We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buttonwood Campground
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Econo Lodge(Mifflintown)
US$97
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Carlisle)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamond Inn(Carlisle)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
20
13
1
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
13
1
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslaser tagjuniata rivergreat family funfull hookupstent sitescabinbath
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The only reason I cannot recommend this facility for 5 star rating is due to their proximity to a locomotive main line that cuts through the midstate. The trains do run all day and night and would certainly disturb the light sleepers and most anyone in a tent. The family togetherness theme is definitely there. From build your own cardboard boat races, crafts, pumkin carvings, scavenger hunts, etc... There are always fun family activities going on no matter what time of year you would go. The cleanliness is among the best of the campgrounds I regularly attend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank forrest b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

stayed 2 nites in July. Really overpriced and the water is kind of brown colored and made us kind of sick . after we mentioned it to other campers they said no one drinks the water there. there are no warning signs. They nare really trying to maximise profits so they are probably skimping on water treatment. spent 3 months this summer camping and this was the most expensive' will not return


gary W

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KilgoreTrout1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The park is family owned and friendly. Staff couldn't be more welcoming or informative. We received an escort to our spot which was right on the river. The grounds were well taken care of and there was a security gate too. There are lots of activities for families and the river was great for swimming, kayaking and fishing. The bathhouses were convenient and clean too. The only drawback for us was the train which runs right along the river 24 hours a day. It runs and blows it's whistle sometimes every 30 minutes. After 4 nights of restlesness needed to get home and take a nap.
Overlooking the river was scenic and peaceful though- except for the choo choo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Buttonwood is a family owned, family cared for, family friendly campground located on the Juniata river. Have been camping for 35 years and this campground ranks at the top! The pool is a bit small but there is river access, so bring your kayaks and tubes. The landscaping is done by the son of the owner, Mike McFarland...amazing!!!! Mile is an artist and has a gallery in the house...a must see! The only thing missing is hand dipped ice cream. Had to go to the Mexico Market for that;)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Amy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This campground has a lot going for it. Unfortunately, the noise issues can negate many of them. We loved that they have plenty of things for kids to do and the grounds are generally pretty nice. All of the staff that we encountered were friendly and polite. You're probably going to be happiest here if you're in an RV rather than a tent. The scenery was about average to less than average.

I tend to expect camping to be a fairly peaceful experience. Most campgrounds have generous quiet hours to accommodate this. The quiet hours at Buttonwood are 11:00 PM to 8:00 AM, which seemed pretty short to us. The first thing we noticed was an RV near our tent that played country music loud enough for us to easily hear the lyrics during most of the waking hours. The next thing was the train traffic. There's a railroad track just on the other side of the river that carries regular train traffic, sometimes only 10 minutes in between. They also blow their horns as they go buy. I'm not sure how often this is an issue, but there's also a nearby racetrack that started up at about 5:00 PM and didn't end until almost midnight. This isn't everything, but certainly enough to paint a picture.

Needless to say, we won't be going back to Buttonwood.

Room Tip: Farther away from the trains means closer to the race track, so take your pick.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhotoBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews