We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick walk of the grounds at Grey Towers!”

Grey Towers National Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Quick walk of the grounds at Grey Towers!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My guest from out of town and I took a quick walk and sat a while on the benches at Grey Towers. We enjoyed the architecture, landscape, mountain vistas and gardens. It was easily accessible and tourist friendly. The grounds were well kept and we saw repairs being made to prepare the place for the soon approaching busy season. My guest was impressed by the natural beauty as well as the impressive building, which was not yet open for tours, since we visited in April.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RevRandyPOrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    108
    16
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic grounds”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Worth a visit if you are in Milford. Buildings and grounds are beautiful and the tour of Pinchot's place is worth the time. Great hiking and photo opportunities.
I live in the area and come back to visit often throughout the year.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank catsmeow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place for an afternoon vsit”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A nice place for history of one of the countries first envirormalists. Tours are scheduled during summer hours and it is informative. Also check out the old barely decipherable gravestones in the old cemetery.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“close to home”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I had family up recently and took them to the Grey Towers. I live here in Milford and had never visited before,Grey Towers is the ancestral home of Gifford Pinchot, first chief of the US Forest Service and twice Governor of Pennsylvania. I thought this was a great part of Pennsylvania history, You tour the grounds as well as the home. The home itself is very impressing, as well as learning of the the family. Many interesting facts to learn, Visit i'm sure you will enjoy

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hn224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grey Towers home of governor Pinchot”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great outing. Especially in good weather. Grounds are gorgeous. Parks department and volunteers give history. Very interesting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grey Towers National Historic Site also viewed

Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
Bushkill, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Grey Towers National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing