We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great on all counts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of John's of Arthur Avenue

John's of Arthur Avenue
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great on all counts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The service was great and the pizza delicious. We had a veggie style thin crust pizza that was very flavorful. We shared a small house salad that was a perfect accompaniment.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CATHY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    23
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dingmans Ferry, PA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Finally real pizza in town!!!!! Friendly Staff!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff and excellent pizza. A great addition to the area. The pasta dishes and salads are tasty as well. You can BYOB if you like. I also buy pizza dough from John's. They are very polite and don't take it as an insult when I stop by on my way up to "the woods" just for dough. Other places would not sell it to me. Why didn't I think of John's of AA first? I may add that I am originally a Bronx native who now lives in CT and travels weekends to PA. I am so glad we have a great, convenient, friendly place in town where my family and friends can meet for a casual meal. Sometimes "the cook" (namely me) likes to get out too. ❤️

Helpful?
Thank mickeyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallkill
Level Contributor
159 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Really enjoyed sitting outside in the summer and eating their pizza - fresh ingredients, very good crust.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Absolute hidden gem, gourmet pizza & Italian - BYO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

John's is one of the finest restaurants in a foodie town, yet relatively undiscovered, even though it is adorable and a absolute bargain (especially compared to some of the other places in Milford), especially since you can bring your own wine. John's is not just a pizza joint, although the pizza is authentic and fabulous, with gorgeous crusts and amazing combinations such as portbello with truffle oil (to die for). Start with perfect calamari appetizer. Move on to exquisite entrees such as eggplant rollatini, or shrimp & garlic ravioli, all with homemade pastas. Lovely tiramisu. Situated in the historic Old Lumberyard buildings, John's is very charming, with a small fireplace in the corner. (In nice weather you can sit outside at picnic tables on the Old Lumberyard deck.) The people are all incredibly wonderful. We recently had 7 of us there for dinner, ordered masses of food, brought our own wine, and had a memorable experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank logtavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Greatest true NY Pizza in PA.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

You nevert find really good NY pizza, but this place provides just that (amongst other very good Italian fare). Their thin crust pizza is just "Perfect" add fresh garlic and you're in heaven. Eat inside or out, bring your bottle of wine, you'll not be disappointed. The setting is a great attempt on original, but who cares: their food will make up for this. The service is pleasant - PA relaxing - but again, everything is overlooked when you taste their food. Take home service is available, efficient and reliable. The prices are reasonable and you never go wrong with any choice on the menu. Worth the trip from anywhere to Milford PA if you cannot get to the Bronx.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OneOpinionNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John's of Arthur Avenue also viewed

Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to John's of Arthur Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing