We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional experience.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fauchere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Fauchere
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Milford PA is a sleepy little town at the north end of the Delaware Water Gap NP. My wife and I wanted to hike the surrounding park trails with our dog so this jewel of a place was on our list of potential selections. We were very, very happy with our stay. The food and drink selection at the hotel was very, very good and the service and atmosphere on par with the title of this review. This hotel is within minutes of a few of the waterfalls (Raymondskill Falls, Hacker Falls, Dingman's Falls - which are NOT pet friendly) and other trails (which are pet friendly).

Try to get a room towards the back of the hotel if you can. The rooms are very, very comfortable. Ask for something and it will be done or delivered to your room post haste.

The best part for me was how gracious the hotel and staff are to pets. We felt so very welcome. In fact, I believe from our dog's reception in Milford he could get elected mayor. Call first to get the pet policy as always.

We plan to return next summer for another stay for certain.

Room Tip: Back of the house is best (away from the main street).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    65
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
33
244
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay there. On first view of the room it appeared very nice. In day light hours it showed a little wear and tear for the ratings it has. A few minor house keeping issues that needed a closer eye. Like the TV wires being fully exposed. It wouldn't take much to have hidden them. TV's was small and no movies channels but we weren't there for that. No fridge which was slightly inconvenient. Breakfast coffee was not hot on both mornings. Very disappointing. The containers they serve them in look pretty but not efficient on retaining heat. We need piping hot coffee! Service was very good. Particularly the bartender in the lower restaurant. We enjoyed our visit away, pretty town, beautiful walks.

Room Tip: We got the room on the main floor. Slightly bigger but not very private. I would try one on an upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggieoyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We googled luxury pet friendly hotel in the poconos and came across Hotel Fauchere in Milford, PA. What a great find! The town and hotel are a hidden gem in the poconos.

The hotel property and rooms are well decorated and you feel like you're at a spa retreat. Food at Bar Louis for dinner and breakfast were delicious. The included continental breakfast was better than most. The homemade yogurt was the best yogurt I have ever had. Also comes with a good size bowl of granola, pastry, and nicely roasted coffee. You can walk around the small town right from the hotel.

Our Australian Labradoodle was welcomed right when we arrived and treated like a prince the rest of the time. He ate out on the porch with us for dinner and breakfast. Within a few minutes of the hotel are easy to more difficult trails through the Delaware Valley Water Gap national park. Some have restrictions on pets between Memorial Day and Labor Day...mostly the waterfalls. Raymondskill falls was a 1 minute walk from the parking lot so we saw those and took our dog on other trails around the falls. We then drove a bit further down 209 to PEEC (peec.org) where dogs are welcomed on the trails. They have beautiful falls on one of the trails and it is a great moderate difficulty 3 mile hike (up and down).

Opportunities for the hotel:
-pillow was soft at first but then kind of hard after it sank in during the sleep since it was flat. Not my favorite.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rpi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

On our way to Cambridge, MA, we decided to get off the interstate and stay at Hotel Fauchere, in Milford, PA. It was a superb decision! We were warmly welcomed by Joseph, who gave us a valuable tour of the historic site, initially established by the chef at Delmonico's in New York City. The room was superbly updated, including marble in the bathroom and good lighting for reading (unheard of in most hotels / motels). Interior design included paintings of the Hudson River School; the exterior was nicely landscaped. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful, and the service was exemplary. The experience of staying at a Relais & Chateaux site is most enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenBork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Firstly, I would say that we were spoilt on our 3 week vacation, staying at some exceptional premises... Their was no problem per se with Hotel Fauchere, it just wasn't quite as memorable as the other Hotels we stayed at. The room was pleasant and the reception was very efficient and friendly. The restaurant was closed, but a Hotel bar was open in the basement serving the usual bar fare. The Waiter was an issue. Whilst we were still drinking and enjoying our evening, he effectively asked us to leave as he had a personal issue to attend to and he was the only staff in the bar, so he wanted to close early. Oh and could we not tell the Manager. All very strange. It just didn't do it for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFauchere1852, Manager at Hotel Fauchere, responded to this review, 5 August 2016

We are so sorry to hear of your bad experience in Bar Louis at the Hotel Fauchere. I became the food & beverage manager approximately one week after your stay in 2013. The behavior you experienced from the waiter was completely unacceptable and is not the way the current staff would treat our guests. Respect for our guests and truly attentive service is the philosophy with which I run a restaurant floor. The waiter that had served you is no longer with us. So again, I do apologize and hope you return so we may take care of you in the manner reflective of Hotel Fauchere and the guest service we strive to provide.

Thank you,
Hillary Needleman
Food & Beverage Manager

PS I apologize for the long delay; I just found out that my original response had been rejected for not meeting the management response format.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for one night, at the tail end of our honeymoon, and it was absolutely heaven! The room was clean, comfortable, and with very romantic decor. The staff was beyond friendly, and upon arrival we were given a cool hand towel (travel was in Sept) & a glass of champagne. We enjoyed a delicious meal at Bar Louie inside the hotel. The sushi pizza was to die for!!! Everything was flawless with our stay, and I know my favorite part was the gorgeous claw-footed tub, in which they had a divine array of ways to soak -- lavender bath crystals, bubble bath, and such -- and a tray that was perfect for reading and sipping wine while relaxing! I told my husband that this is where I wish to return for our 5-year anniversary (as our decision with anniversaries 1-4 would be to go all-inclusive and various tropical locations).. But you really cannot go wrong with this hotel. It is top-notch, all around!!!

Room Tip: We had an end room, upstairs -- was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

It was great to find this quaint gem of a hotel. We called for a last minute reservation for a mini getaway after our wedding (we were having trouble with the first hotel we booked in NJ). The gentleman that answered the phone was extremely helpful and patient with a frustrated new bride!! He was busy with another customer and he took my number down and called me back in a few minutes (usually when this happens at other hotels, I'm placed on hold or instructed to call back). He was able to help us book one of the last rooms available - the deluxe room.

Walking in, from the conservatory, to the decor at the reception, to the wood floors, our nerves from wedding stress melted away and we became this zen couple wanting to break down into yoga positions on the spot (the glass of wine they offered at check-in didn't hurt either). Our room was decorated very nicely with neutral colors and clean lines. I didn't see any floral designs (this was a nice change for us coming from a country b&b). Friendly note-you might turn to a prune from not wanting to get out of that amazing shower.

We also ate dinner and continental breakfast there. The food and the wine recommended for each dish were simply excellent. Everything about this place made us at ease. The staff were super friendly and accommodating. This is the way hotels should be ran. Bravo!!! We are looking forward to our next visit to the town of Milford and I'm sure you don't have to guess where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
22.2 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
21.8 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fauchere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fauchere

Property: Hotel Fauchere
Address: 401 Broad Street, Milford, PA 18337
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fauchere 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Fauchere houses 16 luxury guest rooms, the Delmonico Room for traditional fine dining and the contemporary Bar Louis for cocktails and casual dining. Each guest room has a private marble and bluestone bathroom with radiant floor heat, heated towel bars and skin and hair care amenities from Kiehl's. Bed and bath linens are by Frette. Guest rooms feature flat panel televisions with cable, i-Pod audio docking stations and both wireless and hard-wired high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Fauchere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fauchere Hotel Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing