We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
306
72
23
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
72
23
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews delmonico room bar louis granola continental breakfast sushi pizza next door turn down service heated towel rack deluxe room corner room pastry sun room scones relais and chateaux heated floors quiche first rate
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Lovely touches were the fountain in the rear yard, the overall quality of restoration and furnishings, and the room upgrade. Being sent out because we were an hour early for check in, missing bedtime cookies, and beige rooms were a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessLuxeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fauchere1823, General Manager at Hotel Fauchere, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

We are sorry your room wasn't ready for you early, but our changeover window is fairly small, especially when the hotel is busy. I hope you weren't "sent away," which isn't very hospitable, as you should have been offered a seat in the conservatory or front porch, or we could have held your baggage while you took a walk in the village. If you send us an email at info at our hotelfauchere.com domain with the date of your stay, we can look into who was responsible for turndown and failed to provide cookies; that is disappointing and not how our staff is trained. Thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

If you are looking for an upscale, quiet getaway from the city, you have come to the right place. This fancy bed-and-breakfast was the perfect weekend trip for my husband and I, and Milford is the quintessential New England town with a population of only 1,500. The Hotel Fauchere serves fine dining options in their bar and restaurant, but don't forget to try the delicious continental breakfast with fresh pastries, homemade yogurt, granola and fruit. All of their recipes feature raw, unpasteurized milk and really makes the difference. Try some by the glass - it is out-of-this-world delicious. The rooms were cozy and comfortable with queen beds, and don't forget to ask for your milk, cookies and printed bedtime story before you retire for the night. Ask about tourist sights, including floating down the Delaware river, hiking through nature trails, as well as the the waterfalls and swimming holes all nearby. All around a great stay!

Room Tip: They only have queen-sized beds, but the bathrooms are very spacious.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

It's hard to write a tough review considering that the staff was very professional and attentive. However, here goes:The rooms are spartan ( we had a deluxe room) Put another way, it is not the type of room that you want to relax in. Furthermore,there is no turndown service ( a big no-no for a relais&chareaux).The real problem lies with the food. The hotel has two restaurants: a gastropub in the basement with a corresponding informal menu, and a formal dining room where the only option is the tasting menu. We opted for the tasting menu and it was a mistake because not one dish stood out as being outstanding. Besides the fact that we were the only people there ( a clue), the style of cooking is best described as super fresh, minimalist and tasteless. Everything was purposefully under-seasoned ( I'm not talking about salt...) so that the ingredients would stand on their own. Alas, it flopped, and our disappointment was made more apparent when we compared that meal with those which he had enjoyed at the Manoir Hovey ( Quebec) just a week before.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jmmavro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fauchere1823, General Manager at Hotel Fauchere, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Yours is the second recent review that noted the lack of turndown service, which is contrary to our stated service. We will review this with housekeeping and put in place and additional review to make sure our turndown service is happening as it is supposed to. Our rooms are not large; we are in an historic building that is individually listed on the National Register of Historic Places and we were limited in how we could reconfigure the walls. But we try to make this clear on our website, including with square footage of each room listed. We appreciate your recognition of the freshness of our ingredients; we have a large organic garden that supplies most of the in-season produce. We're very sorry your experience was disappointing; if you are able to visit us again, I hope you'll let us know of this experience so we can try to make it up to you. Manoir Hovey is, indeed, a wonderful property with terrific cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The hotel tried so hard and I've been cheering for them, but there were some misses. The bedtime cookies (with a story!) and wine by the fire outside were great touches. The presentation and innovation in the food ingredients was top-notch. However, the taste... and for that price... it just wasn't worth dining there. Forgettable at best, kind of a money-waster worst. The location is ideal for exploring Milford. The history of the guests delighted me (from presidents to Iggy Pop?!) The staff was 50/50 - some were helpful and so friendly, others acted like we were bothering them which soured our stay. Our room was so bare, almost puritan, and that was a let down. Considering the cost, plus the very small space (I think we had one of the smallest rooms), I was hoping to be wowed on decor. I get that it should be period-style, but it was very stark, almost sad, not a painting or a rug, and the floor had wood sticking up where I kept cutting my foot. I was also bummed to hear from friends that a free breakfast was included, but no one told us this during our stay. There were beautiful small touches we loved, but other issues that spoiled the holiday. Overall it was a very mixed visit. I am still rooting for Fauchere, but I can't fully recommend them, considering the value of our experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Countess_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fauchere1823, Owner at Hotel Fauchere, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Sorry for being tardy in responding to this review. We appreciate the helpful and supportive nature of your comments, but I'm especially sorry we let you down.

We did notice that problem in the floor and have gotten that corrected; the old plank floors in the hotel need occasional patches. We have been cleaning and replacing rugs in the rooms all summer and it sounds like you were there when that one was out getting cleaned. We have considered putting in a temporary rug while one is out, but the bare floors are attractive so we chose not to. We do, however, put mats on the floor on each side of the bed at turndown.

The spareness of the rooms is an intentional design decision, to evoke a sense of visual calm. Many guests seeking to decompress appreciate the fairly neutral tones in the rooms. They are a contrast with the public spaces in the hotel which feature a collection of Hudson River School paintings, the contemporary photography in Bar Louis and the vintage menus in the Delmonico Room. Ultimately, whether it is attractive or not is a subjective judgment, of course. We do have guests who request art in their rooms and we are happy to do that in advance of their arrival.

In terms of the size of the room, some of the rooms are smaller than guests expect, which is why we are so explicit about the size of the rooms on our website. Not everyone reads a website that closely, however, so I'll discuss with the manager the possibility of reiterating the square footage of the room in the reservation confirmation or some other strategy to make sure a guest's expectation's match what we are able to provide. As a building individually listed on the National Register of Historic Places, we had limitations that sometimes dictated the size a room can be.

But I'm most sorry that you missed the deluxe continental breakfast that is included with your room, because it is delicious, with house-made yogurt, granola, fresh pastries from our Patisserie, fresh-squeezed juice, etc. That, too, is noted on the website and it is repeated in the reservation confirmation emailed to all guests and it should have been pointed out when you were shown to your room.

Again, not everyone reads all these things that carefully and when people are checking in, they often just want to get to their room, or the guest services agent might forget to mention the breakfast. So what we're going to do is add language on our breakfast menu that specifically details what is included with the room, so guests will be reminded again at that point.

I hope you'll give us another try and let us show you how we can do better. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Hotel Fauchere is a Relais and Chateaux property in historic Milford, PA and certainly where you want to stay if you are going to that very attractive town near the Delaware River National Recreation Area. This is a sophisticated hotel with much that is positive. A few minor issues [because one expects superior service in a R&C] keep me from giving this hotel a 5-star. But first, the positives - the staff is exceptionally nice and accommodating, always willing to help or drop everything to address your request. The owners are on-site and it shows. The hotel is lovely, beautifully renovated from near death. From the tiled first floor hallway floor and wide-planked wood floor in our room to the very pleasant front sitting/eating porch are all gorgeous - loved it! Breakfast is very nice [the restaurant was not open for dinner when we were there mid-week but I am sure it is very good] and one can eat either in the sun room or on the front porch - so nice.
Our room was pleasant though a bit on the small side. We prefer rooms that aren't cluttered with stuff and this room was pretty much on the minimalist side which was fine. At first we were a little surprised at the simplicity of the room [nothing on the walls except a small flat-screen TV on a bracket], but we got used to it and since it was attractive in and of itself, we were happy with it. Attention has been paid to the furnishings and drapes as well as the lighting - we had everything we needed, desk, comfortable chair, somewhere to put the suitcases etc. A "nespresso" machine for an early morning shot of espresso was in the room and of course WIFI was available. The bathroom was top notch with a dual rainshower head, one hard one soft - heavenly, all marble and tastefully done.
My minor gripes concern special touches that one would expect from an R&C property - our dirty coffee cups were not removed and replaced with fresh cups and new coffee so we had to request that. Our room had a terrace with two wooden lounge chairs - nice - but the planter which should have had flowers or a plant in it was empty. The garden the terrace looked out on also needed some attention and a large, attractive fountain was empty [freshly painted maybe?] These are minor notations on our stay. We would recommend this hotel as a very comfortable and pleasant place and we would return.

Room Tip: Request one of the two rooms in the back with private terrace.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank addy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews