We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful pet-friendly cabin”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bear Den Front porch overlooks creek
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Bear Den
Front porch overlooks creek
View from front door to water
Loft - loft space - full height ceiling
Bathroom sink - industrial look
Bunk bed room upstairs
Full (double) bed on first floor
Queen bed in loft.
Living room
Island and dining area.
Kitchen, granite counter top
Wood fireplace
Upstairs bedroom
Kitchen
Second sitting area
Barn door to bathroom
Eating area
Bathroom
Landscaped with boulders from the property
Upstairs bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Departure...
1 review
“Wonderful pet-friendly cabin”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cabin is amazing! Definitely not rustic cabin living. Great pet and family- friendly cabin with all the amenities. Lots to do in the area, and the river is only steps away from the front porch. We will be visiting again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for your review! Brenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bacarta88
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“60th birthday fishing weekend”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our family of six needed a place to fly fish equadistant from VA and NJ. Penn's Creek didn't disappoint. There was plenty to do other than fish too. We loved seeing the Amish buggies on the road The house is as pictured and described. The owner was welcoming and available for help and or advice. The sheets were soft and the house was clean. We ate in each night, played games and watched the Apple TV! Comfortable and cozy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2017
Thank you for the review. It is interesting to here about your activities. Hope you can come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel682...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Guest”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at Bear Den Cottage. The cottage was very clean and welcoming. It had everything we needed for a relaxing getaway. We had a fire going in the fireplace the entire stay. We would love to return for another stay
I would highly recommend the Bear Den Cottage to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank you. You are welcome back anytime!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenldei...
Farmington Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Restful Stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were looking for a place to stay which would provide a quiet place to read, relax, and recharge. Bear Den Cottage was the perfect place for us. The cottage was homey and very comfortable. We hope to return to the Bear Den Cottage in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Front Porch
Liked least: The mattress on the bunk bed was too hard
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
I hope you return too! Thank you for the review. Brenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful little gem right across from Penn's creek. You can actually see the creek from the front door or sit on the lovely front porch and relax and enjoy the view. It is updated and very cozy. The owner Barbara is very lovely and helpful, she is just s phone call or text away if you have any questions. We loved everything about our trip and have no complaints! We definitely recommend Bear Den and hope to stay there again ourselves in the future! Thank you so much for your hospitality Barbara!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
So glad you had an enjoyable stay and would be happy to have you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dctravele...
DC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Clean and a Great Stay”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I'm very picky about beds, sheets, towels and toilet paper. I like a good night sleep.

Beds - I slept on the lower bunk bed and to my amazement it was extremely comfortable. It was a high quality mattress and I did not have to bring my own comfortable piIllows.

Sheets - I would use these sheets on my own bed.

Towels - Thick and fluffy.

Toilet paper was good.

Decorations - Everything appeared to be high quality and new. The house was decorated in a nice, comfortable manner. The kitchen had all the necessary items needed to cook and was stocked with dish soap.

Owner - She was very helpful and available if we needed anything.

Location - Beautiful view of the creek from the front porch with nice chairs to sit and enjoy. Great Italian restaurant nearby for an evening meal.

Only things I might change - The upstairs toilet did not always flush on the first try. The TV was a bit high on the wall to watch. Then again, I didn't rent this house to watch TV.

I would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just as pictured and the owner was fantastic.
Liked least: Toilet upstairs.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thanks so much for your review! I am so glad you had a nice stay. I really appreciate your details.

Take care,
Brenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benbiggs2...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Relaxing Cottage on Tranquil Penn Creek”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My Fiancé, myself and our pup stayed at Bear Den for 6 wonderful days.

Cottage: New, modern renovation, but still cozy. The cottage had all of the conveniences of home (central air, well appointed kitchen, soft linens and a 50" TV), but the wood accents and high ceilings let you know you weren't in the big city anymore. Outside the backdoor there is a wonderful patio that was perfect for morning coffee and evening cocktails. Our pup really enjoyed playing fetch in the ample sized yard. There is also a small grill and fire pit. We had to make smores. The front porch was also really relaxing.

Creek: We rented kayaks from a place down the road for the entire trip. Very reasonable for high end fishing kayaks. We spent several hours a day on the creek, paddling for an hour or two upstream, then floating back. The fishing is amazing. We probably averaged 8-12 fish per day. I had the most luck with a fly rod and dry flies, but my fiancé did very well also with nightcrawlers. Large and smallmouth bass, as well as bluegill and trout. Our dog is an airedale terrier who cannot get enough water time. We played fetch in the water for at least 45 mins per day. He was so tired every night we actually had a chance to relax and enjoy dinner and a movie.

Location: It's tranquil and serene, yet you're only 10 minutes away from a grocery store. While there is a local ABC store, the beer distributer closes early so you may want to stock up before you come.

Owner(s): Brenda was very attentive and helpful. She answered our calls and texts immediately. She also brought us a bottle of local wine upon arrival.

Conclusion: We had a great time wearing ourselves out in the creek all day, then coming back to the beautiful cottage and making a nice meal. We would definitely stay again and highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Penn Creek
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Somehow I missed this review before and am only seeing it now. I really enjoyed reading all your activities and about your dog! So funny! Thanks for taking the time to write a great description of your stay. Brenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing