We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Interesting Learning Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grey Towers National Historic Site

Grey Towers National Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting Learning Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Wow, did not know that Gov. Pinchot was such a great environmentalist and all around "Good Guy." Wish more Politicians today were like him. Beautiful grounds. If you like history then add this to your list of places to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Unknown-Name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    95
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middle Village, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Great place to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

A well kept secret. A great place to visit. The tour is very informative. The detailed history is great. The grounds are beautiful to walk around. Definitely a place worth seeing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mouse-Mongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

It was rainy while we were in the area, or else we wouldn't have toured Grey Towers. Thank goodness for the rain! My husband and I love history, and the original owner's son (who also lived here) was the first director of the National Forest Service,and a former governor of Pennsylvania. I am not from the area, so this was all new to me. The stone was quarried locally and is impressive as are the grounds. Well worth the money for the tour of the indoors.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank libbie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Little known outside area but quite interesting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Attended a very nice small concert with professional performers using a historic piano in the main building.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I didn't have high expetations for this site, except for a nice trail walk. But the history of these fascinating people was a lot of fun to learn about. And a special house and grounds.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank santny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grey Towers National Historic Site also viewed

Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Bushkill, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Grey Towers National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing