We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harrington House
Ranked #1 of 4 Milford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Lovely stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Our first experience at the Harrington House was enjoyable, and we will return! The Rose Room was beautiful and clean. Adrienne was relatable and a great hostess. She (and her very well behaved dogs) greeted us with a warm welcome. She recommended a great place for dinner and prepared a wonderful breakfast the next morning. And, the town was great! Very hospitable. We have recommended this B & B to family.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
59
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed at Harrington House while attending a family event in the area. Adrianne was very friendly, helpful and accommodating, including handling our very late arrival. We're a family of 4 and had our kids share the Thistle room with the pull-out bed while my wife and I stayed in the Monet Room. Very comfortable rooms, clean and well kept. The breakfasts were fabulous - freshly made, tasty and plentiful. Overall a terrific experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhalpern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Adrianne is a natural hostess--easy to engage with and friendly but not overly assertive or saccharine. She made us feel welcome, anticipated our needs to learn more about the area, and happily is a great cook! The house has four rooms, which made for a comfortable, almost homey experience where we and another couple we met at breakfast found ourselves easily spending an hour that evening chatting on the front porch during a post-dinner rain shower. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with plenty of natural light. Overall, a delightful place to stay.

Room Tip: The Monet Room faced the back of the house and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frazm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Recently stayed at Harrington House. Adrianne was a great host and prepared a fabulous homecooked meal. She also made special meals for another guest with food allergies. Adrianne's recommendations for dinner in Milford turned out to be excellent. Our room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We have already recommended this B&B to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zimmynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

This B&B is truly exceptional - not an accolade I'd bestow lightly. Having stayed in literally hundreds of hotels and B&Bs I can honestly recommend the Harrington House as clean, well appointed, welcoming, comfortable and truly relaxed.
Nothing was too much trouble for the Adrienne, the innkeeper - even when we arrived at 11.00 p.m she had baked us a plate of delicious cookies. That was a taste of things to come - sumptuous, elegant and enormous, her home cooked breakfasts were both fabulous and creative.
If we ever get the chance to return we'd do so without a moment's hesitation.
What a great advert for the USA - she really ought to be an ambassador!

Room Tip: Al rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysOnTheMoveUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awendell, Owner at Harrington House, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
What a compliment! Thanks for posting this--I hope the rest of your trip was just as enjoyable!
Adriane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonington, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

I was looking for somewhere to stay and found this wonderful B&B in the heart of Milford. Inviting, cozy and very home away from home. The Innkeeper, Adriane Wendell was very responsive to my last-minute booking, made me very welcome, and cooks a sumptuous breakfast!! I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

This was our second visit to the Harrington House and certainly won't be our last. My husband and I journeyed to the Harrington House as a romantic wayside stop on our travels to visit family. The rooms are beautifully appointed with Victorian period pieces mixed with some more modern decorating, all tastfully done. Our room was equiped with a remote controlled gaslit fireplace which with a single click provides instant cozy romantic ambience. Adriane Wendell, the innkeeper, is friendly, delightful, full of good cheer and wonderful recommendations for what the quaint town of Milford has to offer it's visiting guests. Her morning breakfast offerings are all homemade, abundant and best of all. . . delicious! The Harrington House has four guest bedrooms which provides a welcomed intimacy with the innkeeper and her guests. If you long for the loveliness of small hometown friendliness and a welcoming place to stay search no farther than this mountain delight.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talleulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.9 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Settlers Inn
Settlers Inn
#1 of 4 in Hawley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
23.4 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House

Property: Harrington House
Address: 208 W Harford St, Milford, PA 18337-1105
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Milford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrington House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Harrington House is a historic Victorian home built circa 1860 in the center of the historic Milford, Pennsylvania. We are ideally situated in to the Delaware Water Highlands, a three state, 5 county region boasting a full range of outdoor activities and numerous historic sites, as well as quaint shops and great dining. Hiking, biking, birding and boating on the Delaware are all conveniently located or just relax in our wonderful garden. And did we mention we are pet friendly? The Inn boasts five working fireplaces, original 8” pine plank floors, a wrap around porch and a delightful interior with all the comforts of home. A warm gourmet breakfast is served daily. Each of our large guest rooms has a king or queen size bed, full bath and a full range of luxury amenities from cozy robes to chocolates. Other amenities include air conditioning, WiFi internet access, off street parking and a concierge room equipped with computer, printer, fax and phone as well as a refreshment center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Harrington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing