We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Cafe - CLOSED

Black Bear Cafe
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: The best Mexican food in Milford.
Millinocket, Maine
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprising Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

On our way to Maine it was getting late so we decided to look into stopping in Milford. We decided to continue on but ate first. We choose the Black Bear Cafe. It was an excellent choice. It's small, maybe four inside tables. They have a few vegetarian options. I had the veggie burrito. It was not as "beanie" as I was expecting but very pleasing. My wife and I shared a bowl of a potato soup that was even better. Topped it all off with a Flan. Seemed a bit pricey but on our way out of town it looked like a tourist town so it made sense.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    9
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dingmans Ferry, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Another great eatery in Milford is Black Bear Café. Fresh cooked Mexican cuisine. Casual setting with good service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Panama16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olyphant, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Whenever I'm in Milford I make sure to stop at Black Bear Cafe. I always try something new and am never disappointed! It's lovely when the weather is warm because then you can sit in the back; a beautiful garden area. Great quality food at decent prices. One of my favorite places to go--too bad I don't love any closer!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SashaNatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mexican? More like Mex i cant cook.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Really disappointed with seeing that this was the number one restaurant. I love Mexican food but I guess I'm so spoiled with going to taco bell and getting even better Mexican food there. Plus it was so small. I like to sit down and eat food and enjoy the atmosphere but not there with their four tables. Take out it was but still. Crappy food.

Helpful?
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Delicious authentic Mexican food. Go with a good appetite as the portions are generous. We recommend the guacamole, made fresh, a great starter. They have standard Mexican fare, but the specials are unique. Don't forget desert, order the flan, it's as good as you're going to find anywhere!

Staff is attentive, they try to please. Small restaurant with limited seating. Outdoor dining is available, weather permitting. They do a very good takeout.

This restaurant is highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Maven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bear Cafe also viewed

Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing