We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star, through and through.”
Review of Harrington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harrington House
Ranked #1 of 4 Milford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Staying at Harrington House was one of the real highlights of a week-long road trip through PA.

The rooms are beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean, the parlor is inviting, as are the seating areas on the wrap-around porch. Adriane is an exceptional innkeeper, full of useful and current information about the area: she turned me on to a couple of fantastic local outings that were totally in sync with my interests.

Adriane is also a SERIOUSLY good cook! I had the pleasure of staying for 3 nights, and each morning the breakfast was fresh, different, delicious and interesting. I am proud to have been the taste-tester of a new recipe for rosemary and Parmesan scones -- SO good! And there were Belgian waffles with caramelized banana medallions one day, individual ricotta souffles another, variations on hand-cut fruit salad every time .. restaurant quality!! As I say in the title, absolutely 5 star.

And a special note for pet owners: Harrington House is above-and-beyond pet friendly. Adriane showed excellent attention to detail in preparing a room for a couple who had 2 show cats with traveling them. Her own pets are delightful friendly creatures who just add to overall atmosphere of hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Harrington House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

Great B&B, beautiful house, clean rooms. Adrianne is super accomodating and makes a great breakfast! We found Milford and Harrington House by accident and couldn't have been happier with the find! The wrap around porch is so relaxing and beautiful. Thanks Adrianne!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickiAccokeek_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Adrianne does a wonderful job of making guests feel at home. Her trusted helper, Daniel the dog, is there to happily greet you, too. The inn is really clean, well located and well appointed. Adrianne makes a great healthy breakfast. Sitting around the breakfast table with the other guests really adds to the warmth. Need a suggestion about the area? Adrianne will help! Fun getaway for us.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidandanne505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Overall, I thought the Harrington House was average B&B, though it could be great with a few improvements. It is located on the very busy main street in Milford, across the street from a Turkey Hill and beside a Chinese Restaurant, so the location could be better. I suppose I was picturing a quaint little area, which it definately was not. However, the main part of the town as well as Gray Towers (a must see if you visit Milford), are easily walkable from the B&B. The front porch is very nice for just sitting and relaxing, though there isn't much of a view. The grounds are very well kept.
The room I stayed in was very nice with French doors and a fireplace, and I enjoyed the rocking chair. The bed was very comfortable as well. The bathroom was a little small, but adequate. Next to the room is an office with a computer for guest use, books & puzzles, coffee/tea, and a refrigerator with bottled water.
The breakfast was fine. It wasn't spectacular, but better than what I would have made for myself at home. The presentation of the breakfast though was very elegant.
The service/hospitality is what I thought was somewhat lacking here. While the innkeeper was friendly, she was often out doing her own thing, and not at the B&B. She wasn't overly helpful in planning the weekend and the B&B seemed like something she just did on the side so she wasn't bored. I think if the innkeeper could dote on her guests a little more, it would be a definate 4-star.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrangeTwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

We had a lovely stay at the Hattree Inn in Milford PA. The Sophia room was large for a B&B and very clean. We appreciated the off street parking. Al and Jeanne were very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. We booked very early because it was visiting day weekend at our child's camp. There are a couple of summer weekends that really fill up so book early in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#2 of 6 in Milford
378 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
666 reviews
1.9 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#4 of 6 in Milford
63 reviews
8.3 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House

Address: 208 W Harford St, Milford, PA 18337-1105
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Milford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Milford
Price Range: £126 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrington House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Harrington House is a historic Victorian home built circa 1860 in the center of the historic Milford, Pennsylvania. We are ideally situated in to the Delaware Water Highlands, a three state, 5 county region boasting a full range of outdoor activities and numerous historic sites, as well as quaint shops and great dining. Hiking, biking, birding and boating on the Delaware are all conveniently located or just relax in our wonderful garden. And did we mention we are pet friendly? The Inn boasts five working fireplaces, original 8” pine plank floors, a wrap around porch and a delightful interior with all the comforts of home. A warm gourmet breakfast is served daily. Each of our large guest rooms has a king or queen size bed, full bath and a full range of luxury amenities from cozy robes to chocolates. Other amenities include air conditioning, WiFi internet access, off street parking and a concierge room equipped with computer, printer, fax and phone as well as a refreshment center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Harrington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing