mattered that much except for the bed, and all 3 of them said the beds needed significant improvement.

We will find a different place next year! It doesn't have to be the Ritz, but it has to be clean with a somewhat comfortable bed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RiRiTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were staying at the Morguen Toole on a Friday night, after a day of riding from Ohiopyle on the GAP. We were bound for Cumberland the next day. But our accomodations in Cumberland did not pan out (skip Cumberland from our perspective) and we needed a place to park our car on Thursday in advance of our ride frkm Ohiopyle. Jeremy and his wife were incredibly helpful and let us park our car overnight in advance k! Our stay. On top of that, my husband then needed a ride back to the Ohiopyle area on Thursday night, and being a small town, there are no cabs...well, Jeremy said he had a friend who might be able to help and sure enough be arranges for Michael Reich (a good musician, check out his album Writing on the Wall) to be my husbands cab back to Ohiopyle for the night. A HUGE help for us, and when we arrived by bike the next day, they were just as helpful and accomodating. This is a very cool, very fun place to stay. Wth comdfortable.beds, clean rooms, great beer and the closest walk between your dinner and a good night's sleep that you will find! Definitely would sfay again, A perfecf stop on the GAP.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

First time at this facility. Quite unique. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We got there earlier than check-in time and they made every effort to accommodate us. Room was small and very basic. Facilities were clean and quiet. They have a secure garage to lock up bikes for the night. Overall I would say it was worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stickbuilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I was traveling with a group of 8 people riding Bicycles on the GAP, and this was my second stay at the Morguen Toole.
The Morguen Toole is a unique and quirky place to stay. Built into an old office building, the rooms are very Spartan and unpretentious. However, they are clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a Marriott or a "doily and lace" B7B, this is NOT the place for you. However, I found the place to be a very comfortable stop for bicyclists along the GAP.
The restaurant and bar are not open Mondays and Tuesdays, so plan your trip well. However, the Restaurant and Bar are WELL worth making sure you can enjoy them on your trip. The menu is very diverse and there should be something for everybody. The food was good and the bar was enjoyable. On weekends there are live bands, which is another bonus.
A locked garage is provided to store your bikes. However, I would recommend making sure with the staff AS YOU CHECK IN how to get INTO the locked room the next day (when there are no staff on site). We ended up 'breaking into' the garage to get our eight bikes out!!! There are also fans in most rooms to help dry out anything that was moist with sweat or rain.
As I mentioned, it is NOT your 'boring, run of the mill chain' kind of place. It is NOT for everybody, and is more "comfortable hostel" than hotel. However, the price is very good and the lodging is more than acceptable. If you want a quirky and memorable stay, give it a try.

Room Tip: Try and make sure you have a room with a private bath if you want one, since some of the rooms share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgopitt106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were biking the GAP with a group and they crew went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The place is really unique and we had a great visit. The topper was, even though they weren't open, they opened up for our small group, provided a great buffet and fabulous bar service. I rarely do reviews, but this place deserved it! Thanks, Joel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandy721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Hotel at Morguen Toole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Morguen Toole

Property: The Hotel at Morguen Toole
Address: 130 Center St, Meyersdale, PA 15552-1321
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Meyersdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meyersdale
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at Morguen Toole provides guests with a unique experience that isn't found anywhere else. The huge brick building was built in the late 1800's as a morgue and tool shop. The current owners bought the sadly neglected building in 2011 and have restored the beauty and history. The lodging is primarily on the 3rd floor and include everything from hostel style bunks to elegant 4 room suites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing