We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SMELL, SMELL, SMELL”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mill Hall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“SMELL, SMELL, SMELL”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Interesting that they put out free chocolates with a trip advisor card looking for reviews? Hotel Management do you think a free chocolate will get you a good review? NOT. This hotel plays the price game. Anytime there is any type of Penn State event pull out your wallet. So typical of the Choice Hotels MONOPOLY. We made our reservations a year in advance. Yet as the date grew closer the rate dropped. Now we know why. Empty rooms. The entire hotel STINKS AND SMELLS OF SMOKE. Even if you are in a non-smoking room. Almost the entire cleaning staff chain smokes and they do it right next to a customer entrance. Will attach a picture showing it. Where I work smoking is banned on the ENTIRE PROPERTY. This place is not for people with asthma. Uggggg. When complaining all you get is rudeness. Middle aged dark haired desk clerk-rude and arrogant. So you see Mr. Manager, you should fix your hotel, treat customers as they are valued, ban smoking on all of your property, then look for trip advisor reviews because right now your hotel SUCKS from top to bottom.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fab5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnofLamar, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

During their 10 minute break the employees do smoke near a rear entrance. We will consider creating a spearate area for them - thank you for the suggestion.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Maureen Dunn
Office Manager
Comfort Inn of Lamar
570-726-4901
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    30
    25
    32
    32
See reviews for
60
32
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, MA
Level Contributor
317 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The good things I found in this hotel: decent room, competent and friendly staff, good breakfast, room with all the basic amenities, comfortable bed. Normally this would be enough for me to give four or even five stars. But all this is overshadowed by the BAD thing in this hotel - the overwhelming presence of cigarette smoke in the entire hallway for the non-smoking rooms. Why? Because one half the hallway is non-smoking rooms and the other half is smoking rooms. That's like having a peeing section in the swimming pool. We were in Room 333, one door down from previous reviewer. Oddly, the smell did not permeate our room which was a saving grace. I called the manager to complain about the disgusting smell in the hallway, and he apologized and explained the ridiculous layout on our floor. In spite of Pennsylvania still being a smoking state other PA hotels manage the room mix much better.

Room Tip: Just beware that if you are not a smoker, your non-smoking room may be on the same hallway as smokin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 65Wagonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnofLamar, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Maureen Dunn
Office Manager
Comfort Inn of Lamar
570-726-4901
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My Husband and I are truck drivers, we had an oversize load on our trailer, when we saw that this Comfort Inn had truck parking, THAT was the ONLY good thing about this hotel. to start off, it took 25 minutes just to check in, (we were the only customers there), second, the carpets are FILTHY, third, we were in room 331, and WE do NOT smoke, but omg the smoke smell was TERRIBLE, people smoked like it was a chimney!! the desk clerk, (sarah) was a sweet girl, but absolutely could not deal with pressure, Every time the phone rang, she got flustered, I called down to let her know about the smoke smell was coming in our room, and that we better not get charged because they think we are the ones who smoked, and she said, oh,ok. and that last thing is, the price was outrageous!!!!! so my advice is to STAY AWAY from this crap hotel. Everything was dirty,nasty and the smoke smell was sooo overwhelming, we almost left, but it was after 9pm and we can not be on the road with an oversize load so we were stuck here. NEVER AGAIN!!!

Room Tip: my tip is that you never check in to begin with!! the noise from outside is so bad, we heard on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrinal1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnofLamar, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Maureen Dunn
Office Manager
Comfort Inn of Lamar
570-726-4901
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mill Hall hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Nice location scenic area would love to see fall looks like lot of scenic roads great look out side the hotel rooms with big mountains other advantage is they allow pets ver few hotels accommodate pets that's a plus

Room Tip: Hyner Park for Scenic tours
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anjali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnofLamar, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please come again soon!!
Sincerely,
Maureen Dunn
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just a tired traveler and her dog wanting a place to rest. Found it and then some. Staff was wonderful, and the bed was the best ever. Like sleeping in clouds. Even my poodle got lost in the comfort. Much different than my experience at Pottstown's Comfort Inn not even 24 hours earlier. Ahh. But that's another story. Special thanks to Sarah.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Qtpy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnofLamar, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your impression of your stay. We are certainly happy that both you and your poodle enjoyed your visit with us. Sarah joins me in inviting you to come again soon! Sincerely, Maureen Dunn Office Manager, Comfort Inn of Lamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

My father likes to stay at this hotel when he takes us to Penn State games. At our recent stay, we booked a suite for $107 a night (keep in mind this is the football off season.) Yes the rooms are dated, but they are mostly clean. The sofa in our room did have stains, but the bathroom was spotless. Our room had a king bed, a living room suite, two bathrooms, two TVs, and two desks. I wouldn't books a stay here myself, but for the cost, I think the accommodations are very reasonable. You get. What you pay for!

The breakfast there is fabulous, and there is so much to choose from. It is buffet style in the lobby. There is free Wifi as well. The staff is very welcoming, and the housekeeping staff is just as friendly. Everyone says hello and asks how your stay is.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Allyson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnofLamar, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give a review of our property. We look forward to being your host again in the very near future! Please know that we work very hard to ensure that every stay at our hotel is memorable and our desire is that everyone rates us "5” each and every stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Room/bathroom was very clean and comfortable, two kinds of pillows for individual comfort. (soft and firm)The breakfast was great; lots of cereal (hot & cold), waffles, fruit, juices, coffee, pastry, bagels and breads with spreads. When we arrived late at night the staff was very helpful, even explained (twice cuz I'm not so savvy) how to use the Wifi, without getting frustrated with me. :) The pool was obviously closed for the winter season (outdoor) but we were only there for one night to get out of the horrible, snowy driving conditions. It was a perfect, comfortable warm-up with a great breakfast!!! great value!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malkie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInnofLamar, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give your impression of the hotel! We are delighted that you were happy with your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Maureen Dunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Hall
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar
7.9 mi away
Best Western Lock Haven
Best Western Lock Haven
#1 of 2 in Lock Haven
208 reviews
13.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Milesburg
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lock Haven
24.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
1,213 reviews
24.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 26 in State College
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 31 Hospitality Ln, Mill Hall, PA 17751-8989 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Mill Hall
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mill Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Mill Hall
Comfort Inn Mill Hall
Comfort Inn Lamar
Lamar Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing