We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be returning...”
Review of Hotel Fauchere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fauchere
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel Fauchere is a totally charming B&B in Milford, PA. My fiancé and I went there to take a break from the city and it was exactly what we needed. Since we went in May we weren't able to take advantage of the water activities but the town is super cute to just walk around and there are wineries in upstate NY that are pretty close by. The rooms were simple but well decorated, clean and comfortable. But the highlight of he trip is the yogurt and fresh granola that is served for breakfast. Totally decadent and perfect for a few days away. The staff is very friendly and went above and beyond to meet the needs of our stay- including some additional work for my fiancé as he planned his proposal with hotel staff during our stay. This is a great place and I hope to return soon.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank CrysCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I spent one night here during a trip back from Massachusetts. I was looking for something different from our usual hotel stays along major highways. From the moment we entered, I felt like we stepped back in time. This historic hotel has many of the original features such as the wood floors and high ceilings. While waiting to register (because another guest was ahead of us) we were offered a glass of wine. Our 2nd floor room was very comfortable and featured a large, private balcony that overlooked the rear garden. The bathroom was completely updated with a 2 person shower, large vanity, heated floor and towel rack. We felt the cost for our room was consistent with the excellent service and amenities. However, dinner was not as satisfying. We selected the 4 course dinner and was told the portions would be smaller than a la carte. They were very small servings. Personally, I feel the size of each course was not in line with what we paid and I don't recommend the fixed prix menu. Continental breakfast was included with our room but since dinner was small scale, we opted to order from the menu. Our breakfast was very good and filling! Overall, our experience was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room with a balcony was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My daughter was married in the garden at the Hotel Fauchere this past weekend. The hotel went out of their way to make this a perfect day. Hillary is an exceptional organizer and planner and all the staff were so attentive. Many of the guests were from NYC and were so taken with the hotel. The reception was also perfect and the food was so good that the guests asked that the chef come up and he was given a standing ovation. Thank you so much Hillary and all the staff at the Hotel Fauchere!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Milford PA is a sleepy little town at the north end of the Delaware Water Gap NP. My wife and I wanted to hike the surrounding park trails with our dog so this jewel of a place was on our list of potential selections. We were very, very happy with our stay. The food and drink selection at the hotel was very, very good and the service and atmosphere on par with the title of this review. This hotel is within minutes of a few of the waterfalls (Raymondskill Falls, Hacker Falls, Dingman's Falls - which are NOT pet friendly) and other trails (which are pet friendly).

Try to get a room towards the back of the hotel if you can. The rooms are very, very comfortable. Ask for something and it will be done or delivered to your room post haste.

The best part for me was how gracious the hotel and staff are to pets. We felt so very welcome. In fact, I believe from our dog's reception in Milford he could get elected mayor. Call first to get the pet policy as always.

We plan to return next summer for another stay for certain.

Room Tip: Back of the house is best (away from the main street).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay there. On first view of the room it appeared very nice. In day light hours it showed a little wear and tear for the ratings it has. A few minor house keeping issues that needed a closer eye. Like the TV wires being fully exposed. It wouldn't take much to have hidden them. TV's was small and no movies channels but we weren't there for that. No fridge which was slightly inconvenient. Breakfast coffee was not hot on both mornings. Very disappointing. The containers they serve them in look pretty but not efficient on retaining heat. We need piping hot coffee! Service was very good. Particularly the bartender in the lower restaurant. We enjoyed our visit away, pretty town, beautiful walks.

Room Tip: We got the room on the main floor. Slightly bigger but not very private. I would try one on an upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggieoyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We googled luxury pet friendly hotel in the poconos and came across Hotel Fauchere in Milford, PA. What a great find! The town and hotel are a hidden gem in the poconos.

The hotel property and rooms are well decorated and you feel like you're at a spa retreat. Food at Bar Louis for dinner and breakfast were delicious. The included continental breakfast was better than most. The homemade yogurt was the best yogurt I have ever had. Also comes with a good size bowl of granola, pastry, and nicely roasted coffee. You can walk around the small town right from the hotel.

Our Australian Labradoodle was welcomed right when we arrived and treated like a prince the rest of the time. He ate out on the porch with us for dinner and breakfast. Within a few minutes of the hotel are easy to more difficult trails through the Delaware Valley Water Gap national park. Some have restrictions on pets between Memorial Day and Labor Day...mostly the waterfalls. Raymondskill falls was a 1 minute walk from the parking lot so we saw those and took our dog on other trails around the falls. We then drove a bit further down 209 to PEEC (peec.org) where dogs are welcomed on the trails. They have beautiful falls on one of the trails and it is a great moderate difficulty 3 mile hike (up and down).

Opportunities for the hotel:
-pillow was soft at first but then kind of hard after it sank in during the sleep since it was flat. Not my favorite.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rpi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On our way to Cambridge, MA, we decided to get off the interstate and stay at Hotel Fauchere, in Milford, PA. It was a superb decision! We were warmly welcomed by Joseph, who gave us a valuable tour of the historic site, initially established by the chef at Delmonico's in New York City. The room was superbly updated, including marble in the bathroom and good lighting for reading (unheard of in most hotels / motels). Interior design included paintings of the Hudson River School; the exterior was nicely landscaped. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful, and the service was exemplary. The experience of staying at a Relais & Chateaux site is most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenBork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
672 reviews
3.5 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
222 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 6 in Milford
65 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
23.6 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fauchere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fauchere

Address: 401 Broad St, Milford, PA 18337-1508
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Milford
Price Range: £131 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fauchere 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Fauchere houses 16 luxury guest rooms, the Delmonico Room for traditional fine dining and the contemporary Bar Louis for cocktails and casual dining. Each guest room has a private marble and bluestone bathroom with radiant floor heat, heated towel bars and skin and hair care amenities from Kiehl's. Bed and bath linens are by Frette. Guest rooms feature flat panel televisions with cable, i-Pod audio docking stations and both wireless and hard-wired high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fauchere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fauchere Hotel Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing