We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“non secluded, over priced and loud located directly on top of route 84 & 209, dirty bathrooms and no privacy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kittatinny River Beach Campground
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Stay away!!!!! It's noisy, dirty, expensive, and unless you want to camp with 500 people in a big yard don't bother

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jchaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Kittatinny River Beach Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2010

Been looking for a close to home campground, Found this place and said what the hell, We arrived earlier than expevted and they let us set up 2 hrs prior to check in. The tent sites are very small and close to eachother, We stayed at site 174 the weekend of July 15th, they should be a site and half not what they are. Your in the mountains so the ground is going to be hard and rocky, We lucked out and didnt have anyone next to us on site 173, the people in 175 were very quiet. We had 4 adults, 2 kids, and a dog, We made do. The employees at the desk need to go back to business school and learn how to not just take your money and say go! I think they should have atleast brought us to the site instead of just giving us a map and say it's down the road. If you dont like your job find a new one. We did the tubing which was a good time, just about 2 hrs of relaxing on the water, Our friends did it the next day and had ore fun with more rapids, you can bring drinks with ya, The store has just about everything you need and if not, there is a 24hr walmart 5 min away, "security" cae around one night checking if we had our braclets, They do keep the grounds very clean, there is always someone walking around picking up after the slobs that dont, the bathrooms could have been a little cleaner and they do have garbage pick up twice a day and give you trash bags if you need. They have onsite parking or you can leave your cars in the parking lot. Another reviewer complained about the drianage after a rain event, YOUR IN THE MOUNTAINS! Deal with it, If you want to stay dry, get a hotel, this is camping. There is no lights out pollicy but you do have to shut the radios off at 11 which isnt all that bad, I like to party just as much as the next guy, no big deal. We stayed up till 3 am and just respected the other campers. The Delaware river was nice, This time of the year you can swim and walk to the other side, Fished everyday and caught 1 smallmouth, The prices for kayaking and canoeing were a little high i think, $50 pp, for 3 hrs, I've been to campgrounds where it was $50 for the day. Lower the prices! and if not, make the sites bigger, Overall it wasnt a bad 4 days. It did rain one day and pretty damn hard, but we made do.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjladder12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

The staff is very professional. You can’t have a radio on past 11:pm bu t it was not a big deal, you have to have the fire in a fire ring,
I have been camping in this area for 13 years and have stayed at Kittatinny for the first time this year , it was by far the best experience. I will be coming back next year..

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CURLIENJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I almost canceled my reservation at this campgrounds because of the consistently negative reviews posted here. I'm very glad that we did not cancel!

We lucked out and had great weather, no rain. There were five of us and two dogs, and we stayed 2 nights. It's an easy 1 hour 45 minute drive from NYC. We arrived at around 830p and there were plenty of people in the office/store to speak with about any questions we had. The girl that checked us in wasn't the cheeriest, but she did her job and showed us where our site was on the map. We had #139. Once it gets dark, it's a little tough finding your site if you're a first-timer here. One thing that I will agree with is that for most sites (including ours) there is absolutely no buffer between you and your neighbor. The campground is in a wooded area, with plenty of shade (with the exception of the prime sites on the riverfront), but there are no trees separating each site. The sites aren't huge, but we managed to put two cars and three tents in our allotted space with room for the picnic table and fire ring. The bathrooms were cleaned regularly and always had tp, but paper towels were a bit scarce at times.
I can imagine that during high camping season that this place may get a bit rowdy. However, there were mostly families and people our age there (early 30s). We didn't have much of an issue with noise at night, no one harassed us if we were talking and listening to music at a low level during quiet hours. The only time we were met with a noise issue was during the day - someone at the site across from ours decided that it was ok to bring in a circular saw and spend a few hours buzzing through wooden flats to make their own firewood. I can't be 100% sure, but someone said that management ended up coming down to talk to them.
All in all, a pretty good experience. We would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slickllh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Ground was rock hard, staff was miserable, campsites were super small, the river was nice but the canoeing safety speech was lengthy and irrelevant.........really, who ever heard of giraffes in PA?

If you want to have a good time, Do Not Stay At Kittatinny Campground!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grrrrraarrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

They say that you can put 6-10 people on each site which is not true. The sites are super small and the grounds are dirt and rocks. It’s almost impossible to get stakes in the ground, and say a prayer if it is going to rain. The area has drainage right into the campsites and it’s all turns to mud. The staff is very rude and unprofessional. They had us wait until 1pm to go canoeing, when we wanted to go at 11am, then once we were up at the front they made us wait other 1 hour and 15 minutes until they took us up river. Both nights that we were there, we were targeted by the security, when there was other groups using verbal language and walking around in questionable clothing. You can’t have a radio on past 9pm, you can’t have the fire more than 2 feet high, you have to have the fire in a small fire ring, you can’t play guitar and sing around the fire. We had security confront one of the people in our group with a rock in their hand, and threatened us with it. Then they called the police. The police were laughing at why they got called, as they knew we were just having innocent fun.
I have been camping in this area for 13 years and have stayed at the Upper Delaware Campgrounds (now closed), Skinners Falls, Narrowsburg, and now Kittatinny. This was by far the worst experience I have ever had while camping. I will be going back to Skinners Falls next year. Lander’s has a much better run operation and the staff is accommodating. Do yourself a favor and avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nicky6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

we had the cops called on us and we were merely talking. gave us two tickets. the staff isn't friendly. it's way overpriced. double what we've spent up river. try lander's river trips. i will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnnybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
0.0 mi away
Malibu Dude Ranch
Malibu Dude Ranch
#1 of 2 in Milford
367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Timothy Lake South RV
Timothy Lake South RV
#1 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#4 of 6 in Milford
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
FairBridge Inn Express
FairBridge Inn Express
#6 of 6 in Milford
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kittatinny River Beach Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kittatinny River Beach Campground

Address: 378 Route 6 and 209, Milford, PA 18337-9453
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Milford
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Milford
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Beach is located on the scenic Delaware River in the Pocono Mountains. This location consists of over 160 camp sites built on 18 acres of beautiful wooded grounds. Catering to both tent and recreational vehicles, this facility provides our guests with river trips, waterfront tent camping, 2 superior modern bathhouses, an arcade, laundromat and a beautiful camp store where WIFI is available. Our retail store located on the campground property, carries a variety of basic camping supplies, clothing and river trip gear as well as used canoes and kayaks. Kittatinny Canoes offers daily river trips for experienced and novice paddlers. Raft, canoe, kayak, tube, calm water and whitewater we have something for everyone, regardless of your experience level! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kittatinny River Beach Campground Hotel Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing