We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bear Cafe - CLOSED

Black Bear Cafe
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: The best Mexican food in Milford.
Olyphant, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Whenever I'm in Milford I make sure to stop at Black Bear Cafe. I always try something new and am never disappointed! It's lovely when the weather is warm because then you can sit in the back; a beautiful garden area. Great quality food at decent prices. One of my favorite places to go--too bad I don't love any closer!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SashaNatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    9
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mexican? More like Mex i cant cook.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Really disappointed with seeing that this was the number one restaurant. I love Mexican food but I guess I'm so spoiled with going to taco bell and getting even better Mexican food there. Plus it was so small. I like to sit down and eat food and enjoy the atmosphere but not there with their four tables. Take out it was but still. Crappy food.

Helpful?
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Delicious authentic Mexican food. Go with a good appetite as the portions are generous. We recommend the guacamole, made fresh, a great starter. They have standard Mexican fare, but the specials are unique. Don't forget desert, order the flan, it's as good as you're going to find anywhere!

Staff is attentive, they try to please. Small restaurant with limited seating. Outdoor dining is available, weather permitting. They do a very good takeout.

This restaurant is highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Maven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“A hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Authentic Mexican food (I am from Veracruz, MEX originally). The guacamole is freshly made and is just as good as mine. The entree portions are generous, be sure to come with a healthy appetite. The staff will go out of their way to please. Be sure to order the flan for desert as you will find non better anywhere.

The ambiance is nothing special, very casual, don't expect white glove service. Restaurant is small with limited seating. Good take out service.

This restaurant is a hidden treasure, if you're in Milford be sure to visit you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
301 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Nachos and a Burritos California!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Excellent and authentic Mexican food. Great flavors and fresh ingredients. Helpful and friendly waitstaff. The chef comes out to ask how the food is. Intimate dining experience in a small and charming cafe atmosphere. I am looking forward to the warmer weather when the outside seating looks most inviting. A good selection of cold beverages. There is a very wide selection of both Mexican and other choices. Portion size is large. I will be back, as soon as possible!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RevRandyPOrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bear Cafe also viewed

Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing