We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best place to stay and the kids loved it just as much”
Review of Myer Country Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myer Country Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
hudson fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best place to stay and the kids loved it just as much”
Reviewed 1 May 2007

we always go to Pa every year and this is the only place that we will stay at ... the rooms are really clean and every room is done diffrent.. The owners are great .... There was one time we went there in the winter time the snow and ice was taken care of, and they didnt care if the kids played in the snow, at first we stayed across the st and the owners there had a cow because they were playing ... They have one great room with a kitchen and thats room 11 thats our best room that we like and very roomy ..each room has their own porch,and we like that every much too... we really cant say nothing bad about it at all ... you will love it there every much when you go there.... enjoy !!!!!!!!

  • Liked — the location is great and easy to get to ny and nj
  • Disliked — none !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pagirlstuckinfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    51
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
68
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2007

This was our first time staying at the Myer Country Inn and will not be our last. We normally stay at the Best Western down the road, ( We travel up to that area ay least once a month) but being they said they were booked for this past weekend, I made a call to the Myer Country Inn, and they had a vacancy, so I booked it. I add, that every time we have called to book the Myer Country Inn, they were always booked...

Getting back, I was very happy with the cottage that we stayed in. It was very clean, but did have a slight musty odor, but with the cottage being over 60 years old, is understandable and actually dissapared quickly.. The retro style was really neat and different than all of the modern places that are out there. I remember the tiled bathrooms growing up in the 1950's! The beds, I thought were quite comfortable.

The Inn-keepers were ver friendly and were able to answer some questions that were asked by us and other guests.. They do have coffe and juice in the office each morning. There is a refrigerator in each room, cable TV and wireless internet access.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Rednep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2006

I went to Milford over Labor Day weekend on a whim, a friend's travelling companion had to cancel and she asked me to come along. I read the other review of the Myer motel the night before we left and was excited at the prospect of a restful weekend in what sounded like a lovely property in a bucolic town.

Milford was great -- interesting stores, fabulous victorian homes, a great new modern art gallery, a couple of good restaurants we discovered. But my anticipation of peace and quiet at the Myer was not fulfilled.

I'm told I have sensitive hearing, but I had trouble sleeping with the noise from the street/highway and neighborhood kids. Plus, I enjoy lounging in bed on holiday weekends, and we were awakened by the housekeeper two mornings in a row.

My other issue was hot water. It seemed to last about 4 minutes in the shower and then turned steadily colder.

Given that I was a guest of my friend, I didn't feel it was my place to complain, but I want to let others who read these reviews to know so they have their expectations in check if they decide to stay at Myer Motel.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff, Reasonable Rates
  • Disliked — Noise, lack of hot water
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DMWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2006

Since my husband and I were visiting this area for the first time, we were relying on Tripadvisor to find us the best place for a reasonable price. Although the Myer Country Motel only had one review, it was a glowing one. After checking out their website and seeing the photos of the rooms, cottages, and grounds; we decided to reserve a room. We were not dissappointed!! Everything is exactly as shown on their website and Sharon & Craig Cox were very accommodating to our needs.
We were attending our daughter's wedding and were sure to pass on our "motel find" to other wedding guests travelling to Milford and in need of a totally relaxing atmosphere. There were a few more reservations made as well and everyone fully enjoyed their stay. I would definitely stay here again and hope anyone reading our review will book with confidence and certainty that it is a wonderful place to stay. It is easy to find,very clean, extra large units and lots of running room if you are travelling with children. There is even morning coffee and orange juice to get your day started. I know you'll enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Helpful?
5 Thank theMcEwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in August; we needed a budget motel to break up a long road trip. This property was so nice we wish we could have stayed longer. Every guest stays in a little cottage, and each is tastefully decorated, quiet, and squeaky-clean. The innkeeper was very friendly, and quite accommodating with our late arrival.

Additionally, downtown Milford is very cute, and you'll have easy access to the Poconos' attractions from this motel. If we're ever in the area again, we'll seek this place out!

  • Liked — Roomy accommodations, cottage atmosphere/decor
  • Disliked — No breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahP1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2006

The Myer Country Motel is the cleanest, friendliest most perfect place to stay in Milford. My family and I have been staying there while our home is being built the the area. Weekend after weekend we are impressed with the accommodations. The owners, Craig & Sharon Cox, have succeeded in creating a great little getaway in the center of Milford. The cottages are well maintained and very clean. Everyone from the owners to the housekeeping staff to the neighbors is always eager to make guests feel welcome. Don't miss this place...it's like going to Grandma's house.

Helpful?
7 Thank nyweezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
1.2 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
371 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 6 in Milford
60 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing
7.7 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myer Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myer Country Motel

Property: Myer Country Motel
Address: 600 Route 6 and 209, Milford, PA 18337-6505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Milford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Myer Country Motel where for over 68 years our standards of innkeeping excellence have been our trademark. Nestled among the Pocono Mountains of North Eastern Pennsylvania, the cottages sit on four acres with blue spruce and white pine trees lining the courtyard. The Myer Country Motel was established in 1945 by Ralph and Matilda Myer. Ralph remarried in 1952 to Audubon Winfield and they together continued to run the motel well into their 80's until their daughter, Audubon Cox, took over in 1975. She brought her energy and knack for decorating to the motel to give it a country home feel. Many people comment that this is their "home away from home". In June 1995 the third generation took over to continue the family business. Today you'll find the same warm, country friendliness that has set us apart for over 68 years. We hope you will visit us soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myer Country Hotel Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing